View Full Version : non units


HIEROPHANT
Mar 09, 2001, 08:03 PM
what is the most non units some one has had.

vladmir_illych_lenin
Mar 09, 2001, 11:08 PM
I've had over 100 NON barbarian units. When I set it to Raging Hoards, late in the game, I get at least 5 NON barb units by bribing them every turn. The sweet thing is they only cost around 150 bucks and they get upgraded to better units when i discover a new tech! Then i disband them so I can build wonders faster.

[This message has been edited by vladmir_illych_lenin (edited March 10, 2001).]

Thunderfall
Mar 09, 2001, 11:26 PM
no Vlad, you cannot upgrade calvalry to tanks! Leon's Workshop is made obsolete by Automobiles, and Automobiles is a prerequisite for Mobile Warfare. http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/tank.gif

HIEROPHANT
Mar 10, 2001, 12:31 AM
in this deity game i am playing i will have more than 300 non units by the end of the game.

vladmir_illych_lenin
Mar 10, 2001, 04:30 PM
Well, they were upgraded to something. It might have been from dragoons to calvary. I exaggerate sometimes. http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/wink.gif

I've also bribed horsemen for 50 bucks and have them upgraded to Calvalry a couple of techs later. A really good deal!

HIEROPHANT
Mar 10, 2001, 04:54 PM
it is also good to have non ships

Cimfindriel
Mar 12, 2001, 08:28 AM
it is also good to have non ships


I think this, next to a NON settler is the best NON to have.

Just as a matter of interest...do you (this is for everyone to answer if they want to) always kill barbarian leaders to get the ransom money? I sometimes buy them off...resulting in a NON settler; the benefit being the obvious.

------------------
<IMG SRC="http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/ninja1.gif" border=0>"Engarde you silly fool!
You are no match for my so fine
rapier!"

He who sacrifices his conscience to ambition burns a picture to obtain the ashes.
- Chinese Proverb

kittenOFchaos
Mar 12, 2001, 08:42 AM
none units i think u mean

I never look after mine properly...I just don't care enough about the resource cost of units. BUT if I needed to I could care and thus I'd be a better player, but more uptight.

Cimfindriel
Mar 12, 2001, 09:29 AM
Here kitty kitty http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/wink.gif

------------------
<IMG SRC="http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/ninja1.gif" border=0>"Engarde you silly fool!
You are no match for my so fine
rapier!"

He who sacrifices his conscience to ambition burns a picture to obtain the ashes.
- Chinese Proverb

woke25
Mar 12, 2001, 11:10 AM
I can CREATE a non unit every turn. how many turns does this game have? i think that will lead to at least 1000 non units, without bribing 1 barbarian. Contact me if you want to learn this trick.

R
Apr 12, 2001, 01:52 AM
found this interesting thread. yes woke23. i'd like to know!

------------------
<IMG SRC="http://www.missionsos.org/urkraftkallan/civsignatur.gif" border=0>
...................................(R)

goodbye_mr_bond
Apr 12, 2001, 02:05 AM
Creating NON units? Sounds delightfully naughty to me... Care to share?

gjts00
Apr 12, 2001, 02:13 AM
What's a "non unit"?

------------------
Thou who goes to bed with an itchy butt wakes up with a smelly finger.

Az
Apr 12, 2001, 03:51 AM
Originally posted by gjts00

What's a "non unit"?



A NONE unit is one that isn't supported by any city. If you have never seen any then start a new game and look carefully at the information you have under your first settler icon. Instead of the name of the city that supports it the word "NONE" is written; after all you ave no city to support it.

The best NONE unit is settler because normally it requires food support.
The best way to have NONE settlers later in the game is to build a city with a a normal settler and then rush-build another one in this same city. As soon as the city size is 1 you'll have to choose between "delay settler production" and "build setllers anyway and disband City". If you coose the second the settler that will come out will have no support it will be a NONE unit. http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif
That way you can keep this unit till the end of the game for improving terrain.

Sir Isaac Newton
Apr 12, 2001, 07:57 AM
Originally posted by Az:
The best NONE unit is settler because normally it requires food support.
The best way to have NONE settlers later in the game is to build a city with a a normal settler and then rush-build another one in this same city. As soon as the city size is 1 you'll have to choose between "delay settler production" and "build setllers anyway and disband City". If you coose the second the settler that will come out will have no support it will be a NONE unit. <IMG SRC="http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif" border=0>
That way you can keep this unit till the end of the game for improving terrain.

I've tried this on occasion, but I never get that option. (Generally, I have tried this to get rid of a city in a really crappy place, but to no avail.) The city just sits there until it reaches size 2, and then the settler is completed and the city drops to size 1 again. I presume I am doing something wrong; any ideas on what specifically it might be? http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/confused.gifhttp://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/confused.gifhttp://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/confused.gif



------------------
"It's good to be the king." --History of the World, Part I

TimTheEnchanter
Apr 12, 2001, 09:43 AM
Originally posted by Sir Isaac Newton:
I've tried this on occasion, but I never get that option. (Generally, I have tried this to get rid of a city in a really crappy place, but to no avail.) The city just sits there until it reaches size 2, and then the settler is completed and the city drops to size 1 again. I presume I am doing something wrong; any ideas on what specifically it might be

You have to rush build the settler before you get to size 2. It costs some gold. Also, I believe the game will not allow you to disband a city at chieftain level.



------------------
DEATH awaits you all...with nasty, big, pointy teeth.

BlueMonday
Apr 12, 2001, 01:26 PM
In order to disband a city you have to remember that when you lose a citizen your food in storage stays the same. If you build a settler when the city is size two it decreases to size one, but the amount of food is still the same, so most likely the city will regain the citizen in the next turn. So, in order to get around this, you need to deplete the food in the city, dedicate all your workers to industry.

Also, you can disband cities in cheiftain level. And sometimes, you will get a non settler when you disband, but if you are near a friendly city, it will be supported by that city.

------------------
<IMG SRC="http://forums.civfanatics.com/image_uploads/goodbye3.jpg" border=0>
<FONT COLOR="blue">"BEWARE MY WRATHE"</FONT c>

Az
Apr 12, 2001, 10:16 PM
Also your city musn't be too close to another because it may teake support from this other city...

Well I'm not sure about that...

vladmir_illych_lenin
Apr 13, 2001, 07:52 PM
A unit from a hut or disbanded city is created: If closer to enemy city, then it's a NONE. If it's closer to your city, then it's supported.

What I love are NONE partisans. If barbs actually conquer one of my cities, about 5-10 NONE partisans come out. I can instantly retake that city and relieve 10 shields of 10 other cities.

Az
Apr 14, 2001, 09:06 AM
Thanx Vlad. ! I had been wondering....

vladmir_illych_lenin
Apr 15, 2001, 12:39 AM
No prob http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif

There's the down part about conquering the world......

FearlessLeader2
Apr 15, 2001, 01:52 AM
Ok, so you can get NON settlers by disbanding a size 1 city on the *** end of nowhere, but how do you get other NON units without losing a city to barbs? Bribing enemy units in other civs is expensive, and impossible with democracies and stacked units. Am I missing something?

------------------
"What do we want? Tickets to the Met, Broadway, the shops, civilization, man, that's what we're looking for. Oh, we may stumble along the way, take this fellow for instance. . . *BLAM*
Now was that civilized? Fun, yes, but in no sense civilized."

Henrik
Apr 15, 2001, 05:26 AM
Apart from getting non units from huts and bribing them there is no other way, I think.

------------------
"Knowledge is best let into a skull after cracking it first!"
Rhoads, Priest of Elgar
Mertis

vladmir_illych_lenin
Apr 15, 2001, 10:49 AM
Ofcourse, you can do it the cheap way in multiplayer. Just ask woke.......

Actually, it's a good idea to let the AI conquer one of your crappy cities. Losing some population is worth generating a bunch of NONE partisons. If you let them conquer one of your larger cities (size 30), you can get as many as 20 partisans.

woke25
Apr 15, 2001, 11:15 AM
For the record, i would like to say that i do not use the cheat to create NON units. I just know how to do it, thats all. If you want to know how you can create a non unit every turn, go to www.civladders.com (http://www.civladders.com) and check under Code of conduct. you will find a description of how to make non units under CHEATS, BUGS and TRICKS.

I condamn people who use this cheat, but you have to know the cheat to recognize it with your opponent.

FearlessLeader2
Apr 15, 2001, 09:49 PM
Ok, well civladders is a dead link. I didn't care that much anyways. I just like to know when I'm getting screwed by cheaters.

------------------
"What do we want? Tickets to the Met, Broadway, the shops, civilization, man, that's what we're looking for. Oh, we may stumble along the way, take this fellow for instance. . . *BLAM*
Now was that civilized? Fun, yes, but in no sense civilized."

R
Apr 16, 2001, 02:25 AM
Interesting with the barbarian cities, vlad.. I'll go try. Hope they'll build lot's of settlers...

------------------
<IMG SRC="http://www.missionsos.org/urkraftkallan/civsignatur.gif" border=0>
...................................(R)

thealien_83
Apr 24, 2001, 05:03 AM
I don't tend to bother about buying barbarians, even tho' thata bout buyin Barbarian leaders might be worth a try. What I *do* tend to get a of is Partisans, at least when playing on higher difficulty levels. Last time I actually managed to get myself terminated by the comp ( yea yea, I do fail sometimes... http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/tongue.gif ) I had every Civilization on me, and I had neglected my defense severily. When they'd sacked almost my entire empire ( connected by railroad of course ) with several large cities I had resorted to the tactics of withdrawing all my Partisans to my capitol to make a last stand... I think they numbered somewhere about 200 or so... http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/biggrin.gif