View Full Version : Classic vs. MGE


Smash
Jan 22, 2001, 03:39 PM
In a word..no.Scenarios made on later versions are not "backwards" compatible on their own.You'll need regular civ2 and FW add-on(good luck finding this one).If you could find that,there is a utility that converts MGE made scenarios to FW compatible.

There is a major difference in diplomacy between the 2(mge and 2.42)

CivPartisan
Jan 22, 2001, 08:46 PM
Smash is right. Classic Civ II won't run anything higher ver. 2.42 and in some cases if actually found the 1.07 ver. (yes, this does exist because that's the version I have)...then you won't be able to run classic civ II scenarios designed on versions 1.08 and above! (now that is weird). You can check the CD version number by starting the game and going to 'File' then select 'Game Options' and look at the title bar on the window box and that should tell you the game version.

I have decided to change my major to Civilization Gaming.



------------------
John Valdez
Modpacks/Scenarios/Review

Leowind
Jan 23, 2001, 12:33 AM
I've been reading elsewhere on this forum about differences in the AI's hostility level between CivII classic, and Gold Edition. As I have Gold but don't currently play multiplayer, I'm interested in picking up classic as it would seem better suited to solo play. My question is this; If I install Classic over my gold install, will the scenarios that came with Gold still be usable (Future Worlds; Fantasay; and a bunch off the 'net)? I don't want to lose them, but don't have the disk space to install two versions of the same game. appreciate any help.

SlowwHand
Jan 23, 2001, 06:49 AM
With a multiplayer option, why would one choose AI only?
http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/cool.gif


------------------
It's In The Way That You Use It

vladmir_illych_lenin
Jan 23, 2001, 09:26 AM
Really? I never knew that! How much better is the AI?

Leowind
Jan 23, 2001, 01:45 PM
Originally posted by SlowwHand:
With a multiplayer option, why would one choose AI only?
<IMG SRC="http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/cool.gif" border=0>




My too full schedule has kept me from trying MP games yet. When I get more proficient at higher levels I may try it. The game was a gift, and neither the giver nor myself at the time even realized there was a difference, just bought what seemed like a good deal (it was http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/biggrin.gif). I think she (my wife) is sorry now she ever got it for me http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/biggrin.gifhttp://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Smash
Jan 23, 2001, 04:24 PM
I wouldn't say the AI is better.Just more aggressive.The ai in MGE still can't fight worth a darn.The AI in all versions has always had a major problem utilizing trade arrows effectively.Early game expansion is another AI shortcoming that the human player can exploit.

I'm not saying its crap.just that the added hostility does not make the game harder.It minimizes one major aspect of the game-diplomacy.It quickly breaks down to gunboat diplomacy.

IMHO- if given the choice-MGE for multiplay only.

damunzy
Jan 24, 2001, 12:28 AM
Civ2 Classic doesn't need to be installed over Civ2 Gold. They are each independent programs, and can be run seperately, like on my computer. Well, they would except for this WinG problem that I just noticed with Civ2 Classic, but that just recently happened. You can also have both games running at the same time, for poops and giggles.

------------------
<FONT face="tahoma"><IMG SRC="http://24.88.239.81/theworld/icon18.gif" border=0>-PaleHorse76-<IMG SRC="http://24.88.239.81/theworld/icon18.gif" border=0>
All rights reserved, all wrongs avenged.
ICQ: 744424 TimeZone: ET(-5GMT)</FONT f>