View Full Version : Immortal University 67 - Stalin


Habitus
Nov 18, 2011, 06:57 AM
Greetings, Immortals and would-be Immortals (and indeed any other players of any level), and welcome to the Immortal University.

Here is our Leader:

http://img39.imageshack.us/img39/772/iu67stalin0000.jpg

Here's the opening scene:

http://img89.imageshack.us/img89/5540/iu67stalinstart0000.jpg

First Map rolled with the following settings:

http://img40.imageshack.us/img40/8301/iu67stalinsettings0000.jpg

Have fun all

Habitus
Nov 18, 2011, 07:03 AM
So, 2N tech AH for Sheep + Pigs and a 2:hammers: city tile losing fresh water and 1 turn, or settle in place?

2S is unforested and with all the forest around them looks like it could be a resource, as does 1N for same reason, 1N is kept and 2S could be picked up with second city.

The snow covered forest to north means were in the north part of map and i can spy tundra in the NW corner were the plains hill is, so our settling looks to be main to south (maybe 1 city to north if anything nice around sheep if we settle in place).

Anyone see anything else from starting SS?

Knightly_
Nov 18, 2011, 07:20 AM
There is no forest SE/SE :). 1S -> settling towards AIs is likely, worst case costs you two hills (3H plains forest hills and 1E of pigs). 1SE keeps one of those hills but worst case you lose a lot of forests for early chops. Man the scout is in such a terrible position... well i would gamble and go 1SE.

Whats it with the mapscript? Terra maps are pretty big arent they? Is there something like an old/new world feature?

Knightly_

edit:typo

Habitus
Nov 18, 2011, 07:31 AM
Yeah its all civs in old world, with a new world reachable over ocean, often have islands that can be galley reachable thou just as often blocked off by too much ocean. Old world is often around 75% size of a pangea, with new world about half the size of a pangea. Often chock points as well to block off land so scouting to see if anything like that is somewhat important.

Makes Domination abit harder due to the extra land, good spot on the 2SE :) Yeah, I didn't talk about scout at all as its just no help at all for deciding on where to settle. 1SE looks interesting, as makes a couple of cities to north more likely, if AIs are close that could be important.

Tempesta13
Nov 18, 2011, 07:36 AM
SIP, skip agriculture and go AH-BW????

Terra map info:

http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpost.php?p=6037234&postcount=4

JammerUno
Nov 18, 2011, 10:02 AM
Terra is terrible, the mapsizes are one size larger, and it usually blocks earlier domination and conquest victories.

Habitus
Nov 18, 2011, 10:13 AM
Domination yes, Conquest not really, bigger map and more land but most of the extra land is in the new world and so doesn't affect Early Conquest victories (post Astronomy isn't early :) )

obsolete
Nov 18, 2011, 02:29 PM
I never heard any good things about Terra, but let's see...

vranasm
Nov 18, 2011, 02:42 PM
I never heard any good things about Terra, but let's see...

as I got it, terra is considered Pangea in disguise by some

mtr12
Nov 18, 2011, 03:25 PM
Will play on Emperor/Normal once midterms are over.

Does IMM as a default level mean that the AI starts with an extra Settler?


As for Terra, well, the way I see it is that it's basically Pangaea with all the civs crammed together.

Habitus
Nov 18, 2011, 03:28 PM
No, only Deity starts with an extra Settler, iirc Emp - Imm is basically an extra Archer + Agri + possible a worker (i think Emp gets the worker anyway)

kossin
Nov 18, 2011, 03:52 PM
Emperor: units
Immortal: units+worker
Deity: units+worker+settler

Habitus
Nov 18, 2011, 04:03 PM
Thanks kossin :) after my sgotm turnset, game 6 of the challenger, and probably the botm I'll play this one :)

obsolete
Nov 18, 2011, 10:09 PM
Time to quit while ahead...

http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/3377/libd.png
http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/5360/atthc.png
http://img689.imageshack.us/img689/4403/ripja.png

GenerallyGreat
Nov 18, 2011, 10:47 PM
I'm going to look at a few terra maps to check this out. Is scout to pigs a good move?

GenerallyGreat
Nov 18, 2011, 11:03 PM
Looks like the script is a bit bigger than a usual pangea with civs nearly always being within close range of the coast to allow access to the new world I guess. It also seems to have sloppy spacing for that reason. I hope we don't have someone like Jao or the alien with room for 18 cites.

PeteJ
Nov 18, 2011, 11:55 PM
125 ad:


I SIPed here after spotting the second pig and went AH>wheel>BW>Ag>pottery>writing. I decided not to go for any early wonders and instead focused on expanding. I picked up some pyramids fail gold to help get my economy rolling again. I ended up building TGL and the Parthenon, as well as grabbing some SoZ fail gold. I currently also have the Shwedagon Paya almost completely built in 2 different cities. Diplo wise, I gifted Genghis a city early in the game to help keep him from attacking me. I currently have the whole world at war with each other so I'm free to go for lib. My next move is to win music, tech COL, bulb philo, then start a golden age and farm some more scientists to bulb towards lib. I'll probably go the MT route since I have horses and I already have music. Taj Mahal would be nice as well.


Some screenshots:

East:
http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/620/civ4screenshot0071o.jpg

West:
http://img440.imageshack.us/img440/5787/civ4screenshot0072.jpg

Tech:
http://img210.imageshack.us/img210/6239/civ4screenshot0073v.jpg

This game has been a bloodbath since I picked up alphabet:http://img828.imageshack.us/img828/3751/civ4screenshot0074.jpg

mtr12
Nov 19, 2011, 01:17 PM
How did Genghis capture Yerkaterinburg, but is Pleased with you (so I'm assuming no war happened)?

PeteJ
Nov 19, 2011, 01:23 PM
How did Genghis capture Yerkaterinburg, but is Pleased with you (so I'm assuming no war happened)?

It was a gift city. I placed it before I knew iron working.

PeteJ
Nov 20, 2011, 12:59 PM
1665ad conquest

After winning music, I went for CS then headed for lib. After bulbing philo and building the MoM, I used a golden age to farm a bunch of scientists. I ended up bulbing education, printing press, and chemistry. I grabbed MT with lib in 760ad and declared on justinian in 1060ad. After vassaling him I upgraded a bunch of curs into cossacks and went after the rest of the continent starting with Genghis.


http://img818.imageshack.us/img818/8476/civ4screenshot0075t.jpg


http://img838.imageshack.us/img838/6758/civ4screenshot0076q.jpg

krikav
Nov 22, 2011, 02:27 AM
Is this a save, or a scenario?
If it's a save, can I somehow change the speed to marathon?

I have been looking at stalin for some time now, agg+industrious would be a fun combination to play. Looking forward to playing this one. :)

Knightly_
Nov 22, 2011, 03:10 AM
Perhaps you can load the save, open worldbuilder, save as scenario and then start a custom scenario. Just an idea, i dont know if you can change the speed then.

I finished my Stalin game yesterday:

I made my capital into a decent HR cottage capital and went the well known great lib into lib route (got marble from someone). On the way some scientists/merchants and lots of wonderful 82.5 failgold/chop from resource/trait/civic. Like PeteJ i also libed MT, then went for cuirassier into cossacks and, like one would say, "roflstomped" the world. However because of the tech situation my route was Mehmed, Monty, Alex, Justinian, Kahn, Sitting Bull. I think there were only 5 or 6 cities founded in the new world. While it wasnt on purpose i finished the game exactly like PeteJ did: 1665 Conquest. Some screens are going to follow this evening.

Knightly_

Knightly_
Nov 22, 2011, 01:18 PM
Hey,
some screens from my game (took fewer screenshots that i had in mind):


Cash-in time from SoZ failure gold:
http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/7458/civ4screenshot0262.jpg

A world wonder made of wood:
http://img267.imageshack.us/img267/6849/civ4screenshot0264.jpg

1070AD after i picked MT from lib. I am currently in a golden age from Taj Mahal. About 450 bpt are from my capital, also the city on the right side is starving for gpp production:
http://img690.imageshack.us/img690/2394/civ4screenshot0267.jpg

How to mop up Mehmeds stack... it worked out pretty good. Both did annihilate most of their main stacks:
http://img257.imageshack.us/img257/5843/civ4screenshot0268.jpg

...so i could walk in and:
http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/5494/civ4screenshot0269t.jpg

Then i attacked Monty (no screens from that) and the next dude. My starting odds were pretty good:
http://img522.imageshack.us/img522/679/civ4screenshot0270x.jpg

And 6 turns later he capitulated. Im in my 3rd golden age, got the free merchant from economics and switched into full war civics (free market, bureau into vassalage) for the rest of the game:
http://img809.imageshack.us/img809/6944/civ4screenshot0271.jpg

Win in 1665AD. I declared against Kahn and Sitting Bull simultaneously and gifted all techs to my vassals. I wanted them to cap Sitting Bull for me but it didnt work out until i captured a city myself. I guess war success from your vasssals does not count.
http://img580.imageshack.us/img580/2659/civ4screenshot0272.jpg

Greetings Knightly_

krikav
Nov 23, 2011, 02:15 AM
Perhaps you can load the save, open worldbuilder, save as scenario and then start a custom scenario. Just an idea, i dont know if you can change the speed then.
Knightly_

I tried this process, and it seemed to work, however after 500 turns (at around 400 AD?)
So something was clearly faulty.

krikav
Nov 23, 2011, 02:21 AM
My game:

There was alot of warmongerer, so this was bound to be a slaughterfest!

Got worried when Khan was boxed in by me, but for some reason he decided to not build much troops and instead build both the great wall AND the pyramids.
I massed a army early (axes) and pacified Khan.

My economy took a great toll from this venture however, since the two cities I decided to keep was so far away from my capital.

I also had little commerce, and did not reach currency.
Got too far behind and decided to declare myself a loser.

The map was abit too roomy for my taste, was I just "lucky" to get a big chunk of land, or is the Terra mapscript biased toward more land / civ?

GenerallyGreat
Nov 23, 2011, 04:49 AM
My short story:
My first attempt ended when I didn't notice Khan's red fist as I was watching what Mehmed was doing with his war preparations. Rage quit at about 1500BC. I replayed and won conquest at 1600AD with cavs. Checking that nobody was getting astro and building colonies was the only thing that made this different to a pangea.

GGracchus
Nov 23, 2011, 05:20 AM
@GenerallyGreat

Colonies? Why build colonies? You get more pop/land from cities that are yours instead of a vassal's.

GenerallyGreat
Nov 23, 2011, 06:22 AM
@GenerallyGreat

Colonies? Why build colonies? You get more pop/land from cities that are yours instead of a vassal's.

Oh no I meant looking out for AI that might start a colony requiring boat building to kill off. That would suck as it could possibly slow down conquest.

GGracchus
Nov 23, 2011, 07:30 AM
Oh no I meant looking out for AI that might start a colony requiring boat building to kill off. That would suck as it could possibly slow down conquest.

That makes much more sense. Thanks for the clarification.

King Pluto
Nov 23, 2011, 07:32 AM
I tried this process, and it seemed to work, however after 500 turns (at around 400 AD?)
So something was clearly faulty.

There is a line in the WB file that has "MaxTurns" or something to that effect. It gets saved to 500 if the WB file is saved from a Normal save. Set it to 1500 for Marathon, or 0 so that it's compatible with any speed, and then re-save it.

GGracchus
Nov 23, 2011, 08:48 AM
I tried this process, and it seemed to work, however after 500 turns (at around 400 AD?)
So something was clearly faulty.

Try looking at This (http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=322396&highlight=TMIT) guide and the accompanying video.

krikav
Dec 02, 2011, 09:08 AM
There, I think I got it now! :)

I'm attaching a save for maraton speed, just in case someone else also want to play.

krikav
Dec 02, 2011, 03:52 PM
I think I have troubles balancing units and tech in this game.

First I tried a few aproaches by getting stonehenge in my second village toward the border against Memed .

That was a good idea... I think. However, I had troubles with barbarians.
When I ignored stonehenge, I had a better time, built a bunch of warriors and spawnbusted heavily.

I went AH first, and it seems like there is lightyears to fare from AH -> BW when you then need to fill upp with pottery and writing. :(