View Full Version : Civ on PSX


GenghisK
Mar 27, 2001, 03:19 AM
I've read that many people are playing or discovering Civ saga on their Playstation (or other consoles).
I mean no offense towards these people but personnally I don't think strategy games and especially Civ-like, are suitable for a console portage. I've always thought that it's a typical computer game type.
First, in my humble opinion, Playstation or Dreamcast platforms are rather for action, arcade or fighting games and not really for "deep thinking level" games. To take an example, even real-time strategy (such as Warcraft2 or Command&conquer) portages have not been great.
Last, I'd prefer play Civ with a mouse and a keyboard, rather than a gamepad. But as I said, it's MY humble opinion and I don't mean any offense to anybody. http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif
Nevertheless, it's perhaps not a really bad idea, too. It would allow people to discover the wonderful world of diplomatic strategy. And that's great.

What do you think about that?

------------------
Genghis K.

MrLeN
Mar 27, 2001, 01:02 PM
The only experience I have had playing Civ on a console was on (I think a Sony Playstation) with a contol pad.

At the time, I didn't have my computer and needed a Civ fix. It was a cheap solution. I hired the game from the local video store and played on a friends console.

It did serve its purpose, but it's kinda like giving a heavy smoker patches. It just didn't quite fit the bill.

It compromised many options (I can't remember which ones) but I can definately recal thinking "where's this"?, "what happened to that"?

In short, it is not suitable, but then again, these days the consoles DO have keyboards and mouses etc... I think at the very least, it's a cheap alternative to buying a compuer if you don't have one, or access to one.

MrLeN

------------------
Where there is money, there are liars!
Check out my Homepage:
Nebulous! (http://members.optushome.com.au/mrlen/homepage/HOMEPAGE_B.html)
Don't forget to sign my guestbook.
I sure do look forward to feedback!

drake
Mar 27, 2001, 06:06 PM
Yeah, playstation was my gateway to the PC version......and after playing PC for like oh...5 minutes, I realized that it was the superior version......

Man, you want to talk about slow? That playstation version is painfully slow.....

VanillaCube
Mar 27, 2001, 10:02 PM
I hate the PC verson of civ. and if It was not on the playstation I would not play civ at all because I hate being stuck in a damm chair for 6 or 7 hours!

------------------
The people in my cool book
1.Travin
2.Thunderfall
3.stellar converter
4.penvzila
------------
My S*** List
1.Hardman

Mindfields
Mar 28, 2001, 12:50 AM
Civilization on my playstation??? Nah!... i don't think so. I have to buy a mouse first. civilization is not suitable on a console.

RR_Aquilae
Mar 28, 2001, 01:40 AM
I started playing CivII on Playstation Jan'00. I had never before played a strategy game, so it was a surprise for me to realize I'm addicted to CivII. Soon I found out that the manual is very superficial and that the game gets slower and slower as the gamecenturies change. However, I played many enjoyable games during that year.

Then, three months ago I bought a computer and started to dream about PC-version of CivII. Last weekend I then saw ToT in a local game shop. It was so low in price I couldn't resist the temptation. After these days with PC-Civ... THERE'S NO GOING BACK!

Despite the slowness PSX-version made a strategy game fan of me.

GenghisK
Mar 28, 2001, 03:03 AM
Hi, thanks to you all guys for your (different) point of view. Apparently I was right. PSX s*** for Civ-like games. Sorry for you vanillacube http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/wink.gif
That's all what I wanted to know. Even Drake agrees with me http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif

------------------
Genghis K.

Tact
Mar 28, 2001, 01:27 PM
I could see it were the consoles linked for MP, but four people sitting in the same room playing civ would completely negate all the Inter-player diplomacy.

drake
Mar 28, 2001, 01:42 PM
The only thing better is that the wonder movies are full screen......The graphics are so unclear that it is a challenge to tell the difference between fish and whales...some of the other landscape tiles were very poorly done.....as well as the units....plus playing without a mouse is painful......

------------------
Check out the site for the Ultimate Diplo game:
History of the World (http://www.geocities.com/history_of_the_world)

VanillaCube
Mar 29, 2001, 04:25 PM
I think that playing with a mouse is too slow and unatural! and you have to search those damm bars up top and on the bottom and on the side sometimes, with the controller you can just push one button and your were you want to be faster than the mouse.

------------------
**** Cool Books I started my first cool book because I would be Original, and now all you basterd's stole my Idea! thanks to the Insane spamming poster!

Fishheads
Mar 29, 2001, 07:31 PM
ewwww

consoles suck

VanillaCube
Mar 29, 2001, 08:30 PM
ewwww
fishheads suck

actually they are quite tasty I like the eye balls!


------------------
**** Cool Books I started my first cool book because I would be Original, and now all you basterd's stole my Idea! thanks to the Insane spamming poster!

GenghisK
Mar 30, 2001, 02:48 AM
Nononono, psx s****. Definitely. Everybody agrees. http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif

------------------
Genghis K.

VanillaCube
Mar 30, 2001, 04:44 PM
Originally posted by GenghisK:
Everybody agrees. <IMG SRC="http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif" border=0>


Are You calling me Nobody because I am somebody and as somebody I am included in everybody so your statment is wrong!


------------------
**** Cool Books I started my first cool book because I would be Original, and now all you basterd's stole my Idea! thanks to the Insane spamming poster!

GenghisK
Mar 31, 2001, 09:08 AM
Sorry Vanillacube, don't take it bad http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif
I said I meant no offense to anybody. Of course, I respect your opinion...
Forget it? Forgive me? http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif

------------------
Genghis K.

FearlessLeader2
Apr 05, 2001, 02:31 AM
We'd respect your opinion more if it wasn't so blatantly wrong, Vanilla Ice. Civ on a PS? Puh-LEEZE!

------------------
"Ivana Tinkle? Hold on, lemme check. Hey, everybody!! Put down your glasses, Ivana Tinkle!"

GenghisK
Apr 05, 2001, 04:47 AM
Yeah yeah Fearless, we all think PSX civ stinks but, chhtt... Don't annoy Vanilla http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/biggrin.gif He's the only guy/girl(?) who likes that. It's his right.

------------------
Genghis K.

Mongol Horde
Apr 05, 2001, 05:41 AM
I have tried civII on the ps2 and I had to fight the urge not to puke all over it. Have you seen the resolution of it, absolutely awful. It's common sense that civ is PC game leave the consoles for the joypad bashers.

And VC get yourself a comfy chair.

GenghisK
Apr 05, 2001, 05:43 AM
Originally posted by Mongol Horde:
I have tried civII on the ps2 and I had to fight the urge not to puke all over it. Have you seen the resolution of it, absolutely awful. It's common sense that civ is PC game leave the consoles for the joypad bashers.

And VC get yourself a comfy chair.
Yes, welcome to our PC-civ club http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif Just in case you didn't know, I also totally share your opinion. PSX s*** http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif



------------------
Genghis K.

Mongol Horde
Apr 05, 2001, 05:55 AM
You are the Mongol Hordes leader after all so I can't really disagree with you can I? http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smokin.gif

GenghisK
Apr 05, 2001, 06:05 AM
Originally posted by Mongol Horde:
You are the Mongol Hordes leader after all so I can't really disagree with you can I? <IMG SRC="http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smokin.gif" border=0>
Of course you can, but Khan the Great's wrath is legendary... Eheheh http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/biggrin.gif
Anyway, that's good servant http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif



------------------
Genghis K.

gjts00
Apr 09, 2001, 02:59 AM
Up until I got TOT last week, I played civ 2 on my playstation. PSX sim/strategy games are fine. Granted that can't hold a candle to a pc. But I can say this, the controller for the PSX is 5 times faster than a mouse/keyboard. Any true Civilization connoisseur would go the PC route though.

------------------
Thou who goes to bed with an itchy butt wakes up with a smelly finger.

GenghisK
Apr 09, 2001, 05:25 AM
Originally posted by gjts00:
Up until I got TOT last week, I played civ 2 on my playstation. PSX sim/strategy games are fine. Granted that can't hold a candle to a pc. But I can say this, the controller for the PSX is 5 times faster than a mouse/keyboard. Any true Civilization connoisseur would go the PC route though.


Granted, but have you forgotten the long minutes you have to wait for the computer civs to move? It's quite slow you know, in PSX.


------------------
Genghis K.
<IMG SRC="http://www.leader-values.com/images/Genghis%20Khan.gif" border=0>

gjts00
Apr 09, 2001, 02:05 PM
Originally posted by GenghisK:
Originally posted by gjts00:
Up until I got TOT last week, I played civ 2 on my playstation. PSX sim/strategy games are fine. Granted that can't hold a candle to a pc. But I can say this, the controller for the PSX is 5 times faster than a mouse/keyboard. Any true Civilization connoisseur would go the PC route though.


Granted, but have you forgotten the long minutes you have to wait for the computer civs to move? It's quite slow you know, in PSX.





You're right Genghis, I did forget to add that fact. But I'm covered because I said "Any true civ connieseur wuold go the PC route though."...lol

http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/rolleyes.gif

------------------
Thou who goes to bed with an itchy butt wakes up with a smelly finger.

[This message has been edited by gjts00 (edited April 09, 2001).]

GenghisK
Apr 09, 2001, 02:10 PM
Yes, but also admit PSX ver s*** http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/biggrin.gifhttp://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/biggrin.gif
Vanilla still refuses to believe that http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif Hope he doesn't read that or...http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/spanking.gif http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/lol.gif

------------------
Genghis K.
<IMG SRC="http://www.leader-values.com/images/Genghis%20Khan.gif" border=0>

VanillaCube
Apr 09, 2001, 08:39 PM
No I wont do that you might enjoy it too much!

------------------
my words of wisdom

1.Square meals often make round people.
2.You Cant Argue With Stupitity!
3.an Eye for and Eye(and while your at it take 2)

Squirrel2004
Apr 09, 2001, 08:49 PM
One Civ2 game on PSX takes up 2/3 of the memory on your memory card, plus one more for a Hall of Fame. A single memory card cost $20, too.

Squirrel2004

GenghisK
Apr 11, 2001, 06:49 AM
So as we say all (except one or two strange guys http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif). PSX s***

------------------
Genghis K.
<IMG SRC="http://wsphotofews.excite.com/003/LZ/ic/CX/Kx78690.jpg" border=0>

VanillaCube
Apr 13, 2001, 08:33 PM
Originally posted by Squirrel2004:
One Civ2 game on PSX takes up 2/3 of the memory on your memory card, plus one more for a Hall of Fame. A single memory card cost $20, too.

Squirrel2004
damm....were are you buying your memory cards!
I only pay 5$-10$



------------------
my words of wisdom

1.Square meals often make round people.
2.You Cant Argue With Stupitity!
3.an Eye for and Eye(and while your at it take 2)

vladmir_illych_lenin
Apr 13, 2001, 08:39 PM
Still not worth it.........You don't know what you're missing in multiplayer games and scenarios. In fact, the game sucks without multiplayer.

Psssst!
If you want a copy of MGE for the computer, just PM Matrix.

GenghisK
Apr 14, 2001, 10:10 AM
Don't try to "convert" Vanilla to PC. He's very stubborn you know. http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/lol.gif Oops, now I got another enemy here in the forum. Hey Vanilla, just kidding http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

BTW, you're not really discrete concerning you last sentence http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif

------------------
Genghis K.
<IMG SRC="http://wsphotofews.excite.com/003/LZ/ic/CX/Kx78690.jpg" border=0>

VanillaCube
Apr 15, 2001, 05:22 PM
Originally posted by GenghisK:
Don't try to "convert" Vanilla to PC. He's very stubborn you know. <IMG SRC="http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/lol.gif" border=0> Oops, now I got another enemy here in the forum. Hey Vanilla, just kidding <IMG SRC="http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/biggrin.gif" border=0>

BTW, you're not really discrete concerning you last sentence <IMG SRC="http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif" border=0>


I love having enemys It makes life more Instersting!
Life is boring if everyone likes you!
I had a copy of civ on the PC but I stoped playing it because I dont like to play games on the PC!



------------------
my words of wisdom

1.Square meals often make round people.
2.You Cant Argue With Stupitity!
3.an Eye for and Eye(and while your at it take 2)

HIEROPHANT
Apr 16, 2001, 02:23 AM
civ2 on psx take too much memory on the card.

VanillaCube
Apr 16, 2001, 02:59 AM
And it doesent take up memory on the com?

------------------
my words of wisdom

1.Square meals often make round people.
2.You Cant Argue With Stupitity!
3.an Eye for and Eye(and while your at it take 2)

thealien_83
Apr 24, 2001, 05:06 AM
Civ on PSX? No thank you. When I can play the lovely game at my comp I don't feel a need to ( IMHO ) "downgrade" to a PSX. The console just doesn't suit itself very well to strategy games, ESPECIALLY not turn-based ones such as Civ. And for the poor buggers who only own PSX's, I suppose it's good if they get a chance at Civ, but a computer is definitely to recommend...

VanillaCube
Apr 26, 2001, 06:41 PM
Originally posted by vladmir_illych_lenin:
Still not worth it.........You don't know what you're missing in multiplayer games and scenarios. In fact, the game sucks without multiplayer.


I have a link cable for the playstation so multiplayer is no problem!



------------------
my words of wisdom

1.Square meals often make round people.
2.You Cant Argue With Stupitity!
3.an Eye for and Eye(and while your at it take 2)

unknown_spirit
Apr 07, 2002, 02:29 PM
Hey, stop ganging up on Vanillacube! I have the PS version! It ain't as bad as u think! I dunno how u got the concept of it being slow. My PS1 is on it's last lasers and it still plays fast. Personally, I think the graphics are better for the ps version! It would be nice to make your own civs and maps, but hey, you can't have everything.:mad: :die!:

duke o' york
Apr 08, 2002, 05:53 AM
They stopped ganging up on VC about a year ago! Well, with regard to this issue ;).
I've only got PSX Civ 2 because my PC's knackered and it is fine to get my fix now and again, but it is phenomenally slow in the later game and you don't even get a world map! Not that I'm that concerned with that, as I don't like the world map, but it should have been made an option anyway. :(

unknown_spirit
Apr 08, 2002, 11:36 AM
I'm fairly new to civ, Duke.
Also, tell me that on the pc, on a large map of any type with the max no. of civs possible, you can have 67 ships active, with 32 cities constantly producing units (my military is huge) at a rate of one every turn, and I have to constantly go 'fortify....fortify....fortify....' every 2 seconds. Tell me that the pc game speed can keep up with that with no slowdown...:rolleyes:

sav
Apr 09, 2002, 07:11 PM
some of us play CIV on the playstation because it only costs $100 to buy one, yet it costs over $2000 to buy a computer... (nz money)

Smash
Apr 09, 2002, 07:31 PM
I hear its not the best cuz of turn times in later game and you can't d/l stuff but Civ on psx is better than no civ at all.:eek:

sav
Apr 09, 2002, 11:57 PM
yes, civ on psx is better than no civ at all. i put the pc version onto my flatmates oooolllddddd (thats 'very old') 486, and although the between turns time is quicker, the pieces move so slowly (even when on 'fast piece slide') it evens out.

though, fiddling with it on my friend's new computer... is there a smiley face with drool? AND the downloadable scenarios work! though playing the war on terrorism scenario as the afghans, i couldnt work out why i began with some cavalry outside NYC (size 10???) and why the UN needed to trade technologies with me...? Is Europe not as modern as weve been led to believe on BBC World? :p

duke o' york
Apr 10, 2002, 04:56 AM
I'm quite happy to play on PSX for as long as it takes me to save enough cash to get my PC fixed (this has been going on for years now and it's already out of date but heck :)).

I think that the cavalry are there so that you can attack NYC in the first turn and give some kind of justification for the war. If you just fortified them outside then that would sort of ruin the atmosphere don't you think? I reckon that they were chosen so that you could do some damage but had no real chance of taking the city - just like the real events. Just my interpretation. :)

Crazy_Vasey
Apr 21, 2002, 07:34 AM
Civ 2 on the PSX is unplayable when you get used to the speed of Civ2 on a decent PC. That and the resolution is so damned low and the UI is more clunky cos of using a pad.

duke o' york
Apr 22, 2002, 07:47 AM
It may be clunky but it's definitely intuitive. I haven't looked at the instruction booklet since buying it and although I played Civ 2 on the PC and knew various facets of the set-up, the controls were easy to pick up just by messing about. I really don't follow what you mean by clunky. I suppose that having to press the directional buttons to move across the map square by square can be annoying but you can just press trianlge and scroll quickly around. It's easy!

sav
Apr 23, 2002, 12:27 AM
wow, i didnt even know that. good old triangle button, eh? not that ive played in the past week. i borrowed my sister's sega, and have been playing lemmings...!

duke o' york
May 24, 2002, 03:31 AM
I finished my HoF (the duke's imaginary PSX HoF that is :)) game last night and noticed some unusual things towards the end.
The city limit on PSX is half that on the PC version of Civ 2, and I knew this beforehand, but I also found other oddities.
I started one turn about 2000ish with a population just below 2,640,000 and after all the cities had gone by, I finished the turn with a population of 2,450,000 or so. The computer had reached the barrier and just counted back from there so for the rest of the celebrations at the end of the game I bounced around just below the 264 limit (or is it 265?). Weird. I still got the population points for all the separate cities though and they continued to grow as normal but the total figure was all messed up.
When I launched the SS I decided to try and celebrate like crazy for the last 12 turns so I rejigged the sliders to 0%,40% and 60%. This caused another oddity. Even with 0% taxes, I had most of my cities on Capitalisation anyway so should have had a profit of about 1000g each turn (easily enough to buy any colosseums that might be needed if celebrating stopped anywhere) but my cash just dropped like a stone and I was down to my last 400g at one point, entirely regardless of what the sliders had told me. I still got a FT each turn :) but had to fiddle with the sliders and then reset them to where they were before at the end of each turn or else all my money flew away. :( I have no idea why this happened but it could have had disastrous consequences leading to the mass selling-off of improvements.

GenghisK
May 30, 2002, 04:00 PM
Holy cow :eek: this thread is still alive?? :) And that eternal fight between bright and dark side of the Force...
Well, I really wonder how cool it can be playing those kind of games in front of a 60Hz TV screen with a resolution much worse than a silly VGA. Seriously talking, I also tried Warcraft on PSX http://www.ifrance.com/genghisk/confused.gif Not that good either.

So duke, may I give you a wise tip ;) even a used computer can be fine to play Civ2. That's not that expensive. I think you can find decent P2-400Mhz for less than 150... Think again.

Oh and concerning VC bashing... yeah http://forums.civfanatics.com/image_uploads/movingfinger2.gif :D

starlifter
Jun 01, 2002, 08:33 AM
The PSX might have another advantage.... some people don't like using computers, and some parents won't let kids use them. Either way, seems like an alternative for some people. Its better than no Civ at all. I personally believe in the Cheap PC solution, however. But the Cheap PC solution is not really suitable for Civ 3, though...

http://www.civfanatics.com/uploads/america1s.jpg

philippe
Jun 01, 2002, 01:07 PM
i had civ2 on my psx
it was bad,ugly and slow
im now happy with civ3 on PC
oh god the psx sucks.
i threw it away by selling it to a stupid kid for 100euro
that kid was a moron:)
with that money i bought civ3 on pc

unknown_spirit
Jun 16, 2002, 07:57 AM
Nowt wrong with the PS. Sure, I wouldn't pay 100 Euros for it, mostly because I have one, but still... What's that worth in the good old British Pound? Anyway, I would expect civ3 on PC to be better than civ2 for PS. Need I explain why? No? I'll be off, then...

ferrarix310
Jun 28, 2002, 12:55 PM
I play civII on psx and i enjoy it. of course when i get a pc and start playing civIII or civII i might not like psx, but right now i like it.

starlifter
Jun 29, 2002, 03:15 AM
Welcome to CFC and Civ 2, ferrarix310! I see this is your 1st or 2nd post.

Hope you get a PC, and you can then download and play some games, like the GOTM (Game of the Month) with us. Civ 2 is much easier on the PC requirements than Civ 3, and some people prefer aspects of Civ 2. You don't need a PC to participate the the Civ 2 Democracy game (see the Deomcracy fourm!). All skill levels are welcome there, too...

:)