View Full Version : CTP 2 crash


Alvaro
Nov 27, 2001, 03:21 AM
When trying to load games for above arround 1700AD years the game crash on win2k. I've tryed to apply the 1.1 patch but itdoesn't detect any installation. Could anyone tell me what is the registry settings (I guess that could be the reason for not being found), or any hint on that.

Thanks in advance,

Alvaro

Maquiladora
Nov 17, 2002, 07:48 PM
Thats a fairly common problem with the patch and win2k/XP. You could use the manual patch install. It bypasses the v1.11 Patch WISE installer, so you just unzip the files yourself. You can find it at http://www.apolyton.net/dir/

Apologies for the late reply :D

justp360
Jul 20, 2004, 05:38 PM
i hope you are not wanting to change anything in your registry settings !
firstly it's a very bad thing to do !!!
and patches are bad too..
how can you tell they work 100% for you.half the time that's why games
crash with bad patchs or mods i never trust them. :mad: :nuke: :nono: :ar15:

Martin Gühmann
Jul 21, 2004, 12:38 PM
i hope you are not wanting to change anything in your registry settings !

In that case you shouldn't install any piece of program, whether it is a game or something else.

firstly it's a very bad thing to do !!!
and patches are bad too..
how can you tell they work 100% for you.half the time that's why games
crash with bad patchs or mods i never trust them. :mad: :nuke: :nono: :ar15:

How can you tell that the unpatched game works for you, the problem is that games are released unfinished, nowadays. That's true for CTP1 for CTP2 and for Civ3. All these games need patches.

To answer your question for CTP2 is very easy, since Activision released the source code. You just need to look into the code and if the game doesn't work for you. You can change it.

-Martin