View Full Version : The correct date


pesgores
Sep 05, 2009, 07:22 AM
I am creating a scenario that is supposed to start in 1960.

I chose starting age to be Modern. I edited the WBS to starting year to be 1950. But when I tested it, it started in 7457 AD or something.

What number shall I put to make it start in 1960 now?

NotSoGood
Sep 05, 2009, 07:45 AM
The starting year you changed is actually when the game starts. You can find fewlines above the line:
GameTurn=0
Change your starting year to 1960 and GameTurn to zero. That should help.

pesgores
Sep 05, 2009, 08:34 AM
Thanks. ;)

pesgores
Sep 05, 2009, 09:14 AM
Waaaaait, it didn't work. It started again in 7000 AD. :(

NotSoGood
Sep 05, 2009, 09:21 AM
Hmm... :confused: That's odd. Could you post here your scenario?

pesgores
Sep 05, 2009, 09:38 AM
Sure, here it is:

http://rapidshare.com/files/276013822/Cold_War.CivBeyondSwordWBSave.html

It didn't let me attach here:confused: anyway check it out. I've put it to Game Turn 0 and Start Year 1960, still when you load it it comes out as 7857 AD.

NotSoGood
Sep 05, 2009, 10:04 AM
I think I found two ways to get it work.

1) Change the GameTurn to 1. And move StartYear back 25 years. For some reason the doesn't regonize the 0. Unfortunately every turn is now about 25 years. Not very realistic.

2) Depends on how many years you want every turn to be. We could move the starting year back and add more to GameTurns so we get something good. Because the GameSpeedInfo value changes as time goes on. It needs lots of work though.

pesgores
Sep 05, 2009, 11:44 AM
How do I do if I want it to stay like this and go 1 year at a time?

Maybe replace 0 with original turn number (487) and put start date back to 2000 BC.

About to try it...

pesgores
Sep 05, 2009, 11:52 AM
It gave 4000 years into the past...3897 or sort of.

But, when I tried 4000 BC, which would logically make it back to the original Modern Age number (1897), suddenly it's 5100 AD...

What the L????????

NotSoGood
Sep 05, 2009, 01:58 PM
Ok, I had to calculate a bit so it took some time. But try changing GameTurn to 430 and staring turn to -3880. It should work if the game turn number doesn't bother you. I can't come up with anything else without modding if your making just scenario.

pesgores
Sep 05, 2009, 02:01 PM
Will do...you tested it yourself?

NotSoGood
Sep 05, 2009, 02:03 PM
...just tested, it works. :beer:
Scenario starts in 1960 and one turn is one year. :) Anything else?

pesgores
Sep 05, 2009, 02:06 PM
Tested it...it worked!!!

Many, many, many tanks :D

I will credit you when I finish the scenario. I'll still need some further help, lol...

NotSoGood
Sep 05, 2009, 02:12 PM
Just let me know if you need more help. ;)
Little bit off-topic but what did you meant with: an Explorer with augmented strength that can attack. Sorry my bad english that I don't understand everything.

pesgores
Sep 05, 2009, 03:15 PM
What I meant was to develop an Explorer unit, that basicly can only defend, and has 4 Strength, into a 5 St that can attack.

Also, the next stage of development of the scenario is to distribute units, technologies and buildings in all cities in the world.

What I'll need next, when I finish the first draft of it, is for someone with more historical knowledge than me, to check it all out, and correct everything I could have failed heavily.