Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Macintosh

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Sep 18, 2011, 04:48 PM   #281
AlanH
Mac addict, php monkey

 
AlanH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: England
Posts: 27,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmperorFool View Post
That sounds like it is expecting a different version of Warlords than the one you have. Perhaps there was a more recent Warlords patch that broke Ruff's mod. You can try the steps on the Troubleshooting page in my sig (should be the same for Warlords), and I can try to help, but I'll be pretty limited since it's been so long and I don't have Civ4 at all on this new machine.
I'm on the latest version of Warlords. I suspect the problem is one of those Python 2.4 issues. You may recall that when we were working on BUG and BUFFY for the Mac, we had to deal with several Python incompatibilities because Civ4 for Mac ships with an old version of Python embedded?

I already had to fix several bits of Ruff's code that were Windows-specific - winreg references and directory path concatenation that assumes Windows "\" delimiters. As a general rule, it's better to use os.path.join() to build file paths rather than just 'xxxx'+'\yyyyy'.
__________________
-- Alan -- - Fold for TeamCFC Avatar image: Milan Trykar. Courtesy of Snow Leopard Trust
C-IV SGOTM Links: [thread= 529162]BtS SGOTM 20 Maintenance Thread[/thread] | Progress & Results | BUFFY Mod for BtS 3.19
Mac OS X C-IV Utilities Drag'n'Drop Mod Installer | GOTM Mac HOF Mod | Macapaka .fpk File Extractor and Creator | GOTM Mac Assets Checker
Civ3 Utilities: 20K Culture Excel Calc w. Anarchy OS X: FileValet compressor/archiver for Civ3 Complete | Civ3 1.29b2 Updater | TextEdit for Civ3 Mods
AlanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2011, 04:54 PM   #282
Ramesses-Rules
King
 
Ramesses-Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sequim, WA
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmperorFool View Post
That sounds like it is expecting a different version of Warlords than the one you have. Perhaps there was a more recent Warlords patch that broke Ruff's mod. You can try the steps on the Troubleshooting page in my sig (should be the same for Warlords), and I can try to help, but I'll be pretty limited since it's been so long and I don't have Civ4 at all on this new machine.

That being said, I'm sad to say that Ruff's mod doesn't include dot mapping. That's a feature of BUG. If you want to get your hands dirty in Python coding you could extract it with a few weekends of work.
That is sad news. What I need now is to beg or bribe somebody to create a version of BUG than runs Warlords on Mac. How hard would that be for somebody who knows what they're doing? Certainly not me!
Ramesses-Rules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2011, 05:02 PM   #283
AlanH
Mac addict, php monkey

 
AlanH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: England
Posts: 27,206
What's the big deal with Warlords? Surely buying BtS is not as expensive as the notional cost of the time you are asking someone to spend on your behalf converting BUG for Warlords?
__________________
-- Alan -- - Fold for TeamCFC Avatar image: Milan Trykar. Courtesy of Snow Leopard Trust
C-IV SGOTM Links: [thread= 529162]BtS SGOTM 20 Maintenance Thread[/thread] | Progress & Results | BUFFY Mod for BtS 3.19
Mac OS X C-IV Utilities Drag'n'Drop Mod Installer | GOTM Mac HOF Mod | Macapaka .fpk File Extractor and Creator | GOTM Mac Assets Checker
Civ3 Utilities: 20K Culture Excel Calc w. Anarchy OS X: FileValet compressor/archiver for Civ3 Complete | Civ3 1.29b2 Updater | TextEdit for Civ3 Mods
AlanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2011, 05:19 PM   #284
Ramesses-Rules
King
 
Ramesses-Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sequim, WA
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanH View Post
What's the big deal with Warlords? Surely buying BtS is not as expensive as the notional cost of the time you are asking someone to spend on your behalf converting BUG for Warlords?
Good question. I have been playing Warlords for years. I have a lot of fun with it. I have never tried BTS, but I can see from reading the forum that it plays quite differently than Warlords. If I finally get over the hump and win a few times on Immortal level, I may give it a try.
Ramesses-Rules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 08:51 PM   #285
awilder
Warlord
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cali
Posts: 240
Hi, I just got the complete CiV IV pack on Steam (for mac) and I tried installing BUG 4.4, but I get no interface in any game I start. Here's the log file:

Spoiler:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<string>", line 1, in ?
File "<string>", line 52, in load_module
File "CvEventInterface", line 17, in ?
File "<string>", line 52, in load_module
File "BugEventManager", line 572, in ?
File "BugEventManager", line 566, in hookupPreGameStartEvent
File "BugUtil", line 699, in extend
TypeError
:
readonly attribute

Failed to load python module CvEventInterface.
ERR: Call function onEvent failed. Can't find module CvEventInterface
...
(snip)
...
File "CvAppInterface", line 70, in preGameStart

File "CvScreensInterface", line 83, in showTechChooser

File "CvTechChooser", line 231, in interfaceScreen

File "CvTechChooser", line 243, in ConstructTabs

File "CvTechChooser", line 280, in DrawTechChooser

File "CvTechChooser", line 324, in placeTechs

AttributeError: type object 'CvPythonExtensions.WidgetTypes' has no attribute 'WIDGET_TECH_CHOOSER_ERA'
ERR: Python function preGameStart failed, module CvAppInterface
ERR: Call function onEvent failed. Can't find module CvEventInterface


If anyone has any ideas I'd really appreciate it!


EDIT: two more bits of info that might be helpful
1) the first thing that happens when I start a game is that the technology advisor window opens and is empty (no pic of leader etc)
2) the same problem occurs if I try to use BUG as a mod

Last edited by awilder; Jan 30, 2012 at 08:57 PM.
awilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 09:56 PM   #286
s.bernbaum
Mostly lurking
 
s.bernbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The wilds of Montana
Posts: 2,255
There is one line in the python file that must be edited out because it does nothing on a Mac but will crash the program.
Quoting Alan H:

Quote:
You have to edit the Python file:

/Applications/Civilization IV/Beyond the Sword/Mods/BUG Mod/Assets/Python/BUG/BugUtil.py

and delete line 699. If you don't have a text editor with line numbers, just search for, and delete, the line:


newFunc.__name__ = function.__name__
The location that Alan gives is for the standard install. Steam puts the files elsewhere but it sounds like you know where to find them.

Of course, you can just find the file in the unzipped package before installing it and edit it there, which is what I did. I have been using BUG 4.4 for a long time now, having installed it in CustomAssets. The CustomAssets approach has the added benefit of you not having to put it in the place where Steam puts the mods.

The weird start you are getting is typical of those caused by the un-edited-for-Mac BUG. Try this. If it does not work or you have already done this, post again.

Last edited by s.bernbaum; Jan 30, 2012 at 10:02 PM.
s.bernbaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2012, 08:27 PM   #287
EmperorFool
Deity
 
EmperorFool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mountain View, California
Posts: 9,625
Thanks, s.bernbaum. That's exactly what needs to be done.
__________________
Monkeys killing monkeys killing monkeys over pieces of the ground.
Silly monkeys, give them thumbs they make a club and beat their brother down.


BUG Mod - BTS Unaltered Gameplay
[ Forum | Download | FAQ | Known Issues | Troubleshooting | Modding Tutorial ]

BAT 3.0.1 QuickFix™ released Oct 24th
EmperorFool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 08, 2012, 11:09 AM   #288
Skytha
Chieftain
 
Skytha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Peru
Posts: 11
I'm currently running JARM and tried to install BUG - removed the problematic XML line but was still having trouble with the interface not showing up and the blank tech advisor screen on load. I unloaded JARM and BUG seems to be working like a charm but I'm hoping there's some way to reconcile both. I'm really tired of being a Jewish Mayan or a Hindu Celt! I noticed someone was merging the two but it doesn't seem to be a public project. Might anyone know what the conflict is, and if it can be fixed?

I get this message upon starting a game: BugInit - Cannot find XML file for ModInit

I'm running OSX Snow Leopard
3.19 BTS
4.4 BUG
The latest JARM (can't remember version)

My error logs:
PythonDbg.txt

PythonErr.txt

Last edited by Skytha; Apr 08, 2012 at 11:30 AM.
Skytha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 08, 2012, 05:30 PM   #289
AlanH
Mac addict, php monkey

 
AlanH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: England
Posts: 27,206
I don't know JARM, and I have never tried to combine BUG with another mod, but your PythonDbg.txt file contains a couple of significant lines:


12:19:58 DEBUG: BugPath - not a file: '/Users/Gwytherinn/Documents/Civilization IV Beyond the Sword/Mods/JARM/Assets/Config/init.xml'
12:19:58 DEBUG: BugPath - not a file: '/Users/Gwytherinn/Library/Application Support/Steam/SteamApps/common/sid meier's civilization iv beyond the sword/Beyond the Sword/Assets/Config/init.xml'
12:19:58 WARN : BugPath - cannot find asset file init.xml in Config
12:19:58 ERROR: BugInit - cannot find XML file for mod init

The BUG mod is looking for its init.xml file. It looks as if it expects to find it in the main BtS data folder, or inside JARM. This is strange, as on my system it is in ~/Documents/Civilization IV Beyond the Sword/MODS/BUGMod_4.4/Assets/Config. The Config folder is normally created automatically when BUG first runs, so I think there is a problem with interaction between JARM and BUG. Have you checked with the BUG development team?
__________________
-- Alan -- - Fold for TeamCFC Avatar image: Milan Trykar. Courtesy of Snow Leopard Trust
C-IV SGOTM Links: [thread= 529162]BtS SGOTM 20 Maintenance Thread[/thread] | Progress & Results | BUFFY Mod for BtS 3.19
Mac OS X C-IV Utilities Drag'n'Drop Mod Installer | GOTM Mac HOF Mod | Macapaka .fpk File Extractor and Creator | GOTM Mac Assets Checker
Civ3 Utilities: 20K Culture Excel Calc w. Anarchy OS X: FileValet compressor/archiver for Civ3 Complete | Civ3 1.29b2 Updater | TextEdit for Civ3 Mods

Last edited by AlanH; Apr 08, 2012 at 05:34 PM.
AlanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 08, 2012, 07:06 PM   #290
Xyth
𝄢 𝄢 𝄢 𝄢 𝄢
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Aotearoa
Posts: 3,031
My guess is that you've tried to merge BUG into JARM, it would actually be much easier to do it the other way around. BUG is more complicated than pretty much any other non SDK mod component out there so its always best to use it as the base.

Unfortunately BUG and JARM are not trivial to merge, not because of Python or XML quirks, but because they both have customised gamefont files that need to be combined. These are .tga files found in /Assets/Res/ and are notoriously difficult to work with. One pixel out of place in the invisible alpha channel can break or even crash your mod. There's a great Gamefont Editor available that simplifies the process immensely, but it's Windows only. I had no luck getting it to work via WINE but it runs fine under virtualization (Fusion/Parallels/etc) if have you such an option. You'll need to do some reading on how the gamefont files work though; even with the editor they're tricky wee beasties that many modders avoid when possible.
__________________
History Rewritten - 1.21.1 released 8th May 2014
Expanded content and enhanced gameplay for BTS - Mac, Windows, and Multiplayer compatible!
• 52 Civilizations, 154 Leaders, 20 Traits, 36 Civics, 140 Techs, 18 prophet-founded Religions, 14 real world Corporations, Civil Wars!
• 2nd UUs, Unique Wonders, 16 new Units, 36 new Buildings & Wonders, 17 new Resources, 15 Natural Wonders,
• Civ5-style GPP, Cultural Citystyles, Cultural Unit Art, Dynamic City Naming, improved/expanded Terrain, BUG, and much more!
Xyth is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2012, 08:13 PM   #291
Skytha
Chieftain
 
Skytha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Peru
Posts: 11
Hi Alan and Xyth (Hey, I downloaded your mod! I haven't tried it yet though.) thanks a lot for taking a look and giving me some feedback - I really appreciate it. I think for now I'll just use JARM, the effort to merge the two is definitely not something I can take on at the moment. Maybe I'll crosspost this in one of the BUG threads and see what they say.

PS - I put JARM in the mods folder and set it to load automatically. I put BUG in the custom assets folder so that it would load automatically as well. No effort to merge.
Skytha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 04, 2012, 04:05 PM   #292
yanner39
Emperor
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,334
This is possibly a dumb question. I got a new PC today. I installed Civ4, BTS, patched it to 3.19, installed BUG 4.4 and I and trying to install BULL. I'm following the directions to copy the CvGameCoreDLL.dll (change the name of the original and then try and copy the new one). Windows asks for permission so I put my password. I see it copy but the file is nowhere to be seen in the folder. It's like it doesn't want to copy.

Anything thoughts?

Thanks.
yanner39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 04, 2012, 04:39 PM   #293
AlanH
Mac addict, php monkey

 
AlanH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: England
Posts: 27,206
Why are you posting this in the Mac forum?
__________________
-- Alan -- - Fold for TeamCFC Avatar image: Milan Trykar. Courtesy of Snow Leopard Trust
C-IV SGOTM Links: [thread= 529162]BtS SGOTM 20 Maintenance Thread[/thread] | Progress & Results | BUFFY Mod for BtS 3.19
Mac OS X C-IV Utilities Drag'n'Drop Mod Installer | GOTM Mac HOF Mod | Macapaka .fpk File Extractor and Creator | GOTM Mac Assets Checker
Civ3 Utilities: 20K Culture Excel Calc w. Anarchy OS X: FileValet compressor/archiver for Civ3 Complete | Civ3 1.29b2 Updater | TextEdit for Civ3 Mods
AlanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 04, 2012, 04:41 PM   #294
yanner39
Emperor
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,334
Hi AlanH

Yeah my mistake. Sorry about that. Will repost in correct forum.
yanner39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 05, 2012, 02:13 PM   #295
Bacon Maker
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 10
I keep getting a crash to desktop after installing the BUG Mod to my applications/Civilization IV/BtS/Mods folder. I deleted line 699 from the python file as directed. I edited the .ini to launch the BUG Mod by default. The crash happens rarely or not at all during the early game, but it increases in frequency as the game progresses.

Would it be better if I installed the mod to custom assets? I had tried to do this but after following all the directions in the read me, the game would launch in vanilla BtS mode. No idea what I did wrong. Perhaps I need idiot-proof instructions on how to install to custom assets.

Here's the most recent crash report:

Spoiler:
Process: Civilization IV Beyond the Sword [50497]
Path: /Applications/Civilization IV/Beyond the Sword/Civilization IV Beyond the Sword.app/Contents/MacOS/Civilization IV Beyond the Sword
Identifier: com.aspyr.civ4bts
Version: 3.19 (92131)
Code Type: X86 (Native)
Parent Process: launchd [500]

Date/Time: 2012-05-05 13:09:36.505 -0700
OS Version: Mac OS X 10.6.8 (10K549)
Report Version: 6

Interval Since Last Report: 277895 sec
Crashes Since Last Report: 5
Per-App Interval Since Last Report: 58447 sec
Per-App Crashes Since Last Report: 5
Anonymous UUID: D9B6B02D-12AE-4DFE-8D99-97F4A03A3C13

Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)
Exception Codes: KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x00000000b258f000
Crashed Thread: 4

Thread 0: Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread
0 libSystem.B.dylib 0x93b8caa2 __semwait_signal + 10
1 libSystem.B.dylib 0x93b8c75e _pthread_cond_wait + 1191
2 libSystem.B.dylib 0x93b8e3f8 pthread_cond_wait$UNIX2003 + 73
3 GLEngine 0x53aec405 gleFinishCommandBufferPTHREAD + 265
4 GLEngine 0x53a8021d glDeleteTextures_ExecThread + 33
5 libGL.dylib 0x9488b4d0 glDeleteTextures + 38
6 com.aspyr.civ4bts 0x0007091b IDirect3DDevice_Mac::MacDeleteTexture(unsigned long) + 117
7 com.aspyr.civ4bts 0x0006c9a5 IDirect3DBaseTexture_Mac::~IDirect3DBaseTexture_Ma c() + 161
8 com.aspyr.civ4bts 0x000871f2 IDirect3DTexture_Mac::~IDirect3DTexture_Mac() + 160
9 com.aspyr.civ4bts 0x0008e603 IUnknown_Mac::Release() + 29
10 com.aspyr.civ4bts 0x005fb472 FFileWriter::WriteDDS(char const*, NiTexture*, unsigned int, unsigned int, unsigned int) + 768
11 com.aspyr.civ4bts 0x005fb4b9 FFileWriter::WriteTGA(char const*, NiTexture*) + 55
12 com.aspyr.civ4bts 0x00ac9431 CvEngine::render() + 1389
13 com.aspyr.civ4bts 0x00a920a9 CvApp::OnIdle() + 1743
14 com.aspyr.civ4bts 0x0066ea41 FWinApp::Run() + 31
15 com.aspyr.civ4bts 0x00b1ee52 WinMain + 50
16 com.aspyr.civ4bts 0x000a7f99 sEventLoopEventHandler(OpaqueEventHandlerCallRef*, OpaqueEventRef*, void*) + 111
17 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x90745c2f DispatchEventToHandlers(EventTargetRec*, OpaqueEventRef*, HandlerCallRec*) + 1567
18 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x90744ef6 SendEventToEventTargetInternal(OpaqueEventRef*, OpaqueEventTargetRef*, HandlerCallRec*) + 411
19 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x90744d55 SendEventToEventTargetWithOptions + 58
20 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x90779a24 ToolboxEventDispatcherHandler(OpaqueEventHandlerCa llRef*, OpaqueEventRef*, void*) + 3006
21 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x90746080 DispatchEventToHandlers(EventTargetRec*, OpaqueEventRef*, HandlerCallRec*) + 2672
22 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x90744ef6 SendEventToEventTargetInternal(OpaqueEventRef*, OpaqueEventTargetRef*, HandlerCallRec*) + 411
23 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x907677f3 SendEventToEventTarget + 52
24 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x908f0c17 ToolboxEventDispatcher + 86
25 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x908f0d4f RunApplicationEventLoop + 243
26 com.aspyr.civ4bts 0x000a8052 InstallEventsAndRunGameLoop() + 166
27 com.aspyr.civ4bts 0x000a83ea main + 356
28 com.aspyr.civ4bts 0x00002642 _start + 216
29 com.aspyr.civ4bts 0x00002569 start + 41

Thread 1: Dispatch queue: com.apple.libdispatch-manager
0 libSystem.B.dylib 0x93b85382 kevent + 10
1 libSystem.B.dylib 0x93b85a9c _dispatch_mgr_invoke + 215
2 libSystem.B.dylib 0x93b84f59 _dispatch_queue_invoke + 163
3 libSystem.B.dylib 0x93b84cfe _dispatch_worker_thread2 + 240
4 libSystem.B.dylib 0x93b84781 _pthread_wqthread + 390
5 libSystem.B.dylib 0x93b845c6 start_wqthread + 30

Thread 2:
0 libSystem.B.dylib 0x93b5eb5a semaphore_timedwait_signal_trap + 10
1 libSystem.B.dylib 0x93b8c6e1 _pthread_cond_wait + 1066
2 libSystem.B.dylib 0x93bbb5a8 pthread_cond_timedwait_relative_np + 47
3 ...ple.CoreServices.CarbonCore 0x94a8db90 TSWaitOnConditionTimedRelative + 242
4 ...ple.CoreServices.CarbonCore 0x94a8d8ce TSWaitOnSemaphoreCommon + 511
5 ...ickTimeComponents.component 0x93063965 ReadSchedulerThreadEntryPoint + 4698
6 libSystem.B.dylib 0x93b8c259 _pthread_start + 345
7 libSystem.B.dylib 0x93b8c0de thread_start + 34

Thread 3:
0 libSystem.B.dylib 0x93b5eb5a semaphore_timedwait_signal_trap + 10
1 libSystem.B.dylib 0x93b8c6e1 _pthread_cond_wait + 1066
2 libSystem.B.dylib 0x93bbb5a8 pthread_cond_timedwait_relative_np + 47
3 com.apple.audio.CoreAudio 0x960813ab CAGuard::WaitFor(unsigned long long) + 219
4 com.apple.audio.CoreAudio 0x960843dd CAGuard::WaitUntil(unsigned long long) + 289
5 com.apple.audio.CoreAudio 0x96081cda HP_IOThread::WorkLoop() + 1892
6 com.apple.audio.CoreAudio 0x96081571 HP_IOThread::ThreadEntry(HP_IOThread*) + 17
7 com.apple.audio.CoreAudio 0x96081488 CAPThread::Entry(CAPThread*) + 140
8 libSystem.B.dylib 0x93b8c259 _pthread_start + 345
9 libSystem.B.dylib 0x93b8c0de thread_start + 34

Thread 4 Crashed:
0 libSystem.B.dylib 0xffff088c __memcpy + 236
1 com.apple.GeForceGLDriver 0x8f175779 glrCompExecuteKernel + 555497
2 com.apple.GeForceGLDriver 0x8f1d44bd gldModifyTexSubImage + 6557
3 GLEngine 0x53a1625b glTexSubImage2D_Exec + 950
4 GLEngine 0x53a92042 glTexSubImage2D_UnpackThread + 82
5 GLEngine 0x53aeb40f gleCmdProcessorPTHREAD + 311
6 libSystem.B.dylib 0x93b8c259 _pthread_start + 345
7 libSystem.B.dylib 0x93b8c0de thread_start + 34

Thread 4 crashed with X86 Thread State (32-bit):
eax: 0xffff0893 ebx: 0x8f174dd1 ecx: 0x00003000 edx: 0x0000c000
edi: 0x5b477f50 esi: 0xb258f000 ebp: 0xb0313448 esp: 0xb0313440
ss: 0x0000001f efl: 0x00010206 eip: 0xffff088c cs: 0x00000017
ds: 0x0000001f es: 0x0000001f fs: 0x0000001f gs: 0x00000037
cr2: 0xb258f000
Bacon Maker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 05, 2012, 02:30 PM   #296
AlanH
Mac addict, php monkey

 
AlanH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: England
Posts: 27,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacon Maker View Post
Thread 4 Crashed:
0 libSystem.B.dylib 0xffff088c __memcpy + 236
1 com.apple.GeForceGLDriver 0x8f175779 glrCompExecuteKernel + 555497
2 com.apple.GeForceGLDriver 0x8f1d44bd gldModifyTexSubImage + 6557
3 GLEngine 0x53a1625b glTexSubImage2D_Exec + 950
4 GLEngine 0x53a92042 glTexSubImage2D_UnpackThread + 82
5 GLEngine 0x53aeb40f gleCmdProcessorPTHREAD + 311
6 libSystem.B.dylib 0x93b8c259 _pthread_start + 345
7 libSystem.B.dylib 0x93b8c0de thread_start + 34
Looks like a graphics driver bug. Have you (a) turned off anti-aliasing and (b) tried reducing the other graphics settings in the in-game Options menu?
__________________
-- Alan -- - Fold for TeamCFC Avatar image: Milan Trykar. Courtesy of Snow Leopard Trust
C-IV SGOTM Links: [thread= 529162]BtS SGOTM 20 Maintenance Thread[/thread] | Progress & Results | BUFFY Mod for BtS 3.19
Mac OS X C-IV Utilities Drag'n'Drop Mod Installer | GOTM Mac HOF Mod | Macapaka .fpk File Extractor and Creator | GOTM Mac Assets Checker
Civ3 Utilities: 20K Culture Excel Calc w. Anarchy OS X: FileValet compressor/archiver for Civ3 Complete | Civ3 1.29b2 Updater | TextEdit for Civ3 Mods
AlanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 05, 2012, 02:49 PM   #297
Bacon Maker
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 10
a) I always have AA off

b) I always play on high graphic settings in vanilla BtS with no problems, but I did try bumping it down to medium after a few crashes. Should I reduce it to low settings?
Bacon Maker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 05, 2012, 03:20 PM   #298
AlanH
Mac addict, php monkey

 
AlanH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: England
Posts: 27,206
I don't see how installing in CustomAssets would make any difference. If the mod loads then it should run. Once it's loaded it doesn't care where it's loaded from.

What hardware are you running? Nvidia drivers are not known for stability with Civ4, and they stopped updating them on Macs when Apple changed over to ATI as their preferred supplier.
__________________
-- Alan -- - Fold for TeamCFC Avatar image: Milan Trykar. Courtesy of Snow Leopard Trust
C-IV SGOTM Links: [thread= 529162]BtS SGOTM 20 Maintenance Thread[/thread] | Progress & Results | BUFFY Mod for BtS 3.19
Mac OS X C-IV Utilities Drag'n'Drop Mod Installer | GOTM Mac HOF Mod | Macapaka .fpk File Extractor and Creator | GOTM Mac Assets Checker
Civ3 Utilities: 20K Culture Excel Calc w. Anarchy OS X: FileValet compressor/archiver for Civ3 Complete | Civ3 1.29b2 Updater | TextEdit for Civ3 Mods
AlanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 05, 2012, 03:33 PM   #299
Bacon Maker
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 10
From System Profiler:

Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,4
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.53 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 3 MB
Memory: 4 GB

NVIDIA GeForce 9400M

VRAM: 256 MB
Bacon Maker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 05, 2012, 04:05 PM   #300
AlanH
Mac addict, php monkey

 
AlanH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: England
Posts: 27,206
Should be good enough.

Have you tried playing in a window instead of full screen? I've seen reports that this can help.
__________________
-- Alan -- - Fold for TeamCFC Avatar image: Milan Trykar. Courtesy of Snow Leopard Trust
C-IV SGOTM Links: [thread= 529162]BtS SGOTM 20 Maintenance Thread[/thread] | Progress & Results | BUFFY Mod for BtS 3.19
Mac OS X C-IV Utilities Drag'n'Drop Mod Installer | GOTM Mac HOF Mod | Macapaka .fpk File Extractor and Creator | GOTM Mac Assets Checker
Civ3 Utilities: 20K Culture Excel Calc w. Anarchy OS X: FileValet compressor/archiver for Civ3 Complete | Civ3 1.29b2 Updater | TextEdit for Civ3 Mods
AlanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Macintosh > Can I use the BUG mod? YES!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[BTS] Problem with BUG 4.0 and CvGameUtils.py (after BUG Mod Update 3.6 -> 4.0) Cybah Civ4 - BTS Unaltered Gameplay (BUG, BAT and BULL) 28 Oct 16, 2009 04:56 PM
[BTS] Merge: BUG Mod + JARM (Just Another Religious Mod) // how to add new religions to BUG Cybah Civ4 - BTS Unaltered Gameplay (BUG, BAT and BULL) 11 Oct 11, 2009 04:48 PM
Merging TechDiffusion.py from Revolution Mod into BUG Mod Cybah Civ4 - BTS Unaltered Gameplay (BUG, BAT and BULL) 5 Oct 21, 2008 07:17 PM
Can't download BUG mod from website - BAT Shows on BUG Page Genv [FP] Civ4 - BTS Unaltered Gameplay (BUG, BAT and BULL) 4 Sep 28, 2008 01:11 PM
MOD bug, text bug and civics! laurenthou Civ4 - Bug Reports 1 Aug 30, 2006 10:50 AM


Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright © Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR