View Full Version : Civ5 Music


Churchill's Hat
Feb 27, 2010, 10:52 AM
Why don't they have some sort of mechanism for uploading music onto Civ 5 so you can customize your soundtrack? This would mean that you could allow people to use their own music, and you could customize it by era. Does anyone else think this is a good idea?

mechaerik
Feb 27, 2010, 11:03 AM
I don't.

I think its a great idea.

Newcomer24
Feb 27, 2010, 11:45 AM
I don't get it... wasn't this already in Civ 4?

mechaerik
Feb 27, 2010, 11:49 AM
All you could do was just direct it to a folder and it would start playing the music there. Similar, but not exactly the same.

Shiggs713
Feb 27, 2010, 11:54 AM
you can change every single sound in civ4 if you know how, and its really not that hard.

cyther
Feb 27, 2010, 01:34 PM
With modding your own soundtrack into the eras it would be possible. It only requires a bit of XML knowledge.

Also, if you want less control you could select a folder in options and civ4 would play the songs from there.

Newcomer24
Feb 27, 2010, 03:45 PM
All you could do was just direct it to a folder and it would start playing the music there. Similar, but not exactly the same.

By simply editing a couple of text files you can add any music you want and specify in which era they are to be played.

Gamemaster77
Mar 01, 2010, 06:10 AM
That would be cool if ciV came with all the previous versions of civ's soundtrack as well.

RPG
Mar 01, 2010, 06:21 AM
That would be cool if ciV came with all the previous versions of civ's soundtrack as well.

Totally agree!