View Full Version : Will the general please stand?


MrLeN
Feb 27, 2001, 09:23 AM
Just as a matter of interest, I would like to make a thread about army sizes.

Can you please leave details of the largest army that you recal building. It doesn't have to be specific. Just roughly what type of units you had, roughly how many and what you did with them.

MrLeN http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif

------------------
Where there is money, there are liars!

shadowdale
Feb 27, 2001, 09:59 AM
Hmm the biggest army that I have ever build must be something like this:

6 Tanks
6 Howitzers
12 Mech. Inf.

12 Stealth fighters
6 stealth bombers

24 cruise missiles!!

I don't go to war very often!!

<IMG SRC="http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/snipersmilie.gif" border=0>

------------------
Veni Vidi Vici.

Coolbook:
Håkan Eriksson, Stormerne, vladmir_illych_lenin, Cunobelin Of Hippo, PaleHorse76.

Sorry I forgot a multiplayer game I had once!!

120 Paratroopers
40 Tanks
60 Cruise missiles
20 Spies

That is the way biggest army that I have ever build!!

<IMG SRC="http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/snipersmilie.gif" border=0>


------------------
Veni Vidi Vici.

Coolbook:
Håkan Eriksson, Stormerne, vladmir_illych_lenin, Cunobelin Of Hippo, PaleHorse76.


[This message has been edited by shadowdale (edited February 27, 2001).]

Kev
Feb 27, 2001, 10:01 AM
I've never been one to build gragantuan armies. In the largest of cases, in a late game switch to Fundamentalism I've been able to put a decent army of about 40+ howitzers on a continent with about half as many spies and engineers as support. Thanks to the helpful AI tactic of building all-reaching rail lines, that's really all one would need to take over the continent in a single turn - annoying partisans included.

In a regualar game, I find a smaller combination of howitzers, battleships and stealth fighters (with spies, engineers and transports) are about what I need to take the world in a reasonable time. They can be pretty mobile and go from continent to continent pretty quickly.

I imagine the early militaristic would be more inclined to have tremendous amounts of units - elephants, chariots, crusaders, ironclads and the like. I guess the thought there is that they will likely lose some units as they progress - at least more so when compared to the howitzer/battleship/stealth fighter combo.

It must be fun to have swarms of crusaders and then get to Leo's Workshop. Dragoon-o-Rama!

------------------
Diplomacy - the art of
saying "Good Doggie"
until you can find a rock

Alcibiaties of Athenae
Feb 27, 2001, 10:05 AM
Man, you sure put a lot of posts fast, MrleN. I remember a game as China, I had over 150 cities, and just for kicks built one of each type of military unit that I could, so it was over a two thousand units, I don't remember the exact total.

------------------
All knowledge begins with the Phrase: I don't know

Håkan Eriksson
Feb 27, 2001, 10:06 AM
The largest army that I have ever must have been when I played Russians once and chould take over the Americans. After I had build upp the infrastructure I set all sities to bould upp my army. I think it was something like this when I decided to ínvade the Americans:


50 Bomber you should have seen that
60 tanks hehe
10 transporters when you must transport you troops over the ocean is allways good to have some in spare
20 helicopters nice
20 battelships king of the seas
10 engineers you never now when you are going to nead them
2-3 carriers to hold the planes
30-40 fighters http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif


Plus som defending units back home.

------------------
This is my cool book:
John Valdez, vladmir_illych_lenin, Thunderfall, shadowdale, stormerne, Stellar Converter

MrLeN
Feb 27, 2001, 10:36 AM
WoW! These are some pretty impressive armies!

Oh, and Alcibiaties of Athenae, about the posts, yeah... I just go through every forum and try to make a reply on each subject (providing I know something about it). I only reply twice if there was a reply to my reply, or if something else is interesting http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif

MrLeN

------------------
Where there is money, there are liars!

PinkyGen
Feb 27, 2001, 11:00 AM
A standard rule I use for modern war is to have each of my cities build one tank and one howitzer. Depending on how big my civlization is, this can range from a 10 tank and 10 howitzer army to a 30 tank 30 howiztzer army (the latter was a sweet game.)

I tend not to focus on air power unless the enemy has planes. If they don't I'll 2-3 bombers and 3-4 stealth fighters.

I'll have 1-2 battleships, with Aeg cruiers, and 1 carrier, (unless the enemy is a strong naval power.)

TimTheEnchanter
Feb 27, 2001, 01:15 PM
Originally posted by Kev:

It must be fun to have swarms of crusaders and then get to Leo's Workshop. Dragoon-o-Rama!

Not crusaders...they cost too much! In GOTM #1 I got the workshop, got democracy and the statue, then switched to fundy before researching chivalry. When I was getting close to chivalry, I set my science rate down to 10% and bought horsemen (let city build a few sheilds one turn, then buy the next turn) in about 3/4 of my cities. Cities with production of 10 crank out every 2 turns naturally. I did this for about 6-8 turns turns before the chivalry upgrad to Knight. Then I cranked science back up and dumped a couple caravans on an unsuspecting Persia for the bonus to get leadership a few turns later. It takes a bit longer than the instant crusader->dragoon upgrade, but buying 60-70 dragoons for 40 gold ain't a bad price!


------------------
There are some who call me...Tim

CornMaster
Feb 27, 2001, 02:49 PM
I tend to build a large defensive army. 3 to 4 good defensive units per city. This can equal 5 musketters per city at this time. In the GOTM I had 2-4 rifleman, 1-2 mech. infs., 0-1 Alpine Troops and a few fanatics defending PER CITY. On Mountians with city walls and coastal fortress. Only a bomber had a chance and I killed most of those. In the GOTM my biggest atack was on the last turn. 1 Nuke http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/psycho-eyes.gif, 2 Armors, and 1 fanatic. Took London http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/wink.gif and got a civil war! But I can't remember my biggest ever attack. Probably was 15-20 knights, 5 catapults, and a few outdated units, archers, legions, elephants. I do most of my warring at this time. Not to good at modern warfare. Also not good at large direct attacks. I prefer to eat away at the enemy and defend what I take so that it doesn't switch hands.

------------------
<IMG SRC="http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/king.gif" border=0> I AM CANADIAN! <IMG SRC="http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/king.gif" border=0>
CivFanatics Moderator and Tech Support
CivFanatics Civ 2 Ladder (http://rawclam.com)
My Civ 2 Scenario Page. (http://www.geocities.com/thecornmaster/scenario/scenario.htm)

Johan511
Feb 27, 2001, 02:59 PM
I'm playing a ladder game with cyberchirst right now where I have over 500 units!, the army is made up of Musketeers over 150, Riflement about 100, Fanatics 75, and the rest is Artilery, Marines, and Cavalry. It's a very interesting game, I've come back from way behind with Fundy, and may end up winning still! =)

------------------
If you only get sunshine you end up in a desert.

MrLeN
Feb 27, 2001, 03:50 PM
How many cities do you have Johan?

Oh, or is that after game info? *hehe* http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/wink.gif

MrLeN

------------------
Where there is money, there are liars!

vladmir_illych_lenin
Feb 27, 2001, 05:06 PM
Okay, this is one of my beginning games, when I was about to launch an amphibeous assault on the mongols.

Note: I didn't use any planes.

I had two attack fleets. Each of them consisted of:
about 8 destroyers (from before)
10 aegis cruisers
5 battleships 10 submarines
Plus, I surrounded most of my coast with submarines.

My army:
I had about 20 transports, and each of them contained:

4 marines
2 armor
2 spy.

stormerne
Feb 27, 2001, 05:23 PM
I'm playing this game at the moment. It's a biggie. I aim to knock Shadowdale off his top spot in the King HOF with it by quite a margin.

All the war action takes place between 1720 and 1830-ish. At the peak, my takeover of the last and largest civ around 1830, the units read like this...

* 64 Howitzers
* 10 Armour
* 5 Artillery
* 14 Mech Infantry
* 99 Riflemen
* 45 Alpine Troops
* 55 Engineers (in the offence)
* 1 Helicopter
* 4 Cruisers
* 4 Transport
* 3 Spies

20 years later (current date in game):
* Howies are down to 25 as I disband them in cities,
* Engineers are up to 200!


------------------
"Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one's courage" - Anais Nin

MrLeN
Feb 27, 2001, 05:30 PM
WoW!!! 200!!! What are ya gonna do with all them?

MrLeN

------------------
Where there is money, there are liars!

stormerne
Feb 27, 2001, 06:09 PM
Well I had 55 in the offence doing my "build railroad to enemy city, bring in howies, take city, all in one turn" tactic. However the answer to your question can be seen in the following statistics for my civ...

1705 CE: just 46 cities (prior to outbreak of war)
1842 CE: 126 cities (just after end of war)
1854 CE: 155 cities (current game turn with 166 turns to go)

I mean to break the record score and I need 255 cities to do it, the max the game will take. Actually 254 of mine + 1 pet. That means I need to settle 100 more cities in the next ten turns or so and they've all got to brought up to max as quickly as possible to ensure maximum science for maximum future tech.

200 engineers? I'll need far more than that http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif

http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/king.gif

vladmir_illych_lenin
Feb 27, 2001, 06:54 PM
I know this is a bit off topic, but I'm aiming to knock Shadowdale off the top spot too.

I'm using the Euroland map, and I have 240ish cities, and it's only 1850ish. I had that many cities since 15 hundreds. I did this by building mostly nothing by settlers for most of the beginnning, and by crushing the enemy civs quickly with dips. I also got at least 50 cities with goody huts.

I have a pet city: Coventry. It has 1 defender: a phalanx. Since England is a republic the phalanx is taking up its only production, so it sucks to be them.

I have 5 future techs, with 1 tech per turn.

I'm in democracy, and had just begun my luxury growth. My population is only 115 million, and I almost got 500%.

Watch out Shadowdale!

MrLeN
Feb 28, 2001, 03:06 AM
Sorry stormerne, I didn't read your post properly: I aim to knock Shadowdale off his top spot in the King HOF with it by quite a margin.

<IMG SRC="http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/rolleyes.gif" border=0>

MrLeN

------------------
Where there is money, there are liars!

[This message has been edited by MrLeN (edited February 28, 2001).]

shadowdale
Feb 28, 2001, 04:37 AM
Well well well!!!!

Stormerne and Vlad - Just wait until I get my own computer again - then I'm gonna try and get all the high scores in the Hall of Fame - except the Chieftain, I don't want that one.
But first of all I'm going for the Deity high score!!! And I'm pretty sure I can get it and I know that I can easily beat both my current high scores - so you guys just watch out!!!!! http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/snipersmilie.gif

------------------
Veni Vidi Vici.

Coolbook:
Håkan Eriksson, Stormerne, vladmir_illych_lenin, Cunobelin Of Hippo, PaleHorse76.

MrLeN
Feb 28, 2001, 05:59 AM
OK, I've heard about enough!!!

I haven't looked into it yet (to be truthful), but I'm off to suss it out right now! http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif

Lets see if I can get me a HoF entry!!!

*hehe*

http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/avatar.gif I'm too good!

I'm too goodhttp://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/avatar.gif

MrLeN

P.S. I'm too good http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/avatar.gif *hehe*

<center>http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/rotflmao.gif
<font face="arial" size="1" color="black">Well I will most certainly try!!! *hehe*

------------------
Where there is money, there are liars!

stormerne
Feb 28, 2001, 10:55 AM
Vlad's going for the high score on a Euroland map? Pah! It galls me that games like that are allowed in the same HOF as REAL games.

But I guess it's not Vlad's fault. He's merely taking advantage of a weakness in the system. We've had a separation of custom maps and other maps. As far as I'm concerned Euroland and Earth maps are custom maps - you know the layout beforehand - and they should go with the customs.

Keep the HOF pure! Keep it random only!

------------------
"Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one's courage" - Anais Nin

vladmir_illych_lenin
Feb 28, 2001, 08:48 PM
Don't listen to him, Thunderfall! He's high on something!

There's nothing wrong with playing on premade maps? It's easier with random maps because each civ starts on a separate continent (most of the time), so you don't have to worry about a big honkin' land war every century.

I bet you couldn't get a higher score than me on the same map..........

shadowdale
Mar 01, 2001, 06:03 AM
I that a bet that is open for all or does it just apply to Stormerne??
I don't seem to remember a "Euroland" map - does it come with the normal game or is it a map that I can download somewhere??

http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/snipersmilie.gif

------------------
Veni Vidi Vici.

Coolbook:
Håkan Eriksson, Stormerne, vladmir_illych_lenin, Cunobelin Of Hippo, PaleHorse76.

stormerne
Mar 01, 2001, 06:51 AM
Shadowdale, it came with my version, (2.7.8 plus Fantastic Worlds) along with a few others, though obviously I can't speak for your version. It is a VERY easy map to get a high score on, for two reasons:
(1) You know the layout before you start, even if you randomise starting positions. Any European who has problems with it must have flunked geography!
(2) The amount of contiguous landmass on the Euro map is HUGE - even larger than real life - making it easy to wage a land war and making it very easy to build lots of good cities with good communication.

Vlad, I accept your challenge, but it is low down on my list of priorities - my own random game and GOTM#2 take higher priority. And I accept it only on one condition: that you accept the counter-challenge of playing from the start position of my own game (King, 7 civs, large random archipelago, restless tribes) - a little like a GOTM.

------------------
"Success is dangerous. One begins to copy oneself,
and to copy oneself is more dangerous than to copy others"
- Pablo Picasso

MrLeN
Mar 01, 2001, 08:43 AM
Lets face it. Everyone knows the maps, made or unmade. Everyone looks. No one can help themselves. So even if it were a random map, it would be the same thing. I think the only map that it is easier to play on is one where the individual tiles were actually placed. Especially unrealistically placed.

MrLeN

------------------
Where there is money, there are liars!

shadowdale
Mar 01, 2001, 09:13 AM
Is it the Europe map that you are talking about?? If so why on earth do you call it Euroland??? I remember that map - I thought that it was dead boring!!!
I hate all the maps that come with the game, you already know the geography of them and they generally s*ck!!

http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/snipersmilie.gif

------------------
Veni Vidi Vici.

Coolbook:
Håkan Eriksson, Stormerne, vladmir_illych_lenin, Cunobelin Of Hippo, PaleHorse76.

stormerne
Mar 01, 2001, 10:23 AM
Originally posted by MrLeN:
Lets face it. Everyone knows the maps, made or unmade. Everyone looks. No one can help themselves. So even if it were a random map, it would be the same thing.

I think this tells us more about <u>you</u> than it does about "Everyone". http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/wink.gif

Leowind
Mar 02, 2001, 02:38 PM
Originally posted by MrLeN:
Lets face it. Everyone knows the maps, made or unmade. Everyone looks. No one can help themselves. So even if it were a random map, it would be the same thing. I think the only map that it is easier to play on is one where the individual tiles were actually placed. Especially unrealistically placed.

MrLeN


Believe it or not, I have NEVER cheated a look at a map and then reloaded. I've never even turned on the cheat menu. That would take all the fun out of the game for me.

I agree premade maps should go with the customs in the HOF. (sorry Vlad)

TimTheEnchanter
Mar 02, 2001, 04:59 PM
Originally posted by MrLeN:
Lets face it. Everyone knows the maps, made or unmade. Everyone looks. No one can help themselves.

Speak for yourself. Some of us don't look at the map.


------------------
There are some who call me...Tim

vladmir_illych_lenin
Mar 02, 2001, 07:50 PM
Stormerne, let's get it on. Send me the saved game.

I bet most of the random map gamers reload more often than Lefty's had sex. I've noticed all of the games in the HOF with random map have beautifully large land masses. Even when I set the landmass to large, 3/5 times there's thin, stringly continents full of mountains and jungles.

For example, in Shadowdale's King HOF game, the ENTIRE MAP IS GRASSLAND AND PLAINS EXCEPT A HILL AND FOREST HERE AND THERE.

No offense, shadowdale. http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/wink.gif

[This message has been edited by vladmir_illych_lenin (edited March 02, 2001).]

stormerne
Mar 02, 2001, 08:31 PM
OK I've emailed you the game's starting position. You'll have to see what you think of the land mass when (and if) you discover it! http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/wink.gif

------------------
"Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one's courage" - Anais Nin

MrLeN
Mar 03, 2001, 12:46 AM
ROFLLLMAO!!!

What a pack of liars!

Ok, I give up, I could never prove it.

Yeah I was speaking for myself, but at least I am honest!

MrLeN

P.S. I should never have said all that. I should have known what the replies would have been. *DoH* Just slaps forehead!

------------------
Where there is money, there are liars!

[This message has been edited by MrLeN (edited March 03, 2001).]

stormerne
Mar 03, 2001, 06:22 AM
Maybe you're partly right. But what got to us was the sweeping generalisation. I, for one, saw what you said and thought "well it doesn't apply to me, therefore it's not logically true".

But maybe it does apply to some people. Though maybe, by definition, some of the people who actually care about the game and have a sense of honour are grouped here on this forum. And I believe them.

------------------
It is very dangerous to question the honour of someone when you don't know their resources.

Dreadnought
Mar 03, 2001, 08:28 AM
Hey i thought this topic was about the largest armies, not the HOE (although they do go hand in hand.)

One time i was playing on prince, and i had this HUGE invasion force of Marines, something like 150 and landed them on key points of the land mass the mongols were on.

If you add about 50 helo's (which i did) it is a pure amfibious assult.

yeah i know prince is prince, but it was 1050AD!!

------------------
"Nothing in the world can endure forever"
-Roman Citizen

vladmir_illych_lenin
Mar 03, 2001, 06:52 PM
Okay stormerne, I'm going to check my mail after I post this.

What I hate:
When you have over (I think) 250 of a type of unit, it goes back down to 1 again in the defense advisor thing.

Once, I had about 500 engineers, and it only ONE!!!!! Then I built cities so I had less than 500, and suddenly it said 248. AFter I disbanned most of them, it still said 200.

[This message has been edited by vladmir_illych_lenin (edited March 03, 2001).]

HIEROPHANT
Mar 04, 2001, 12:43 AM
Originally posted by MrLeN:
Just as a matter of interest, I would like to make a thread about army sizes.

Can you please leave details of the largest army that you recal building. It doesn't have to be specific. Just roughly what type of units you had, roughly how many and what you did with them.

MrLeN <IMG SRC="http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif" border=0>

i have built a large army in a one player and had at least 1000 units and the game was still far from over. i am one of the greatest players in the lands.

shadowdale
Mar 05, 2001, 09:40 AM
Vlad when you have that many Engineers don't you use them to change every single tundra/dessert/mountain to grassland/plains ??? I do and that is why there is practically nothing left of those terrain types!!! There once was a pretty large dessert on one of the islands, but not really any tundra!!

<IMG SRC="http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/snipersmilie.gif" border=0>

------------------
Veni Vidi Vici.

Coolbook:
Håkan Eriksson, Stormerne, vladmir_illych_lenin, Cunobelin Of Hippo, PaleHorse76.

But you are right about the land formation!!! When ever I create new maps now there are quite a few small strips of land that often have some stupid terrain type on it!! I don't know if that is because both of my two high score games are originally from Civ2 classic!!!

[This message has been edited by shadowdale (edited March 05, 2001).]

kittenOFchaos
Mar 06, 2001, 12:52 AM
There is a unit limit...I hit it in Red Front by Captain Nemo -had to disband my army to get new and better units just cos the German army was so BIG!

http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif

Still kinda won...germany was effectively beaten except that the americans didn't really forfill their side of the invasion.

Shadowdale: you send me that cd you said you were going to? Please http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/frown.gif