View Full Version : Any way to get rid of reetirement year?


hutch4968
Nov 19, 2002, 11:35 AM
Is there any way to either reset the retirement year or even shut it off? I have version 1.29f. I hate getting my civ built up and then having to retire!

Thanks
Ed

WildFire
Nov 19, 2002, 11:46 AM
Well, in the scenario, you can make it so you can play by months and weeks, that should slow it down enough.

Sparrowhawk
Nov 19, 2002, 12:50 PM
Actually, changing it to months and weeks has no effect on how long the game plays. The game length is dictated by the number of turns, whether each turn is called a month, a week, or a year. I don't have the editor here at work, but I'm pretty sure you can set the # of turns to a higher number. That will lengthen the game.

warpstorm
Nov 19, 2002, 03:24 PM
You can set it to 1000 turns which will nearly double the length of the game.

Miriya13
Nov 19, 2002, 07:37 PM
Isn't their also a way to change the number turns in the game without using the editor? I thought I saw something for that on one of the setup screens.

Silverflame
Nov 19, 2002, 07:56 PM
Yup, all you do is click the "game limits" button on the setup screen, and you can have as many turns as you want in the game.

WillJ
Nov 19, 2002, 09:17 PM
I thought you have to have PTW to set the number of turns. Hutch has version 1.29f.

Silverflame
Nov 19, 2002, 09:19 PM
Originally posted by willj
I thought you have to have PTW to set the number of turns. Hutch has version 1.29f.

Whoops. Sorry, didnt see that.

hbdragon88
Nov 19, 2002, 11:01 PM
Download Gramphos C3MT, you can change the amount of turns through there. Just click on the second tab and enter the year you want to retire. When you save the file it'll reflect the amount of turns you now have.

There was a discussion about this: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=30104&highlight=retirement