View Full Version : Help needed...really bad.


Bergvall
Nov 16, 2001, 10:49 AM
As I understand from what I have read in this forum, the nvidia video driver doesn't really comply with CIV3 so my question is. How do I make it work?
And how were do I install the older routines for the graphic card?

Bergvall
Nov 16, 2001, 02:07 PM
I have tried installing v12.41 and v21.83 of the drivers for nvidia geforce3 none of them has cleared up my problem. The problem remains the same.

For example when I look at the credits. Then all the names and letters are mixed up in the middle of the box. The only thing that works is quick start but when I try to build a city a message comes up and says unable to locate draw buffer.

windows me
directx 8.0a
1,4Ghz P4 256mb ram
video: nvidia geforce 3 256mb
sound: SB live platinum

Thunderfall
Nov 16, 2001, 03:35 PM
I posted a news post about the font problem a few days ago:

Civ3 Font Bug Fix
posted by Thunderfall at 5:05 PM

A lot of users have experienced a strange font problem in Civilziation III where the fonts are blocky and ugly and the spacing is wrong. There is a quick fix to this problem: all you need to do is uninstall or delete the Windows version of Lucida Sans Regular located at c:\windows\fonts\lucidasansregular.ttf if you use Windows 98.

More info about this bug are available in the following forum threads:

http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=7570

http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=7487

http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=8460

Bergvall
Nov 16, 2001, 06:28 PM
I'm using the millenium edition of windows:( and I tried locating the lucidasansregular.tff but I couldn't find it. So I removed all the files containing lucida sans=no difference, same problem.

I have downloaded all the latest drivers to my graphic card (nvidia geforce3 256mb =v21.83) but it doesn't help me. I'm sarting to get kind of vorried now. I have no idea what to do...

plz help

alja
Nov 17, 2001, 09:13 AM
nVidia has just a 0,000001% percent market share, so why bother about combability with such drivers....

:-(

I am trying to calm down...

Hassjo
Nov 20, 2001, 04:49 PM
Bergvall,

I'm running Windows ME & I get the same problem. After 5 minutes of play I get the (draw buffer error). Have you had any luck fixing it?

Bergvall
Jan 03, 2002, 11:27 AM
Nope, not yet. I'm almost giving up. I don't have the slightest idea what to do.

Get back to me if you hear anything....

KloePoek
Jan 04, 2002, 07:04 PM
Originally posted by alja
nVidia has just a 0,000001% percent market share, so why bother about combability with such drivers....

:-(

I am trying to calm down...

sure alja... as long as you believe what you are saying yourself....