View Full Version : Secret Polic HQ Increases Corruption??

Nov 15, 2003, 01:56 PM
I am playing a standard epic game on a large map. I switched to Communism and then built the SPHQ. This increased my corruption significantly. Is there some trick to using the SPHQ?

Here is my income and the city before I built the SPHQ.

Here is my income and city after building the SPHQ.

And finally here is my map of the world. My palace in in red, the FP is in green and the SPHQ is in yellow.

EDIT: Anyone know why the images don't show up. I uploaded them to the server and then included the 'img' command with this url ""?

Ah hah! It is case sensitive.

Nov 15, 2003, 05:43 PM
Maybe the police themselves are corrupt? "If you can't trust the Gestapo, who can you trust?"

I also noticed that after it was built, your nation's entire income dropped by about 250 gold and your research is taking 4 turns longer. It looks like your corruption gained by about 300 bucks.

WHY it did so is a mystery. What exactly does the SPHQ do again?

Nov 15, 2003, 07:46 PM
Secret Police Headquarters

It's a known bug. It also does it for the FP.

Nov 17, 2003, 02:10 AM
check the 'corruption issues' thread in this forum. :(

Nov 18, 2003, 04:38 PM
One word: Absurd!

Nov 19, 2003, 01:49 AM
Originally posted by Mercade
One word: Absurd!

Make that : "One word : Bug !" :)

Nov 19, 2003, 09:12 AM
I prefer "Incompetence"

BTW I thought there was a big beta program for this release. Maybe I was wrong :)

Edit: Just to be clear. I'm not accusing the beta testers of incompetence. They were only testers and, obviously, didn't play any part in the coding process. It would be interesting to know if these bugs were in the beta but Atari's lawyers will no doubt prevent any such disclosure.


Nov 19, 2003, 01:00 PM
I was not in the Beta, but my understanding is that this bug arrived between the beta tests and the launch of the product.