View Full Version : Republic of Texas (Texas as playable civ)

Tactician Zhao
Nov 16, 2005, 05:57 AM
Greetings,

this is my first attempt at a Civilization 4 mod, but it seems to be working so far.. though it is not 100% set in stone at this point, it is completely playable

this mod adds Texas as a playable civ for anyone who wants to play as or against them.. it includes a custom flag and still images for the leaderhead

Name: Texas
Techs: Hunting, Agriculture
Leader: Sam Houston (financial, aggressive)
Unique Unit: Texas Ranger (replaces cavalry, immune to 1st strikes, starts with Sentry promotion) thanks to catwhowalksbyhi for suggestion
Flag: the Lone Star Flag

Update: Fixed the flag so it hangs correctly as per official rules vertically, with the white on the left.. the old flag is still included, now named flagdecal_texasincorrect.dds, if you prefer that one, you can rename it to flagdecal_texas.dds.. also included is the Flag of Burnet, the first official flag of Texas, basically a yellow star on a blue flag

http://www.filegone.com/efix

You can install it by unzipping the file into your mods directory (will create a directory called "Republic of Texas"), then you can load the mod through the advanced menu in Civilization 4.

here are a few screenshots

I know overall this is nothing special, but I figured there might be a few people out there who might get something out of it

edit: I skinned the Texas Ranger and I think it looks okay.. I'm trying to find a place to host the zip file, as its now over the 500kb limit.. so heres a screenshot for now, until I can get the new archive uploaded somewhere

catwhowalksbyhi
Nov 16, 2005, 07:56 AM
I'm not a Texan, but how about the Texas Rangers? More of a police than military unit today, but, in there original incarnation, they might be fitting.

Tactician Zhao
Nov 16, 2005, 08:30 AM