View Full Version : Three questions?


Pontiuth Pilate
Feb 20, 2004, 01:26 PM
1. I appear to have some sort of popup blocker installed on my Netscape without knowing it. Is this some kind of standard feature? How do I get at it and turn it off?

2. My IE has a strange bug I've never seen before. Whenever there's a popup, or I click on a link which opens the site in a new window, I get a blank white window, and the url entry-line is also blank. When I manually copy and paste the url of the link into the new window, it works fine, however. This only happens on IE - Netscape opens new windows fine. And when I use Ctrl-N on IE to open up a replica window, that window also appears fine.

3. I have a firewall called ZoneAlarm on my computer. Is there any way to temporarily disable it without totally uninstalling it? Is there any way to find out if I have any other "hidden" firewalls on my computer?

Thanks in advance ;)

Gainy
Feb 20, 2004, 02:54 PM
I can only partially answer #3, but you can just right-click on it, and press "ShutDown Zonealarm".
I'm not completely sure about the rest, so I wont' bother trying to answer them ;)

Goober
Feb 20, 2004, 03:52 PM
For 1. and 2., just get rid of internet Exploder. I had that problem too, along with many, many others, and turns out i had a virus in it. You don't need it,m get Mozilla, solve all your problems!!! Did for me, at least. And ya, Mozilla blocks Popups, and IIRC, so does Netscape. they are basically the same thing. I am not sure how you turn off the Popups blocker, should be in the Preferences thing somewhere . . .

But why would you want to turn off the Popup Blocker, anyway? Don't you find Popups annoying?

EDIT: See above post for your answer to #3, I am pretty sure is the answer . . .

bobgote
Feb 20, 2004, 04:33 PM
some popup blockers allow popups if you control-click the link. (and some sites use pop-ups to display info, so you do need it sometimes).

and what gainy bo said for zone alarm, but that might close off all the ports, which isn't a good thing. I'd try working with it if that's possible for what you're doing.

and windows has a firewall. (should be in control panel -> network connections -> the connection you use -> properties -> advanced). also some virus checkers also contain a firewall so you might want to look into that.

Turner
Feb 20, 2004, 11:37 PM
If you want to keep zonealarm active, but turn off the firewall part (so you don't have to reload it), double click on the ZoneAlarm icon in your task bar. Click on 'Firewall' on the left side, and if it's not selected select the 'Mail' tab on the right side. Then use the sliders to turn off the Internet Security and the Trusted Sites security.

Why would you do it this way? Dunno. But it would be slightly faster than closing it out and reloading it.