View Full Version : Is there a way...


LAnkou
Nov 09, 2005, 03:21 PM
to know how many "card" of RAM i have and i use without opening my laptop?

i mean, i have 512M of RAM, but is it 2*256 or 1*512?

Hardin
Nov 09, 2005, 03:30 PM
Download cpu-z http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

LAnkou
Nov 09, 2005, 03:50 PM
thanks, i know that i have 2*256 DDR-SDRAM

is it possible to change RAM on a laptop? I believe yes, and is DDR-SDRAM a ggod one (when i will buy a new PC, will it be this kind of RAM?)
how do i know the format? (Dimm, so-dimm) and the norm (PC2700 ont he current one)?

Old Dood
Nov 09, 2005, 05:13 PM
When you buy a new PC I hope it will be DDR2 type ram. (Newer) The ram you have now is older. Nothing wrong with it. Just older.

As for your laptop....I always suggest crucial.com. They have a computer scanner to "see" what youhave and how many slots. On a laptop I am sure you only have two slots. You can then price out how much 2X512Mb sticks will cost you for an upgrade of ram. Most older laptops will only handle 1Gb of ram at the most.