View Full Version : CPU: Conroe, Socket:???


BlizzardGR
Mar 25, 2006, 04:00 AM
I have decided to buy myself a new system with future hardware developments in mind. So, if Intel's Conroe, which is due later this year, will be compatible with the current socket 775 i will get an Intel Mobo and CPU now.

Does anyone know if it has been anounced on what socket will Conroe run? I'm guessing it hasn't because i haven't found anything on google but could someone make an educated guess? Is there a chance that intel will continue using socket 775? If it does i'll get a pentium D based system and if it doesn't, i might as well get an AMD CPU and Mobo, cause it's so much more powerful than Intel's current gen CPUs.

dannyevilcat
Mar 25, 2006, 05:12 AM
975 is the currently available chipset (and thus it'll fit socket 775) which is supposed to support Conroe, but I wouldn't recommend buying anything now in advance, as by the time it is available, faster DDR2 memory will probably be available than current motherboards can support.

BlizzardGR
Mar 25, 2006, 06:47 AM
Currently DDR2 isn't better than DDR and i can't imagine that this will change by much in the near future. Furthermore, it seems that recently AMD has adopted Intels way of changing sockets so often that it doesn't really matter if i get an older socket, since there will be an even newer one in a year or so.
To sum up, i think i'll get a s939 Mobo and an Athlon X2 4400+. That should last at least 2 years.