View Full Version : Refresh Rate


Gallant
Nov 29, 2001, 12:54 PM
Has anybody got a solution to the reason the screen flickers so badly when played under XP. How can it be stopped.

Will a patch be released to correct the problem.

Dan Magaha FIRAXIS
Nov 29, 2001, 02:05 PM
What's happening is the game is trying to use whatever Windows tells it is the highest refresh rate. If your monitor drivers aren't correct or they're set wrong, this can cause the game to appear "flickery" or in some cases cause the "black screen" problem because the monitor can't support a refresh rate that windows says it can.

The patch will include an override command for the civilization3.ini file that will allow you to manually specify a refresh rate.

Dan

Gallant
Nov 29, 2001, 03:23 PM
When is the patch due out

Dan Magaha FIRAXIS
Nov 30, 2001, 10:21 AM
Possibly as early as next week but could take longer. It's in testing now, but any number of things can delay the process.

Dan