View Full Version : How do I uninstall the game? (With intent to reinstall)


Mrdie
Dec 28, 2005, 02:54 AM
Edit: Never mind, I uninstalled it, and reinstalled, and all is fine.

((I'm using Windows XP, just for referance)

The game doesn't appear in the add/remove programs list for me to uninstall, so, I had a manly idea, I will take all files and etc related to Civilization IV, put them in recycle bin, and try to see if I can install the game. I put disk in, and it still says "Play" (It obviously doesn't play the game)

Now, my friend says if I delete the files in the recycle bin, then all is fine and the startup menu will say "Install" and etc instead of "Play" however if I do this I risk my Civilization IV being always on "installed" and never being able to play it again.

For anyone who is curious, I want to uninstall it because when I try to download the patches for it (this has happend with all the patches) it says "Cannot find Civilization IV" and, if all goes well, a reinstall will make the patches see that I, indeed, have Civilization IV installed.

So..yeah..any help?

Blahness
Dec 28, 2005, 03:18 AM
Odd, I searched myself, and there seems to be no "uninstall" icon. o_O'

Check the readme or something.

Mrdie
Dec 28, 2005, 03:46 AM
Odd, I searched myself, and there seems to be no "uninstall" icon. o_O'

Check the readme or something.
Doesn't mention uninstalling. O.o

Robbobloke
Dec 28, 2005, 04:32 AM
Maybe just delete the game directory manually and install again... The game shows up in my add/remove programs as "Sid Meier's Civilization 4".

Mrdie
Dec 28, 2005, 04:39 AM
Maybe just delete the game directory manually and install again... The game shows up in my add/remove programs as "Sid Meier's Civilization 4".
Doesn't appear. I can't play the game anyway. Deleted the files that were in recycle bin. And it still lists it as "play" :/

Edit: I explored the CD and clicked setup, and yay it is installing. :O

ZippyRiver
Dec 28, 2005, 04:47 AM
Yes it is on the add/remove programs list. Look for "Sid Meier's Civilization 4". I had trouble finding it too at first

Mrdie
Dec 28, 2005, 04:48 AM
Yes it is on the add/remove programs list. Look for "Sid Meier's Civilization 4". I had trouble finding it too at first
It wasn't on the list. I can assure you.

ZippyRiver
Dec 28, 2005, 04:52 AM
Funny, thats how I uninstalled it. I also am using XP (home). (wanted a clean install for the patch)

Mrdie
Dec 28, 2005, 05:06 AM
Yay! I uninstalled, reinstalled, and got the patch to work! Oh glorious day!

*Tears off clothes and runs around naked the local mall screaming "YAAAAYYY FOOORR THEEE DAAAYYYYY"*

Gerlach
Dec 28, 2005, 06:55 AM
Funny, thats how I uninstalled it. I also am using XP (home). (wanted a clean install for the patch)

Interesting. On mine, it appears, but when you hit remove, it tries to re-install the patch! Very strange.

santaclauz
Dec 28, 2005, 11:02 AM
Just run setup.exe on CD. It will eventually uninstall Civ4 if you have it installed.

botski
Dec 28, 2005, 11:07 AM
I wish MSoft would let you define the string that you will see in Add/Remove programs. It sure is a pain in the arse searching through that massive list because the software threw the publisher's name in front of the program name.

(I spose I could hack the registry.....)

Rant over. :)

Gerlach
Dec 28, 2005, 12:48 PM
Thanks, Santa. I was hoping there'd be a better way than brute force.