Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > COLOSSEUM > Computer Talk

Notices

Computer Talk Forum for computer geeks and dummies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Feb 17, 2012, 09:51 AM   #3181
Zelig
Smugly Superior
 
Zelig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,821
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodGame View Post
I was kind of wondering about the value of this one:

http://www.daskeyboard.com/

They claim to be the closet thing to a Model M IBM keyboard. Is that what is meant by the "cherry brown" activation---or does "cherry brown" refer to the Commodore 64 keyboards?
The Model M is overrated, modern mechanical key switches are better than the buckling springs the model M used.

The Das Keyboard is good, depending on the price.

Cherry Brown refers to the type of mechanical key switch, Cherry makes a bunch of different ones, and labels them by colour (brown, blue, black, red, white, etc.) So the Das Keyboard has the same keys as the Kinesis, the Blackwidow Stealth, among others.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodGame View Post
The mechanical keys are supposed to reduce the amount of pressure needed to activate a key and also reduce the number of miskeys.
Depends on the switch, some mechanical switches require a lot of pressure. Cherry brows require the least pressure among pure mechanical switches, and Topre hybrid capacitive switches are similar.
__________________
Do you like Bitcoins? Join #fiftychat for free Bitcions!
Zelig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 01:25 PM   #3182
aimeeandbeatles
watermelon
 
aimeeandbeatles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Aperture Science Laboratories
Posts: 12,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelig View Post
It is exceptionally more comfortable than non-split keyboards.
Perhaps if you type the standard way and not like I do.
__________________
I like chocolate.
aimeeandbeatles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2012, 02:37 AM   #3183
PlutonianEmpire
<custom user title>
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,652
Gender: Male
Are there any active online forums dedicated to sci-fi worldbuilding, where I could ask questions about creating plausible worlds and systems, and get answers in a timely manner, as well as share the worlds I've created?
PlutonianEmpire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2012, 08:28 PM   #3184
civ_king
Deus Caritas Est
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 16,373
I seem to recall one could trace an IP of a user on a website via WHOIS, am I remembering correctly and if so how do I do it.
__________________
Ex umbris et imaginibus in veritatem

Cor ad cor loquitur
civ_king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2012, 08:49 AM   #3185
aimeeandbeatles
watermelon
 
aimeeandbeatles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Aperture Science Laboratories
Posts: 12,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by civ_king View Post
I seem to recall one could trace an IP of a user on a website via WHOIS, am I remembering correctly and if so how do I do it.
You can get a general idea of the location here http://www.geobytes.com/iplocator.htm?getlocation

Question: My modem is somehow blocking incoming ports and that breaks some of my programs. I cant find how to access modem settings. How do i fix this. Port forwarding is set up correctly but i cant get it to open.
__________________
I like chocolate.
aimeeandbeatles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2012, 04:16 AM   #3186
civ_king
Deus Caritas Est
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 16,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by aimeeandbeatles View Post
You can get a general idea of the location here http://www.geobytes.com/iplocator.htm?getlocation

Question: My modem is somehow blocking incoming ports and that breaks some of my programs. I cant find how to access modem settings. How do i fix this. Port forwarding is set up correctly but i cant get it to open.
I'm sorry, I mean find the person's IP address
__________________
Ex umbris et imaginibus in veritatem

Cor ad cor loquitur
civ_king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2012, 03:53 PM   #3187
Atticus
Deity
 
Atticus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 3,088
I have sql problem.

This works:
select max(aaa)+1 from Bbbb;
This works:
Insert into Bbbb (aaa,eee) values (4,0);
But this doesn't:
Insert into Bbbb (aaameee) values (select max(aaa)+1 from Bbbb, 0);

Can somebopdy tell where the problem is?

EDIT: I got it working! it's
insert into Bbbb (aaa, eee) values ((select max(aaa) from Bbbb)+1, 0);

Though I don't understand what's the crucial difference between these two expressions. That's what bugs me with sql, it seems like you always have to be guessing how to write it correctly. At least for a beginner.
__________________
Be-beep, be-beep, yeah!

Last edited by Atticus; Feb 23, 2012 at 04:56 PM.
Atticus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2012, 11:55 PM   #3188
PlutonianEmpire
<custom user title>
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,652
Gender: Male
I should have asked this question YEARS ago.

Is it a bad idea to use the same username across multiple forums/sites? If so, why?
PlutonianEmpire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2012, 01:51 AM   #3189
salty mud
Ey-up
 
salty mud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: God's Own County
Posts: 4,457
I'd say using the same password is worse. I suppose it makes it easier for potential hackers to gain access to more of your accounts, and thus more of your information.
salty mud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2012, 09:16 AM   #3190
Cutlass
Ideas are Like Stars
 
Cutlass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: US of A
Posts: 36,820
Gender: Male
It really depends on how much you care that people from one place know who you are at other places. Except when places are spinoffs from one another or related in some way, it's very very rare that active people in one place are active in another.

But, then, Cutlass is a much more common name than PlutonianEmpire. I can't register under the name Cutlass at places like Twitter or Youtube because it's already taken.
__________________
Ideas Are Like Stars. Come visit us again! Learn the Basics of Money HERE
More Money has been Lost Because of Four Words than at the Point of a Gun. Those words are "This Time is Different."
Taking from the poor and giving to the rich is Why Nations Fail In American we call that Reaganomics.
Cutlass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 04, 2012, 02:55 AM   #3191
Samson
Deity
 
Samson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 2,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by civ_king View Post
I'm sorry, I mean find the person's IP address
http://www.ipchecking.com/ does this if you want to do it one by one by hand. Do you want to do it automaticly at the web server? That will need a bit of code I expect.
__________________
History has remembered Samson as a hero after he committed suicide by destroying a religious building during a civilian festival killing thousands of people including the leaders of a regime that had occupied his homeland.
Samson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 04, 2012, 06:58 AM   #3192
aimeeandbeatles
watermelon
 
aimeeandbeatles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Aperture Science Laboratories
Posts: 12,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlutonianEmpire View Post
I should have asked this question YEARS ago.

Is it a bad idea to use the same username across multiple forums/sites? If so, why?
Yes, if only because of cyberstalkers.
__________________
I like chocolate.
aimeeandbeatles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2012, 01:47 PM   #3193
Quintillus
Deity
 
Quintillus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by aimeeandbeatles View Post
You can get a general idea of the location here http://www.geobytes.com/iplocator.htm?getlocation

Question: My modem is somehow blocking incoming ports and that breaks some of my programs. I cant find how to access modem settings. How do i fix this. Port forwarding is set up correctly but i cant get it to open.
I'm not sure exactly what you mean by the last sentence (can't get modem settings to open?) but what I do to open modem settings is:

1. Go to the command line, and type "ipconfig /all".
2. See what your Default Gateway is. Mine is 192.168.0.1.
3. Go to your web browser and type in your default gateway in the address bar (ex. 192.168.0.1 in the address bar).
4. You have your modem settings page.

I have DSL, and my ISP might make a difference, too. But, something like that should provide access to modem settings.
__________________
C3C Cross-Platform Editor Version 0.89 - February 14, 2014
Cross-Platform BIQ Decompressor - June 6, 2014
Work-in-progress site for the editor, to supplant the in-editor documentation someday
Quintillus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2012, 05:46 PM   #3194
aimeeandbeatles
watermelon
 
aimeeandbeatles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Aperture Science Laboratories
Posts: 12,157
I put in the gateway and came up with the router.
__________________
I like chocolate.
aimeeandbeatles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2012, 04:36 PM   #3195
contre
Let's go bother Snape!
 
contre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 20,198
So I have an old smart phone (Sony xperia x10) running Android 2.3 It's able to do tethering and act as a wifi hotspot for the phone's mobile data. I'm curious if there's also a way to use it to connect a computer to my home's wifi network. To use it as a USB wifi antenna or something.
__________________
What would it take to prove your beliefs wrong?

You're alright but I'm here, darling, to enjoy the party.

◖|◔◡◉|◗
contre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2012, 09:30 PM   #3196
Turner
Deity
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Randomistan
Posts: 28,169
EasyTether (Free & Paid) allows you to physically tether your device to a computer via USB and use the phone as a modem. The free app does not allow https:, the paid app does.

PDANet (Paid, 30 day free trial) allows this as well. There are a lot of programs in the market/playstore that allow this, search for 'tethering'. If you have a rooted phone, there are more options available to you.
Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2012, 11:03 PM   #3197
contre
Let's go bother Snape!
 
contre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 20,198
Er, I'm under the impression that uses the phone's data connection and I plan on removing the SIM card leaving it a wifi-only device. I'll check it out though.
__________________
What would it take to prove your beliefs wrong?

You're alright but I'm here, darling, to enjoy the party.

◖|◔◡◉|◗

Last edited by contre; Mar 11, 2012 at 11:06 PM.
contre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 01:04 PM   #3198
J-man
Deity
 
J-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Nijmegen, the Netherlands
Posts: 2,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turner View Post
EasyTether (Free & Paid) allows you to physically tether your device to a computer via USB and use the phone as a modem. The free app does not allow https:, the paid app does.

PDANet (Paid, 30 day free trial) allows this as well. There are a lot of programs in the market/playstore that allow this, search for 'tethering'. If you have a rooted phone, there are more options available to you.
Can your mobile phone company easily see if your using your phone as a modem, because in my 'users agreemnet' it say tethering is not allowed. (A very stupid rule btw).
J-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 03:25 PM   #3199
Turner
Deity
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Randomistan
Posts: 28,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by contre View Post
Er, I'm under the impression that uses the phone's data connection and I plan on removing the SIM card leaving it a wifi-only device. I'll check it out though.
I don't know, I've never tried a wired connection to a wifi. Might work. It depends on if those two will try to use the 3g or 4g connection. But if I were to use the market on the phone and it's attached to a wifi network, it uses that connection and doesn't turn on the 3g/4g antenna to connect.
Quote:
Originally Posted by J-man View Post
Can your mobile phone company easily see if your using your phone as a modem, because in my 'users agreemnet' it say tethering is not allowed. (A very stupid rule btw).
Don't know. I know that some custom rom sites include a wifi tethering, and that doesn't incur an extra charge with the carrier. They say they don't get charged the tethering fee....
Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2012, 07:42 PM   #3200
contre
Let's go bother Snape!
 
contre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 20,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turner View Post
I don't know, I've never tried a wired connection to a wifi. Might work. It depends on if those two will try to use the 3g or 4g connection. But if I were to use the market on the phone and it's attached to a wifi network, it uses that connection and doesn't turn on the 3g/4g antenna to connect.
That's a pretty good point, the phone does revert to wifi automatically for browsing and the market. Might have to dig out my old computer and try this.
__________________
What would it take to prove your beliefs wrong?

You're alright but I'm here, darling, to enjoy the party.

◖|◔◡◉|◗
contre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > COLOSSEUM > Computer Talk > Computer Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread II

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR