Question for seasoned vets: how fast are cities building stuff?

MBison

Chieftain
I'm a civ newbie.. in my fourth game, I started making sure I connected everything with roads.. I mean everything... and it seemed to pan out with much better city management. My best city was creating military units in like 2-3 turns, some things in just 1 turn. Is this the normal for most season vets strongest cities?

MBison said:
I'm a civ newbie.. in my fourth game, I started making sure I connected everything with roads.. I mean everything... and it seemed to pan out with much better city management. My best city was creating military units in like 2-3 turns, some things in just 1 turn. Is this the normal for most season vets strongest cities?

Sure. Depending on the city's specialization, buildings, tiles, (what time period) and even your own civ's traits, you can even do better. Take FDR - industrious, organized, and your bad *** production city, which could have a forge and lots of tiles with hammers, maybe with a nice civic, like organized religion (-25% build time on buildings) or a nice wonder (hero epic - 100% faster build time for military units) and you can be cranking out buildings and powerful units in a turn or two and wonders in less than 10. Nothing like having stone, marble, a forge, being industrious and organized, and having a big production city to bust out wonders in as much time as it takes to build a settler.

But it all depends on how you design your city. If you're careful, you can do the same thing, but for commerce. Have a city that's busting out 50+ commerce a turn, then throw all your financial and research improvements in there and, rake in hundred of beakers or gold a turn from just one city. A city that can give you almost 300 beakers a turn by the end of the mideival period makes that production city look like nothing, if you ask me. :)

Err, the game has been out for like 3-4 days - dunno how many seasoned vets there are.