View Full Version : New patch 1.02 for French version


Vortex
Nov 27, 2003, 05:41 AM
I've not found other version in US part of the ATARI Site

http://www.fr.atari.com//?pg=game_detail&productID=240

************************************************** ********
SID MEIER'S CIVILIZATION III: Conquests README (LISEZ-MOI)
************************************************** ********
v1.02

Ce fichier contient des renseignements utiles, des
informations de dernière minute et le descriptif de
certaines fonctions intégrées après la rédaction du
manuel et la création de l'aide en ligne.

N'oubliez pas de venir faire un tour sur le site www.civilization3.com !


I - CONFIGURATION EXIGEE
II - NIVEAUX SONORES
III - DIRECTX ET COMPATIBILITE
IV - CAPACITES DE LA CARTE GRAPHIQUE
V - CAPACITE DU DISQUE DUR
VI - ASSISTANCE TECHNIQUES
VII - REMARQUES COMPLEMENTAIRES
VIII - ACCORD DE LICENCE DE L'UTILISATEUR FINAL


I - CONFIGURATION EXIGEE
------------------------
CONFIGURATION EXIGEE
Système d'exploitation : Windows(r) 98/Me/2000/XP
Processeur : Pentium(r) II 400 MHz
Mémoire vive : 64 Mo de RAM (128 Mo recommandés)
Disque dur : 400 Mo d'espace disponible (en plus des 600 Mo nécessaires pour Civilization III)
Lecteur CD-ROM Drive : vitesse 4X ou supérieure
Carte graphique : carte graphique* compatible Windows(r) 98/Me/2000/XP
Carte son : carte son* Windows(r) 98/Me/2000/XP
DirectX(r) : DirectX(r) version 8.1 (incluse) ou ultérieure
Connexion à Internet ou à un réseau local nécessaire pour certains modes multijoueurs.
Connexion Internet à haut débit recommandée pour les parties comprenant 5 à 8 joueurs.
Microphone nécessaire pour les échanges vocaux
* compatible avec DirectX(r) version 8.1 ou ultérieure.


II - NIVEAUX SONORES
--------------------
Les différents niveaux sonores ont été réglés de façon optimale pour le jeu.
Toutefois, si ces niveaux de réglage sonore ne vous conviennent pas,
vous pouvez les modifier grâce au système audio de Windows.

Depuis le Bureau, allez dans Démarrer/Programmes/Accessoires/
Divertissement/Contrôle du volume.
Réglez le volume comme vous le souhaitez.

Depuis le menu principal de Civilization III: Conquests, sélectionnez Préférences.
Réglez ensuite le volume à l'aide des curseurs de musique et d'effets audio.


III - DIRECTX ET COMPATIBILITE
------------------------------
Si vous voulez jouer à "Civilization3: Conquests", les pilotes
de Microsoft DirectX 9.0b doivent être installés sur votre système
et fonctionner correctement. Vous devrez relancer le programme
d'installation de Civilization III: Conquests à l'issue de l'installation
de DirectX 9.0b.

Si vous rencontrez des difficultés avec DirectX 9.0b, prenez contact
avec le fabricant de votre carte graphique ou de votre carte son pour
obtenir les pilotes les plus récents.


IV - CAPACITES DE LA CARTE GRAPHIQUE
------------------------------------
Votre carte graphique ainsi que les pilotes logiciels doivent être
compatibles avec DirectX 8.1.
Si vous rencontrez des problèmes d'affichage, prenez contact avec
le fabricant de votre carte afin d'obtenir la documentation et
les pilotes les plus récents pour celle-ci.


V - CAPACITE DU DISQUE DUR ET TAILLE DU FICHIER D'ECHANGE
---------------------------------------------------------

Indépendamment du type d'installation choisi pour "Civilization3:
Conquests", vous devez obligatoirement disposer d'au moins 400 Mo
d'espace disponible sur votre disque dur avant de lancer le jeu.
Si votre espace disque est insuffisant, vous risquez de
rencontrer des problèmes d'affichage et/ou de plantage.
Pour des performances maximales, assurez-vous de disposer d'au
moins 600 Mo d'espace libre avant de lancer "Civilization3: Conquests".


VI - TECH SUPPORT
-----------------
TECHNICAL SUPPORT (U.S. & Canada)

Help Via the Internet
Up-to-the-minute technical information about Atari products is generally available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week via the Internet at:

http://www.atarisupport.com

Through this site youll have access to our FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) documents, our FTP (File Transfer Protocol) area where you can download patches if needed, our Hints/Cheat Codes if they’re available, and an E-Mail area where you can get help and ask questions if you do not find your answers within the FAQ.

Note: In the event we must send you a Hint Sheet, FAQ document, patch or update disc via E-mail, we may require verifiable consent from a parent or guardian in order to protect children’s privacy and safety online. Consent Forms are available at the web site listed above.
Help Via Telephone in the United States & Canada

For phone assistance, call Atari Technical Support at (425) 951-7108. Our Interactive Voice Response system is generally available 24/7, providing automated support solutions immediately.

Great News! We've improved our Automated Systems so that you can get product-specific Troubleshooting help more quickly. All you need to do is enter the products Part # when prompted to do so. This will take you directly to all of our known issues and solutions for this title. The products Part # is located in several places (on the CD label, package and/or plastic disc case) and is usually identified by a number such as 04-12345. When prompted by the Automated System, enter the last five digits of your products Part #. (For example, Part # 04-12345 would require that you enter the 12345 portion of the number for that product.) Note: Some products simply feature a five-digit Part # without an 04- prefix.
Live support is generally available Monday through Friday, 8:00 AM until 6:00 PM (Pacific Time). Note: We may be closed on major holidays.
Before making your call, we ask that you be at your computer, have the following information available, and be ready to take notes:
System Make and Model
Processor Type
Operating System, including version number (such as Windows 98; Windows Me)
RAM (Memory)
Video and sound card data and drivers
Any screen or error messages youve encountered (and where)

Product Return Procedures in the United States & Canada
In the event our technicians at (425) 951-7108 determine that you need to forward materials directly to us, please include a brief letter explaining what is enclosed and why. Make sure you include the Return Merchandise Authorization Number (RMA#) supplied to you by the technician, and your telephone number in case we need to call you. You will receive the mailing address when the technician gives you the RMA#. Any materials not containing this RMA# will be returned to you unprocessed.

Warranty Policy in the United States & Canada
If our technicians determine that the product storage medium is found to be defective within ninety (90) days of original purchase, (unless otherwise provided by applicable law), Atari will replace the item free of charge, to the original purchaser, if the item is accompanied by the original dated receipt and packaging.


VII - REMARQUES COMPLEMENTAIRES
-------------------------------
INSTALLATION : l'installation de Conquests parmi de trop nombreux dossiers peut entraîner l'arrêt du programme d'installation. La plupart des ordinateurs exigent un nombre limité de sous-dossiers au sein d'un groupe de dossiers. Ce problème ne se produira que si l'on tente d'installer Civilization III dans la profondeur de l'arborescence, par exemple :
C:\Jeux\Stratégie\Par_Tours\Série_Civilization\Tro isième_version\Firaxis_Games\

Si vous recevez un message d'erreur alors que le programme d'installation copie les fichiers vers le disque dur de l'ordinateur, vérifiez que le CD est exempt d'éraflures, de poussières et de saletés. Réessayez d'installer le jeu après avoir nettoyé le CD. Si le nettoyage du CD ne résout pas le problème, contactez le magasin où vous avez acheté Civilization III: Conquests afin d'obtenir un autre exemplaire du jeu. L'échec de l'installation est généralement lié à un CD défectueux. Le moyen le plus rapide de résoudre ce problème consiste à tenter l'installation à l'aide d'un exemplaire correct du CD de Civilization III: Conquests.

COMPATIBILITE : tous les utilisateurs de Windows doivent prendre soin de télécharger à partir du site web de Microsoft les services packs et mises à jour les plus récents afin que leur ordinateur dispose des derniers pilotes et mesures de protection en date. De même que les révisions chez un garagiste sont essentielles à l'entretien d'une voiture, des pilotes et mesures de protection à jour sont indispensables au bon fonctionnement du matériel informatique. Si vous utilisez un processeur Celeron en liaison avec le système d'exploitation Windows 2000, prenez soin de télécharger les mises à jour de Windows les plus récentes ; elles règlent en effet les problèmes d'allocation de mémoire susceptibles d'entraîner des instabilités.

MULTIJOUEUR : lors des parties multijoueurs sur Internet, gardez à l'esprit qu'un seul joueur PAR PARTIE peut se trouver derrière un pare-feu (firewall) ! Pour que d'autres joueurs puissent prendre part à la partie, il est nécessaire que le joueur placé derrière un pare-feu rejoigne la partie en dernier ; en effet, les joueurs tentant de rejoindre la partie après le joueur placé derrière un pare-feu ne pourront pas se connecter.
Par ailleurs, le port DirectPlay n°2303 doit être ouvert afin de permettre des transmissions rapides. Reportez-vous au manuel pour plus de détails sur l'ouverture des adresses de port.
Multijoueur et alliances verrouillées : les joueurs humains doivent être définis de manière à ce que les équipes soient actives ou la partie prendra immédiatement fin.
Remarque : les catastrophes telles que la peste et les éruptions volcaniques sont absentes des parties multijoueurs.

ARMEES : outre les capacités mentionnées dans la Civilopédia, une unité Armée dispose également de la capacité "Blitz" (c'est-à-dire qu'elle peut attaquer à deux reprises au cours d'un même tour), son potentiel de mouvement a été accru d'un point et les unités situées au sein d'une armée récupèrent plus rapidement.

TRAVAILLEURS CAPTURES : afin de différencier les unités étrangères de travailleurs (c'est-à-dire capturées ou asservies) oeuvrant à votre profit, celles-ci sont désormais dotées d'une représentation graphique distincte de celle des travailleurs ordinaires (c'est-à-dire créées par votre civilisation).
Remarque : le rendement des travailleurs capturés est égal à la moitié de celui de vos travailleurs ordinaires.

VICTOIRE PAR MERVEILLES : la "victoire par merveilles" est en réalité une condition de victoire à limite de temps ; en effet, lorsque la victoire par merveilles est en vigueur, la partie s'achève immédiatement après l'achèvement de la dernière grande merveille.

statusperfect
Nov 27, 2003, 05:43 AM
The frogs celebrate - the yanks mourn. :D

Masquerouge
Nov 27, 2003, 05:45 AM
It's just a patch that fixes localization problems, folks.
No bug fixes !
So let's put the trumpets back in the closet :)

Vortex
Nov 27, 2003, 05:47 AM
As this patch seems to be dedicated to translation problems, this is not a celebration but just a necessary update ;)

TerraHero
Nov 27, 2003, 05:57 AM
Originally posted by Masquerouge
It's just a patch that fixes localization problems, folks.
No bug fixes !
So let's put the trumpets back in the closet :)

the important thing is u got a patch before we got the whole fooking game :mad:

Masquerouge
Nov 27, 2003, 06:10 AM
Originally posted by TerraHero
the important thing is u got a patch before we got the whole fooking game :mad:

:lol:

Atari isn't a French company for nothing, you know ;)

Kute
Nov 27, 2003, 10:01 AM
At least that was usefull ...for once. ;p

kryszcztov
Nov 27, 2003, 10:17 AM
I installed my French version in English, over an American Civ3 + PTW version. Do I need that ?

Thunderfall
Nov 27, 2003, 11:03 AM
It seems this patch can also be installed over the North American version.

The language choices for the patch are English, German, Italian, Spanish, and French.

From the updated Readme:


************************************************** *
SID MEIER'S CIVILIZATION III: Conquests README
************************************************** *
v1.02

Updates 1.02:
* Art: Corrected display of silk as luxury in city view in Rise of Rome
* Art: Corrected Scourge of God splash screen art in Fall of Rome
* Art: Build road/fort animations now show for Legionary in Fall of Rome
* Art: Cataphract now uses Ancient Cavalry art in Middle Ages
* Art: Corrected Mining tech art in Age of Discovery
* Text: Several minor civilopedia fixes (mostly spelling, grammar)

###

Edit: hmm... I installed te pacth but the version number is not updated on the main screen.

Gobi Bear
Nov 27, 2003, 11:15 AM
The version number on the main menu is built into the EXE. Since the executable did not change with this patch, it will remain as 1.00.

Check the README.TXT file and look at the top few lines of that file. If you see a version number of 1.02 there, you have installed this patch correctly.

Matt_G
Nov 27, 2003, 11:34 AM
@Gobi Bear,
Can you give us any inkling as to when/if the corruption and the gold per turn bugs will be fixed?

[Edit]
Just in case you haven't seen the thread, it is here. (http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=68415)

Mercade
Nov 27, 2003, 02:23 PM
Originally posted by Masquerouge
Atari isn't a French company for nothing, you know ;) Pfft. If they were so French they might have had the translation done right the first time. :spank:
But it's good to have it fixed so fast, and helpful that it also updates the art for other languages.

Btw, nice posting, Thunderfall:

http://www.civfanatics.net/uploads5/thunderfall6000.jpg

kring
Nov 27, 2003, 03:20 PM
Thank you for the update, and explanation.

FionnMcCumhall
Nov 27, 2003, 11:15 PM
ill wait for the big fixes before i get a patch, this is minor

Masquerouge
Nov 28, 2003, 01:01 AM
But I know someone who's going to be very pleased the cataphract now uses the Ancient Cavalry design... Won't you; Xen ? ;)

Kute
Nov 28, 2003, 10:33 AM
ARGH! I installed that patch and now i have the lost anim bug, had to reinstalled C3C but still didn't work. I hope i won't have to reinstall Civ3 from the start.
And bleh! I lost my Conquest Hall of Fame...6 of 9 completed. :aargh:

Kether
Nov 30, 2003, 10:45 AM
I installed the patch and got some kind of bug/joke that I don't know how to remove...

All the texts int the game are changed. The intro screen menu looks like this... (see attachment)

Does anyone know what this is and how to remove it?

Thunderfall
Nov 30, 2003, 02:27 PM
Looks like one of the text file got messed up or didn't get updated...

Try this:

Go to the "Civilization III\Conquests\Text" folder and check to see if any of the text file is Read-Only. Uncheck the Read-Only box if you see any read-only file then re-apply the patch...

MarineCorps
Nov 30, 2003, 02:54 PM
Thats odd. Worked for me. Where did you download the patch?

Kether
Dec 01, 2003, 09:21 AM
I also thought that it could be a wrong installation of the patch. I uninstalled it and the problem remained. I then reinstalled it... and it persisted.
I have looked through every file on the \text folder and none contains those texts. So, I don't know where it is getting them.
Finally, the menu has sense... the complete sentences say:
#CITIZEN_UNHAPPY_REASONS:
"I AM UNHAPPY FOR NO REASON WHATSOEVER. THIS IS MOST LIKELY A BUG..."
"IT'S JUST WAY TOO CROWDED"
"ALL WE ARE SAYIN' IS GIVE PEACE A CHANCE"
"STOP THE AGGRESSION AGAINST OUR MOTHER COUNTRY!"

and the first four options of the menu form the word "CURT"..
(C)ontent Type0
(U)nhappy type0
(R)esisting type0
(T)ype0

I downloaded the patch from civfanatics...
I dont know... maybe somehow I toggled a hidden option the designers made...
This is what I did...
DOnwloaded the patch and executed it...
Then I installed the spanish version by mistake... all menus where in spanish working as they should
Then I clicked on the patch again and selected the modify current installation option...
I clicked on English and Conquests and applied the changes...
That's where it got messed up...
I have uninstalled the patch and reinstalled it several times... and it continues messed up, even when it is uninstalled...

anarres
Dec 01, 2003, 09:46 AM
Kether, if you know something went wrong in one of the installs you really have to uninstall C3C, PTW (if you have it) and Civ3 vanilla.

Then delete any files the uninstall leaves behind (with the exception of save games), and reinstall in the correct order.

This is the first piece of advice any software company would give if you have install problems...

Kether
Dec 01, 2003, 01:41 PM
Thanks anarres, I finally decided to uninstall C3C... and installed it back from zero...

It is ok now...

made a copy of the campaingrecord.hof file so I wont loose previous scores...

Although it is odd what happened...