View Full Version : Installation does not install all files?


Nadir
Oct 27, 2005, 08:37 AM
Hello

Just installed Civ4. It wont start however, but not due to the error everyone else seems to have. Just to see if it did any difference i decided to try messing around with the ini file. And then I noticed that there were no ini file. I have tried reinstalling the game a couple of times now, but the ini file is nowhere to be found, not in the My Games folder or in the game folder. Not anywhere on the HD for that matter. All the links in the game directory for different folders supposed to be placed in My Documents\My Games are invalid.

Now, i have my suspicions that this is due to a power supply failure i had earlier which screwed up my win XP profile royally and which therefore might create some troubles for the installation program when it wants to find the users folder (or it might be that the ini is created on the first run of Civ and it has managed to hang before creating the ini every time....). But since i dont really have time to reinstall XP atm, i would be extremely happy if someone could share the contents of the My Games folder with me. If you want to upload it to my ftp, i will try to get it up and running, or if you have an ftp of your own, i would be extremely thankful.

Thanks.

Nadir
Oct 27, 2005, 09:09 AM
Come on, cant someone please just post the civilizationIV.ini file? Judging by the links in the folder this seems to be the most important missing file.

Repairman_Jack
Oct 27, 2005, 09:24 AM
There isn't any .ini file in this game for some reason (I tried looking to fix my soundtrack problem). My game's working fine, though, so it's clearly not needed. ;)

Nadir
Oct 27, 2005, 09:29 AM
There isn't any .ini file in this game for some reason (I tried looking to fix my soundtrack problem). My game's working fine, though, so it's clearly not needed. ;)

Ummm, ok... Why do they talk about CivilizationIV.ini in the readme then? And i've seen several people here mentioning changing the ini file. It is supposed to be placed in My Documents\My Games\<game folder> according to the readme. And there is a link in the game install folder pointing to a file called CivilizationIV.ini in the My Documents\My Games folder. The problem is that that link file is invalid on my computer due to the fact that the file it is pointing to does not exist.

//edit//
Ooops. It was called CivilizationIV.ini in the readme. Still missing though...

Mazruk
Oct 27, 2005, 10:00 AM
could it be hidden and you have explorer to not show hidden files?

Alternatively, is explorer not showing the extensions (the .ini bit) ?

Nadir
Oct 27, 2005, 10:45 AM
could it be hidden and you have explorer to not show hidden files?

Alternatively, is explorer not showing the extensions (the .ini bit) ?

Nope, i always have show hidden and system files on and show extensions for all files. Dont use explorer in any case ;)

And even if they were just hidden, the search of the whole HD would still find it and the link file in the game install folder wouldnt be invalid. So it is missing allright. Irritating.

Now please, cant someone just copy and paste it or something at least so that i can try to find out if this is really the problem?

NARC
Oct 27, 2005, 10:58 AM
Most games will create the .ini file the first time the game is run. This is true for game slike Quake III, Unreal Tournament 2k4, and some others I'm sure.

So it may not be missing, but you may not have been able to successfully run it, so it was not created.

ThanatosXXX
Oct 27, 2005, 10:59 AM
Nadir, there is indeed an INI file.

Mine's in My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4 and while I don't know how to post a file here I'll just cut'n'paste the contents. (Note, whether it actually does anything or not there's a blank line above [GAME])


[GAME]

; Map Script file name
Map = Continents

; GameType options are singlePlayer/spLoad
GameType = singlePlayer

; Pitboss Turn Time
PitbossTurnTime = 0

; Max number of turns (0 for no turn limit)
MaxTurns = 0

; Handicap for quick play
QuickHandicap = HANDICAP_SETTLER

; GameSpeed options are GAMESPEED_QUICK/GAMESPEED_NORMAL/GAMESPEED_EPIC
GameSpeed = GAMESPEED_NORMAL

; Era options are ERA_ANCIENT/ERA_CLASSICAL/ERA_MEDIEVAL/ERA_RENAISSANCE/ERA_INDUSTRIAL/ERA_MODERN
Era = ERA_ANCIENT

; Sealevel options are SEALEVEL_LOW/SEALEVEL_MEDIUM/SEALEVEL_HIGH
SeaLevel = SEALEVEL_MEDIUM

; Climate options are CLIMATE_ARID/CLIMATE_TEMPERATE/CLIMATE_TROPICAL
Climate = CLIMATE_TEMPERATE

; Worldsize options are WORLDSIZE_DUEL/WORLDSIZE_TINY/WORLDSIZE_SMALL/WORLDSIZE_STANDARD/WORLDSIZE_LARGE/WORLDSIZE_HUGE
WorldSize = WORLDSIZE_STANDARD

; Game Name
GameName = JEFFINATOR

; Save Path - relative to working (Civ4) folder
FileName = 0

; Account Username
Nickname = JEFFINATOR

; Email Address
Email = JEFFINATOR

; In-game Alias
Alias = JEFFINATOR

; Move along
CheatCode = 0

[CONFIG]

; Allow Mouse Scrolling in Windowed mode
MouseScrolling = 0

; Enable Trilinear Filtering for the Minimap
MinimapTrilinearFilter = 1

; Enable Tree Region Cutting
CutTrees = 1

; Enable Quick Slide Show Transitions
PopSlides = 0

; Random seed for map generation, or '0' for default
MapRandSeed = 0

; Random seed for game sync, or '0' for default
SyncRandSeed = 0

; Bandwidth options are modem or broadband
Bandwidth = broadband

; QuickStart - SinglePlayer games only!
QuickStart = 0

; Enable/disable background music
PlayMusic = 1

; Allow Screenshots. May affect performance on some video cards
AllowScreenShots = 1

; App Selects Specific IP to use for Multiplayer
SelectIP = 0

; Specify a Mod folder (Mods\Mesopotamia), '0' for none
Mod = 0

; Specify whether to play in fullscreen mode 0/1/ask
FullScreen = 1

; Set max frame rate clamp (0 means none)
SetMaxFrameRate = 0

; Set to 1 for dynamic animation paging
DynamicAnimPaging = 1

; Set to 1 for no in-game movies
NoMovies = 0

; Set to 1 for no python exception popups
HidePythonExceptions = 1

; Specify the number of turns between autoSaves. 0 means no autosave.
AutoSaveInterval = 4

; Enable Audio
AudioEnable = 1

; English(0),French(1),German(2),Italian(3),Spanish( 4) - Defaults to user-installed language
Language = 0

; Determines which user profile is loaded on game start
UserProfile = Default Profile

; Sync input to smooth interface (may run slower)
SyncInput = 0

; Force numlock always on while playing
ForceNumlock = 0

[DEBUG]

; Number of turns to autorun before exit (0 for no limit)
AutorunTurnLimit = 0

; Set App on Auto-Run
Autorun = 0

; Enable D3D9 Queries
D3D9Query = 0

;
ScreenHeight = 0

; Custom Screen Resolution, ex: 1200x1200 - Normal resolutions can be set in-game and will be used when both values are set to 0
ScreenWidth = 0

; Establish connection to Python Debugger
HAPDebugger = 0

; Show python debug msgs in IDE console
ShowPythonDebugMsgs = 0

; NetComm Port
Port = 2056

; Enable the logging system
LoggingEnabled = 0

; Overwrite old network and message logs
OverwriteLogs = 0

; Enable rand event logging
RandLog = 0

; Enable message logging
MessageLog = 0

; Break on memory allocation order #
BreakOnAlloc = -1