View Full Version : New Napoleon Era Scenario!


Buddha2723
Jan 15, 2011, 02:40 PM
Play as French or British superpowers, or the major powers of Prussia, Russia, or the Ottomans. Map of Europe and Mediterrainean based on Henry's Europe 1.7. French start very unhappy, courtesy of 'The Terror'.

This map would be a good starting point for someone looking to create a WWI scenario, something I don't plan on doing. Comments welcome. Look for it on the modhub under renaissance and industrial scenarios.

Known issues to be resolved in next version: General balancing.

*Current version 6 beta(3/12/2011) available modhub and here as zip-> http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=16751

YourDeath/TSAR
Jan 15, 2011, 04:15 PM
screenshots and links please, sounds cool!

Buddha2723
Jan 16, 2011, 03:14 PM
https://sourceforge.net/projects/buddha2723/files/ is for this map and other scenario maps. I had trouble getting the modhub file to work easily. I had to copy the map from the mods/napoleon folder to the civ 5/maps folder in documents/my games. Use the sourceforge file and copy it to the maps directory if modhub gives you any trouble.

You can find the original blank map here_ http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=15556 _.

Pics are from the perspective of Great Britain.

Buddha2723
Jan 16, 2011, 03:15 PM
In this scenario you could recreate Napoleons early campaigns in Italy and the middle east. Pics are from the perspective of Great Britain.

henryMCVII
Jan 17, 2011, 02:20 AM
Great Idea! I will try this as soon as possible. ;)

Sadly (I guess) the techrace will go on here. I personally would love to play Scenarios/Mods without Techrace - or just with fitting Technologies aviabale.

Buddha2723
Jan 17, 2011, 11:15 AM
Scenario is default set to marathon, so it takes a long time to get to industrial on that setting. Haven't tested it through to the end, but epic or marathon are probably much more realistic for this scenario.

lenin1917
Jan 17, 2011, 06:46 PM
Seems really great scenario i give it a try but some element bug me

Very important country of the coalition like Prussia and Austria cant join the war against Napoléon? I think it will be greater if you do not put permanent war or peace.

Secondly why you dont use the Spanish empire?

But in overall its seems very good!

Oh and its really great to play with call to power mod, I make a scenario that use this mod its Imperialisme 1885 A.D in the scenario thread if you want to try it. :)
sry for my english :)

Buddha2723
Jan 17, 2011, 08:30 PM
New version, two tweaks, now on sourceforge '1804' version. *Also uploaded to modhub, version 3 alpha.

Permanent war or peace has not been working right. I don't want Britain and France to be able to be at peace ever, but none of the options I try is working right. I tried with and without this option checked, but England offered me peace in my French test, and everyone offered peace in my Ottoman test, and they have permanent war selected in the options box. I have no fix as of right now.

As for Spain, the Iroquois represent them, I made playable the five leaders in pop, production, and gold. Spain was for the most part a pawn of France and did little on the wider European stage. I am adding an 1804 version to sourceforge with the perm. war/peace removed and Iroquois renamed Spanish civ. To get them to be actually Spanish, I would have to include a mod with this on the modhub. All are welcome to rework my map into a mod if they want, but it's a little beyond me.

YourDeath/TSAR
Jan 24, 2011, 12:51 PM
wowowowo, one very disapointing thing, austria hungary should be a playable faction!! it was a major country during the war!! u can make it germany with brown as colour and name it austria-hungary.

another thing, northern italy was french by then, and all the southern german city states should be allies of france. u should also add spain. looks goot!

wats with the coral reefs next to holland?

last thing, make gibraltar british, it was a important british base!

Sorry for the critisism, but if u inprove these 3 points, i will download the scenario!

Buddha2723
Jan 24, 2011, 06:55 PM
Beta version up(Napoleon1795). Added Austrians and made them and Spain playable civs. Permanent war between Brits and the French removed. Major happiness and minor balance changes as well. Changed the date to 1795 to accurately represent the state of the map(I think). Changed max turns from 500 to 1000. Raging barbarians removed. Great Barrier Reef moved.

wowowowo, one very disapointing thing, austria hungary should be a playable faction!! it was a major country during the war!! u can make it germany with brown as colour and name it austria-hungary.

another thing, northern italy was french by then, and all the southern german city states should be allies of france. u should also add spain. looks goot!

wats with the coral reefs next to holland?

last thing, make gibraltar british, it was a important british base!

Sorry for the critisism, but if u inprove these 3 points, i will download the scenario!

Thanks for the comments and suggestions. Coral reefs were included in the base map, as with all natural wonders. I moved them to American waters so they do not interfere with European navies. I gave more territory around Gibraltar to the British, so only allies and enemies of the Brits can use the strait of Gibraltar, but I don't want the British able to buy units in southern Spain, as historically they landed in north Spain, and Portugal. Gibraltar was a superfortress, but was not an industrial center or a base used to launch invasions. You can always use world builder to add a British base there yourself, if it is a huge sticking point for your own enjoyment.

Buddha2723
Jan 26, 2011, 03:23 AM
Version 5(1/26/2011) is now up, actually making the scenario a bit of a mod. To keep musketmen and the like around longer, there is now an xml file modding 12 techs(3 columns) to be much more expensive. Up now on the modhub. Get the two necessary files(the two 'nap' files) on sourceforge ( https://sourceforge.net/projects/buddha2723/files/ ) and compile the mod yourself with modbuddy.

Buddha2723
Jan 26, 2011, 03:26 AM
Pics showing the starting state of the French as of beta version 2

Buddha2723
Jan 26, 2011, 05:49 PM
Napoleon's chief rivals, the British and Prussians who defeated him at Waterloo, and the Russians who made the victory possible by nearly annihilating the 'Grand Army' in Russia. Pics from betas v4 and v5.

Shmulik
Feb 01, 2011, 08:22 AM
Downloaded the file and I'm playing it through as the French. Like it much, just two things to consider tweaking. First, the dates are way off, they seem to be moving at the same speed as if the game had started at 4000 B.C., so by turn 100 I'm in the 3700s AD. Kind of jarring.

Second little thing, Greek cities. You should rename Sparta to Thessalonica or Salonica or however you wish, as where you have Sparta is pretty much exactly that city, which is much more important to modern Greece anyhow (second largest in the country).

Update: Once I break out of the Renaissance into the Industrial era, EVERY TECH requires only 1 turn to research. =\

Updated Update: I think I've figured out what happened. Techs are slowly costing reasonable amounts of time again. I think it may have been the artificial buildup of research that you forced onto the last few renaissance techs, which spilled over and essentially bought the first couple of industrial techs in a turn a piece. So perhaps reexamine how you lengthened the renaissance.

lenin1917
Feb 01, 2011, 03:48 PM
To Shmulik
Go on the thread of max riga scenario WWI or WWII he have a mod that correct the dates

sry for my bad english :)

Art Grin
Feb 02, 2011, 05:45 AM
Nice scenario, but you should make Algeria, Tunisia and Libya part of the Ottoman empire. The French conquered Algeria after Napoleon in 1830 and Tunis was conquered at the end of the 19th century.;)

Buddha2723
Mar 12, 2011, 04:58 PM
New version 6 beta(3/12/2011) fixes date bug and tech race, disabling or increasing the cost of later techs.

TheHolyPilgrim
Mar 12, 2011, 05:58 PM
Firstly, I'd like to say that your scenarios look quite interesting and that I can't wait to see how they play out in-game :)

Secondly, for your screenshots, may I recommend FRAPS? It's a free software that not only can record videos and take screenshots (without watermarks might I add), but you can customize the key-binding so you can use it in any game and you can choose where you want to save your screenshots. It's by far my favorite tool for taking screenshots in any of my games

Alexastor
Mar 14, 2011, 03:31 AM
Civ also takes screenshots with the printscreen key, you can find them in the MyGames folder.

Ddude97
Mar 14, 2011, 06:36 PM
You can also use f12 if you want to use the steam system, I think it even saves them in jpeg form
Edit: I reccomend to use search in the Steam/userdata folder to find the screenshots if you want to use them (search screenshots and should come up with a folder named screenshots, I can't give directory because I believe its slightly customized for your account number

Mr. Sulu
Jun 17, 2011, 08:29 AM
Would definitely try this IF downloads worked on my computer. Still, great work! Always wanted to see this scenario.

That nerdy kid
Oct 17, 2011, 02:16 PM
umm. maybe its the mods i have on, but prussia starts with 22 unhappiness...


maybe boost it up to like 5 unhappiness?

rock_star
Nov 23, 2011, 07:58 PM
I just gave this one a try, and found I can DOW everyone but the U.S. If I can't take Washington, how am I supposed to win? Time Victory? All the other civs can be DOW'ed (and I have done so eagerly :)), but I can't declare on Jefferson, so I know I can't get a domination victory, and culture and Space Race aren't happening in this mod. I recommend allowing ware with the US or removing them as a major power and doing them as a multi-city city state (like you did with Lisboa/Oporto). (Plus, they beat me to Big Ben, and I had no way of capturing it to get it back.)

Stuttgart also seemed to be dually aligned with me (France) and Austria. Despite being at allied status with them, I was informed that entering their territory would mean war with Austria. Eventually, the Habsburgs made a play for my culture-gifting city states, so I had to go to war with Austria-Hungary, which led to the announcement that Darius/Almaty had declared war on Darius/Almaty.

Also, disabling settlers for the AI would be nice. I noticed Persepolis and Pasagardae in the Carpathians and Vladivostock as a Black Sea port.

Some of these things might be bugs, but I figured I'd report them just in case they could be recreated. Otherwise, fun stuff. There's something immensely satisfying about getting the Grande Armée through the Russian marshes and watching as immense swathes of land fall to me. However, the ability to raze cities should be in the mod so Russia can sell its buildings and burn its cities as Napoleon approaches. ;)