View Full Version : More Resources: Jade/Marble, Coffee, Cotton, New Fruit, New Oasis, modified most


Kal-el
Feb 08, 2002, 11:26 AM
What I have done is combined some of the resources to allow for more pics to be included. It is unfortunate that we can only use 24 images, but what can you do. Well, here is what you can do.

Strategic:
Horses
Metals
- Copper
- Iron
- Aluminum
Saltpeter
Coal
Oil
Rubber
Uranium

Luxuries:
Furs
Silks
Dyes
Spices
Gems
Marble/Jade
Cotton
Tobacco
Incense
Wine
Coffee Beans

Bonus:
Livestock
- Cattle
- Sheep
- Pigs
Fruit
Foodstuffs
- Wheat
- Rice
- Vegetables
Oasis
Seafood
- Fish
- Whales
Precious Metals
- Platinum
- Gold
- Silver


I am still working on the cattle image, I am trying to get the sheep and pigs in there but so far it just hasn't looked right.

Do you think that the metals are a little cluttered? Let me know. Try it in the game first though.

The pic also includes and image for Poppies and the original dyes and aluminum.

Edit: I fixed the red edge around the oasis

Added:
from ToT
Lumber
Corn
moose
walrus
pheasant
bison
From CTP
Crab
Pearls

Sorry for such a short period between updates. No new edits planned any time soon ;)
Edit:
Sheep - google
Camels - CTP
Jade by itself - CTP
Marble - ToT
School of Fish - ToT
Berries - ToT
Pigs - CTP
Calamari - ToT
Clams - ToT
Kelp - ToT
Polar Bear - ToT
Oil - ToT
Sugar CTP
Alternate Marble - google
Green rocks ToT
Hemp google
Alternate Squid CTP
Leafy undergrowth ToT
Furs - ToT


version 1 removed after 289 downloads
version 2 removed after 44 downloads

Kal-el
Feb 08, 2002, 11:36 AM
download the above image if you like what you see below.

the marble image came from ahenobarb's mass culture mod

the rest either came from the resource.pcx image included in the game, some other image from the game (the cow), civ2 ToT (fruit), CTP (Jade, Coffee and Poppies), or from some combination thereof (tobacco/incense is a combination of the incense and spices)

Kal-el
Feb 13, 2002, 05:09 PM
How do you think it looks? I was really hoping that the new patch would allow for more resource images, but oh well. I think a lot of people were hoping the same thing.

josefgiven
Feb 17, 2002, 01:27 PM
Kal-el,

Nice work, dude. It's a shame that you haven't had more support.

May I suggest that you lose the grey blocks behind the jade Buddha? Other than that, it's looking pretty nice. :)

Josef

Kal-el
Feb 17, 2002, 05:37 PM
thanks for the support.
the grey blocks are supposed to be marble. I was thinking about using an image of Michaelangelo's Statue of David to go along with the Jade Budha.
What do you think?

furtigan
Feb 18, 2002, 11:13 PM
It makes no sense. They are different minerals, found in different places and for different purposes. Use one or the other or both, but not together.

The same goes for all the rest. From a game-playing standpoint, what difference does it make to have "precious metals" rather than "gold"? Why is fruit not a foodstuff?

Kal-el
Feb 19, 2002, 10:37 AM
i realize that they are completely different minerals but the game only allows you to use 24 images and of all the different types of resources marble is the most similar to jade, they are both "rocks".

I separated fruit from foodstuffs because I feel that apples and oranges, etc. are much dfferent from wheat, rice and veggies. it would be possible to combine wine and fruit which would allow for an additional image. I am not sure why I didn't do this from the start. maybe I will do that tonight.

the idea is to use the images as only a representative of the type of resource that may be found in any specific tile.

you as the end user have to go into you bic file and add additional resources in order for this to be really useful.

how it would work:

add resources:
Copper - assign it the strategic metals resource - required for trireme (military version of galley - yes I know triremes were galleys, but horsemen were Cavalry, so what?)
Jade - assign it the jade/marble image
Marble - assign it the jade/marble image
Cotton - assign the cotton image
Tobacco - assign the smoky thing image
Coffee Beans - assign the coffee beans image
etc., etc.

you can then distinguish the different types of precious metals, livestock, strategic metals, etc.

e.g.
platinum = 0/0/4
gold = 0/0/3
silver = 0/0/2

cattle = 2/1/0
sheep = 1/1/1
pigs = 1/2/0

these are just ideas, i haven't fleshed out the values that should be assigned to the various additional resources yet.

any ideas?

Kal-el
Feb 25, 2002, 09:48 AM
I tried changing the blocks of marble to a statue of the Venus de Milo, but it just didn't look right. The statue ended up being too small. I didn't try it but I suspect that the David would have similar results. This just came to me as I was typing, possibly using a broken marble column. I think that would look pretty cool.

Ok, so now to find the proper image.

Kal-el
Feb 28, 2002, 08:41 PM
so I found this image and am going to edit it and add it in place of the current marble blocks. What to you think?

sealman
Mar 01, 2002, 09:52 AM
Great!

Kal-el
Mar 03, 2002, 01:55 AM
i tried to change the image above but it just doesn't seem to want to.

Desert Fox
Mar 03, 2002, 03:16 PM
I would like to see a resource for Hemp or Marijuana as many commonly know it. I want to make a scenario that uses Hemp as a major resource with civs to match. For now though sense a large number of people consume weed for medical and recreational purposes it would be cool to see it included as a resource. Maybe add in poppies and coca leaf although these are very terrible drugs unlike marijuana. Just a crazy idea I had, I am probably alone with my idea :D :crazyeyes Peace.

Desert Fox :p

NegativePower
Mar 03, 2002, 08:53 PM
Desert Fox
I was thinking the same thing, it would make an interesting game

Desert Fox
Mar 03, 2002, 09:21 PM
Originally posted by NegativePower
Desert Fox
I was thinking the same thing, it would make an interesting game

I expected a rant about my post. :lol: I am trying too locate the graphics needed to put into my own mod. Later a scenario when we are able to do so. I made a faction for SMAC (Alpha Centauri) featuring Jack Herer as the leader. :lol:

Desert Fox :p

I am agnostic (spelling) myself though :D

Kal-el
Mar 04, 2002, 10:57 AM
DFox,

I have a beautiful image that I think fulfills your request. I will post a new file tomorrow.

til then,

Crist2000
Mar 08, 2002, 09:37 AM
Well, nice work but I have encountered a Bi-i-i-G problem>

All resources above number 23 are invisible. ?!?!?!?!!??

But when I convert the saved map into .BIC file and then open it in Civ edit everithing seems to be OK.

I lost entire my day to find a work around, but...

Hawkman
Mar 09, 2002, 08:04 PM
How do you get the game to run with more than 23 resources?
I add extra resources and the game crashes?
Help!!!!!!!!:cry:

Switch625
Mar 10, 2002, 01:35 PM
Originally posted by Crist2000
Well, nice work but I have encountered a Bi-i-i-G problem>

All resources above number 23 are invisible. ?!?!?!?!!??

But when I convert the saved map into .BIC file and then open it in Civ edit everithing seems to be OK.

I lost entire my day to find a work around, but...

You can see all those extra resources in the editor, but they don't appear while playing the game. The simple fact of the matter is, that icon position 23 is the last one you can use. No icons after #23 will appear on the map in the game. The game will crash if you try to hook up an "invisible" tradable resource to your trade network. It's odd (and frustrating) that you can place those resources, and you can see them on the map in the editor, but they will not work in the game.

Kal-el
Mar 22, 2002, 11:19 AM
yeah, it is frustrating:aargh3: that the other images don't show up. I was hopeful after razorwing's post, but no one else seems to be able to get it to work. Oh well, I guess you could use the images for your own mods, cut and paste. Maybe this will change with 1.18. lets keep our fingers crossed.

Ralendil
Apr 13, 2002, 04:17 AM
Originally posted by Desert Fox
I would like to see a resource for Hemp or Marijuana as many commonly know it. I want to make a scenario that uses Hemp as a major resource with civs to match. For now though sense a large number of people consume weed for medical and recreational purposes it would be cool to see it included as a resource. Maybe add in poppies and coca leaf although these are very terrible drugs unlike marijuana. Just a crazy idea I had, I am probably alone with my idea :D :crazyeyes Peace.

Desert Fox :p

I have made a mod with the hemp ressource!
This is a strategic ressource that is using to build all ancient ships. I work on the version 1 and I've found one picture that could look well:

The picture under isn't the good. But it is that i've done for my mod. The ressources are more visibles and strategic ressources have got labels. You will find the picture with the hemp at the next post by me.

Now a question: somebody have got crashes as me when using more than 23 ressources (or 24)?

Ralendil
Apr 13, 2002, 04:20 AM
Originally posted by Ralendil


I have made a mod with the hemp ressource!
This is a strategic ressource that is using to build all ancient ships. I work on the version 1 and I've found one picture that could look well:

You will find the picture at the end of the 4th line

Now a question: somebody have got crashes as me when using more than 23 ressources (or 24)?

Wrong picture sorry but I find the Ka-el picture beautiful to represent hemp.
It is under same place:

Ralendil
Apr 13, 2002, 04:30 AM
Originally posted by Switch625


You can see all those extra resources in the editor, but they don't appear while playing the game. The simple fact of the matter is, that icon position 23 is the last one you can use. No icons after #23 will appear on the map in the game. The game will crash if you try to hook up an "invisible" tradable resource to your trade network. It's odd (and frustrating) that you can place those resources, and you can see them on the map in the editor, but they will not work in the game.

There's a section about that on Apolyton forum. It appears that you cannot add more than 3 ressources without provocate crash into your game.

Moreover if you use an icon than have as place a number >23 it will crash your game also. We can add 15 civilizations, all improvements we want, all units we can make but only 3 ressources !!!!

PS I am too sorry for these 3 consecutives posts.

Added some minutes later :lol:: Correction: 2 differents ressources icons. The 2 last lines of the original ressources.pcx are invalids. All icons here don't appear in game.

kring
Apr 23, 2002, 01:17 PM
Is this compatible with the 1.21 patch?

Ralendil
Apr 23, 2002, 01:58 PM
Yes the resources bug have been fixed with 1.21 you can add now more resources (how much i don't know but more than 8).

Desert Fox
Apr 23, 2002, 03:29 PM
There is still issues concerning resources, icons, and units. They mention in the read me that they fixed it but it isn't fixed. The fact is the programmer made a statement in another thread. He said, "we don't want you to put in buildings, units, resources or anything until it is supported". I think they are getting frustrated with everyone making mods, possibly causing some errors that inadvertingly (sp) is making their bug hunt tougher. Until the official editor and expansion pack is released we are going to be hampered by glitches when making mods. Elucidus (Balancer mod maker) thinks he has a work around for some of the issues. I think we can add only about 6 more resources without problems. I am not positive on that Elucidus knows, he is on vacation. Good luck at making them work flawlessly. Too bad firaxis should realize that the mods and scenario making is what keeps a game like this alive :o :p

Kal-el
Apr 23, 2002, 03:37 PM
with the new patch you can have a total of 36 resource icons show up. Still can only have 8 luxury resources. Make sure to edit the luxuryicons_small file in the art\cityscreen folder if you change any of the luxury resources.

thamis
Jun 01, 2002, 02:34 PM
We have the same problem in the Anciend Mediterranean MOD (http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=23420). The cityicons pcx has two rows, though. I also wonder what the numbers mean. I read about 10 threads on this topic now and I have often heard "whenever you add a resource above 23 to your trade network the game exits". My idea: Put all strategic and luxury resources on a place below 23, and all above are bonus. This will let you add 8 strat/lux resources.

I'm not sure if it really works - just and idea.