View Full Version : Slave Raids: How to do them


Sims2789
May 15, 2003, 05:48 PM
I am not rascist, I do not hate gays, women or people of other races. In real life, I do not support slavery. However, in Civ3, unlike in real life, using captured workers has a positive affect. What you do is load a transport with units with a hidden nationality (such as Guerilla or Ghost Rider). If you don't have PTW(like me, since I'm cheap), you can download a different version of the Guerilla at www.civ3files.com. What you do is put the Guerilla's near the enemy coast, and have one of them pillage a square. Then move them all onto the adjacent square(the one next to the square you pillaged). Wait for as long as you want(but don't let the enemy Workers finish rebuilding the terrain). Capture the workers, then send them back to your transport. If you want, you can also have a transport for Guerilla's so that the enemy's Modern Armor dosen't mow down your Guerilla's, or you could use the extra Guerilla's to capture a border city(if you share a land border) or a coastal city.
________
Starcraft Ii Replays (http://screplays.com/replays)

Bouchehog
May 16, 2003, 06:13 PM
I've never used these units (not had the time to play since getting PTW) but this sounds rather cunning. :) I tend to do the same thing if I want to go to war and the enemy has a colony connected by a road outside their area of influence. Simply pillage the road with a unit, wait for the workers to show up, declare war and caputure a shed load of them. It works particularly well if the colony as at the far side of your territory, so that the AI wastes resources trying to recapture his slaves and diverts his military away from our border. :)

Sullla
May 17, 2003, 03:20 PM
Guerillas do not have the "hidden nationality" ability unless you have modded to game to that effect. I don't even have a clue what the Ghost Rider is. The only unit with hidden nationality in unmodified Civ3 is the privateer; there is a reason for this, since the AI doesn't know how to cope with such units. While this is an interesting idea, it's not all that useful unless you're modding the game quite a bit.

Hygro
May 21, 2003, 12:01 AM
I have a similiar idea elsewher in this subforum, go over there (hah I steal your readers sims!)

Hygro
May 21, 2003, 12:02 AM
I have a similiar idea elsewher in this subforum, go over there (hah I steal your readers, sims!)

Peter Harris
May 22, 2003, 08:35 PM
I believe the use of hidden natioality units annoy the victim AI civ so relations would deteriorate to "furious" rather quickly.

Secondly, slave raids can be profitable sometimes but can easily turn out to be more trouble then they are worth.

The AI seems to have some difficulty handling hidden nationality units effectively this slave raiding proposal seems a bit of an "exploit".

Peter Harris
May 22, 2003, 08:37 PM
Originally posted by Hygro
I have a similiar idea elsewher in this subforum, go over there (hah I steal your readers, sims!)

If it is the swapping marines for slave workers thread then it woulf be better not to go there. Bad trade.

Tarwoch
Jun 05, 2003, 05:19 AM
I don't like capturing slaves without declaring a war for the reasons Peter Harris explained.If your enemy is on an island or a continent, use MAs to capture workers and cities with them, then load workers on transports and unload them on your country's beaches.

Sukenis
Jun 11, 2003, 08:59 AM
I just pick a civ and go to town on them. If you are in the early game stages and can hide it from unknown civs, raze all cities you take and resettle them with your own settlers.

Or move units close to th other cis capital just before you plan on making peace. Then demand all the works the other civ has as part of the deal. I have gotten 8 workers in one pop this way.

Early wars are the best slave raids.

LotrRules
Jun 25, 2003, 09:11 AM
slave raids are great ideas.I remember in one game I built two workers in the early going.Then I conquered the Iroquis, the Americans and a large part of Egpyt I had over 30 workers :soldier:

frekk
Jun 27, 2003, 06:53 AM
Do marines work for slave raids? You could unload right onto a stack of workers and run away with them! Of course you would lose the marine, but two or three workers that require no upkeep or can be added to population are better, imho. An escort ship could bombard improvements to attract workers.

Hygro
Jun 27, 2003, 07:13 PM
frekk, I wrote another article here on how to do slave raids with marines, using the tactics you described. Though its mostly theoretical, check it out

jkp1187
Sep 02, 2004, 07:06 AM
This isn't that helpful for those of us trying to play within the existing rules....

Hygro
Sep 02, 2004, 06:42 PM
but mine is ;)

jkp1187
Sep 02, 2004, 06:45 PM
Yeah, but you should be awash in workers by the time Marines are available....

Hmm...wait a minute....

(Suddenly gets a great idea about why playing the Vikings might, just might, rock.)

Buwyse
Sep 04, 2004, 08:48 PM
This seems a little strange. First of all, guerillas do not have hidden nationality by default. Second, whenever I am at war with an enemy I always take whatever I can including their workers. War, especially just for workers, hurts your reputation. Ahhhhh my reputation!!!