Can't Click to Continue

_somaholiday

Chieftain
Hello, I'm new to Civ - I purchased and installed Civ V and the Cradle DLC bundle on Steam the other day and got a few hours of play in with no problems. Yesterday and today, though, I can't get past the "click to continue" screen. I've tried looking online for a solution, but haven't found one yet. Has anyone else had this problem recently? I'd appreciate any help with this.

Hmm, what do you mean by that? Do you click on the "Click to continue" but nothing happens? Does it crash? Are you using any mods or something like that?

Yes, when I try to click the "click to continue" button, it doesn't allow me to. The game doesn't actually crash, it just sits there on the screen and I eventually have to close it through the task manager, since it won't let me do anything. I only have the base game and the Cradle of Civ DLCs. No mods.

I just tried uninstalling and then reinstalling Steam, just in case, but now I am having to reinstall my games - of course that is taking forever, lol. Just my luck.

I'm not really very tech savvy at all, but I also checked my firewall settings, and both Steam and Civ V are checked to be allowed through. I'm not really sure what the problem could be, since it was running like a champ the other day when I first purchased and installed it. I'm on a brand new computer my boyfriend built for me, running Windows 7 64-bit.

Have you tried to create a game with other config? I mean in another map with another civ, see if it loads, or else try a random game, just to see if it MANAGES to load.

I'm reinstalling the game now, but Steam is being really slow. I'm hoping a reinstall works, but we'll see.

Okay, so I've reinstalled the game and this time not only can I not proceed past the "click to continue" screen, but the screen appears as though it is enlarged and I'm only seeing the top left corner. What the heck is going on?