View Full Version : Interesting eBay item


WillJ
Mar 14, 2004, 03:34 PM
Take a look at this (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3084775510&category=62053) (specifically the item description). Some guy's selling information to get an item of $50.00 value for $3. And this is not the first time I've seen something like this.

I want this game, and I've been thinking of whether or not to try to get it through this auction. So do you think this is bogus? Would it be foolish to bid on it?

Thunderfall
Mar 14, 2004, 03:40 PM
I saw something like that several times on amazon.com's marketplace. Some people were selling info on how to get a $300 PDA for just $50.

Since it sounds too good to be true, it's most likely bogus.

Chieftess
Mar 14, 2004, 03:58 PM
Sometimes stores sell surplus items much cheaper. You can also see how other people rate the seller/buyer, too. (there's a link at the top that has the seller's name).

WillJ
Mar 14, 2004, 04:04 PM
Originally posted by Chieftess
You can also see how other people rate the seller/buyer, too. (there's a link at the top that has the seller's name). Yeah, he has all positive feedback. (Albeit only 11 comments, but nonetheless they're all positiive.)

Unless someone can convince me otherwise, I think I might actually bid on this thing, more out of curiousity than anything else. Worst case scenario it's just a few bucks out of my pockets.

Turner
Mar 14, 2004, 06:58 PM
I think it's a scam.

But then, if you're out, you're only out a couple of bucks.

WillJ
Mar 14, 2004, 07:13 PM
Well, I decided to be a possible sucker and bid. And I won. :yeah: (It wasn't this exact auction; it was an identical one.) It only cost me $6, so I don't have much to lose. I'm still waiting for the email.

bobgote
Mar 14, 2004, 08:40 PM
"The profits from this auction help a disabled mother of two support her children."

I was waiting for something about nigeria there.

Good luck will :)

WillJ
Mar 14, 2004, 09:06 PM
Well, I got an email. Turns out I have to do a little bit of work, but it looks like a genuine deal to me. I'll keep you posted. ;)

Oh, and if anyone wants info on how to do it yourself, just send me six dollars. :mischief:

@bobgote: Yeah, that did sound suspicious. Especially since if you're a disabled mother of two children you probably should be doing better things than selling information on eBay...

GrandAdmiral
Mar 15, 2004, 06:42 PM
Classic ebay scam. Well its legal as far as I know. Its like if you were to put together a brochure that claims you could get paid to gratify yourself and it lists all the sperm banks in the US. (Safe sex get paid scam). Well this guy is basically selling a catalogue he probably made himself. Don't waste your money. He worded it carefully so don't expect any deals.

ainwood
Mar 15, 2004, 09:55 PM
Originally posted by WillJ
Well, I got an email. Turns out I have to do a little bit of work, but it looks like a genuine deal to me. I'll keep you posted. ;)

Oh, and if anyone wants info on how to do it yourself, just send me six dollars. :mischief:

@bobgote: Yeah, that did sound suspicious. Especially since if you're a disabled mother of two children you probably should be doing better things than selling information on eBay... Whatever you do, do NOT accept any invitation to move the sale transaction away from the ebay site -> there is a scam where a false paypal webpage is set up, and when you neter you bank account details, you get stung.

WillJ
Mar 16, 2004, 04:16 PM
I did sort of get screwed, but in a good way. (If that makes any sense.) What he did was email me about a website that gives away video games for free but with a catch. I could have found the site on Google, and so the info isn't exactly worth $6, but nonetheless it's a great site (as far as I can tell so far).

Azadre
Mar 16, 2004, 04:45 PM
So you paid $6 to steal video games?

GrandAdmiral
Mar 16, 2004, 07:45 PM
Originally posted by WillJ
I did sort of get screwed, but in a good way. (If that makes any sense.) What he did was email me about a website that gives away video games for free but with a catch. I could have found the site on Google, and so the info isn't exactly worth $6, but nonetheless it's a great site (as far as I can tell so far).

Wait a minute. You actually went through and paid for it? Thanks for the laugh buddy.

WillJ
Mar 16, 2004, 08:15 PM
Originally posted by Azadre
So you paid $6 to steal video games? No, it's perfectly legal.Originally posted by GrandAdmiral
Wait a minute. You actually went through and paid for it? Thanks for the laugh buddy. Did you miss post #6? :p

Comraddict
Mar 16, 2004, 08:27 PM
so you will not get free game? haha for $6 I could have given you screenshot of my last conquest.

Goober
Mar 17, 2004, 01:07 AM
Sounds like a Scam . . . looks like a Scam . . . and paying 6 U$d (7.5 CDN$!!!) for the link to a website is a scam, IMO. Bidding on EBay is like a Bet, and I don't bet, so there we go . . .

GeZe
Mar 17, 2004, 01:28 PM
no, no.
in ebay you can make the starting bid alot lower then your actual price, the person sets a actual price, and if the bidders don't go over that price then the item is not sold.

ebay text:

Don't want to sell your item below a certain price? Set a reserve price!

A reserve price is a tool sellers can use to stimulate bidding on their auction-style item while reserving the right not to sell below a price they have in mind.

Many sellers have found that too high a starting price discourages interest in their item, while an attractively low starting price makes them vulnerable to selling at an unsatisfactorily low price. A reserve price helps with this.

How does it work?

A reserve price is the lowest price at which you are willing to sell your item. If a bidder does not meet that price, you're not obligated to sell your item. You set your reserve price, as well as a starting price, when you list your item.

The reserve price is not disclosed to bidders, but they will be told that your auction has a reserve price and whether or not the reserve has been met.

WillJ
Mar 17, 2004, 03:19 PM
Originally posted by Comraddict
so you will not get free game? haha for $6 I could have given you screenshot of my last conquest. I suppose by "free" you mean $3, since that's what he advertised? Yes, it is possible with this website to get the game for $3. (However, there are more convenient ways that are slightly more expensive.)

cgannon64
Mar 17, 2004, 07:31 PM
Come on WillJ, be a good citizen and tell the rest of us about this website.

WillJ
Mar 17, 2004, 09:09 PM
Originally posted by cgannon64
Come on WillJ, be a good citizen and tell the rest of us about this website. Not unless you give me six dollars. :mischief:

Okay, all right, all right, I'll tell ya'll about it. The site is... *drum roll please* freevideogames.com (http://www.freevideogames.com). As you can see, what you do is earn points at the website by joining offers (AOL trials, weight loss medicine, etc.) and then using these points to get video games. There's a wide selection of PS2, GameCube, XBox, and GameBoy Advance games (nothing else, unfortunately). If you're not careful it can cost you (big-time, in fact). But if you're prudent (and patient) enough, it can lead to some big savings (at least from what I can tell so far; I'm not very experienced). If you're interested, above all else just be very careful to read the cancellation policies, and cancel before they charge you (but after you get credited with the points, of course). And whatever you do, for the love of God do NOT try anything involving AOL or credit cards; that can be a pain in the ass. (I didn't learn that from this site, but instead from past experience...) I haven't gotten to the point where I can cancel anything yet, so I'm not sure just how easy it is (i.e. whether or not they like pissing off their customers and putting them on hold for two hours). I'll be sure to let you know from my experience if you wish, and if I were you I would wait until I do so. After all, I have yet to determine whether this site is a load of crap or a virtual heaven for video game lovers.

Thunderfall
Mar 17, 2004, 09:31 PM
Thanks for sharing the info. :)

It looks legit. But I am not sure I want to try so many things just to get a video game. To get the Final Fantasy X-2 game, for example, you need 2350 points. This would require you sign up for at least 5 offers that would require you to call/contact them to cancel.

PS: Whatever you try, don't try that ConsumerInfo.com Free Credit Report. I signed up once and they charged me $70, even though I called them to cancel the thing before the trial period is over. I got the money back from them eventually but it was a pain.

WillJ
Mar 17, 2004, 09:38 PM
Originally posted by Thunderfall
Thanks for sharing the info. :)

It looks legit. But I am not sure I want to try so many things just to get a video game. To get the Final Fantasy X-2 game, for example, you need 2350 points. This would require you sign up for at least 5 offers that would require you to call/contact them to cancel.

PS: Whatever you try, don't try that ConsumerInfo.com Free Credit Report. I signed up once and they charged me $70, even though I called them to cancel the thing before the trial period is over. I got the money back from them eventually but it was a pain. You're welcome, and thanks for the tip. :)