View Full Version : Any way to get rid of reetirement year?

Nov 19, 2002, 11:35 AM
Is there any way to either reset the retirement year or even shut it off? I have version 1.29f. I hate getting my civ built up and then having to retire!


Nov 19, 2002, 11:46 AM
Well, in the scenario, you can make it so you can play by months and weeks, that should slow it down enough.

Nov 19, 2002, 12:50 PM
Actually, changing it to months and weeks has no effect on how long the game plays. The game length is dictated by the number of turns, whether each turn is called a month, a week, or a year. I don't have the editor here at work, but I'm pretty sure you can set the # of turns to a higher number. That will lengthen the game.

Nov 19, 2002, 03:24 PM
You can set it to 1000 turns which will nearly double the length of the game.

Nov 19, 2002, 07:37 PM
Isn't their also a way to change the number turns in the game without using the editor? I thought I saw something for that on one of the setup screens.

Nov 19, 2002, 07:56 PM
Yup, all you do is click the "game limits" button on the setup screen, and you can have as many turns as you want in the game.

Nov 19, 2002, 09:17 PM
I thought you have to have PTW to set the number of turns. Hutch has version 1.29f.

Nov 19, 2002, 09:19 PM
Originally posted by willj
I thought you have to have PTW to set the number of turns. Hutch has version 1.29f.

Whoops. Sorry, didnt see that.

Nov 19, 2002, 11:01 PM
Download Gramphos C3MT, you can change the amount of turns through there. Just click on the second tab and enter the year you want to retire. When you save the file it'll reflect the amount of turns you now have.

There was a discussion about this: