Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION III > Civ3 - Macintosh

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Apr 26, 2012, 01:28 PM   #1
Xman5eleven
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Civ3 Complete on the newer Mac OS

Hi all,
I'm a big Civ3 fan... been playing it for years now, but I've been using the original version all this time. (not a very big fan of Civ 4 or 5). I'm thinking of buying Civ 3 Complete soon though.

I'm planning on getting a MacBook Pro this summer after 10.8 comes out, and I haven't really been up to date on compatibility issues with civ3/macs, but does anyone know if Civ 3 Complete will work on 10.8, or do we just have to wait and see? ALSO just wondering, does Civ 3 Complete work with 10.7?

I've tried searching around for it, and I keep coming across this issue with the 1.22 patch (Rev 1)... and also I've seen a few posts on Quicktime issues... not sure if they have anything to do with it.

But, yea, anyone have any insight on whether C3C works with 10.7/10.8, and if so, are there any certain programs/patches/updates i need to run to make it happen?

Thanks a bunch!
Xman5eleven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 03:50 PM   #2
AlanH
Mac addict, php monkey

 
AlanH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: England
Posts: 27,207
Images: 1
It runs fine on my 13" MacBook Pro running OS X Lion. As far as I know, the only issues I have seen reported in 10.7 are related to the larger screen-size Macs if you try to run it full screen. The Quicktime problems went away a long time ago. You absolutely need the Rev A patch, as that makes it a Universal application. The original release was PowerPC only, and will never run in Lion or Mountain Lion, as they do not support PPC code.

No one should be able to tell you whether 10.8 has any issues since it's a developer-only beta, released under NDA. A major reason for releasing betas to developers is for them to check compatibility with existing applications. Even if Civ3 did have problems with Mountain Lion, it's likely that any incompatibilities would be ironed out before it's release. So there's no guarantee they would still exist in the production version.
__________________
-- Alan -- - Fold for TeamCFC Avatar image: Milan Trykar. Courtesy of Snow Leopard Trust
C-IV SGOTM Links: [thread= 529162]BtS SGOTM 20 Maintenance Thread[/thread] | Progress & Results | BUFFY Mod for BtS 3.19
Mac OS X C-IV Utilities Drag'n'Drop Mod Installer | GOTM Mac HOF Mod | Macapaka .fpk File Extractor and Creator | GOTM Mac Assets Checker
Civ3 Utilities: 20K Culture Excel Calc w. Anarchy OS X: FileValet compressor/archiver for Civ3 Complete | Civ3 1.29b2 Updater | TextEdit for Civ3 Mods
AlanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 08:49 PM   #3
Xman5eleven
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanH View Post
It runs fine on my 13" MacBook Pro running OS X Lion. As far as I know, the only issues I have seen reported in 10.7 are related to the larger screen-size Macs if you try to run it full screen. The Quicktime problems went away a long time ago. You absolutely need the Rev A patch, as that makes it a Universal application. The original release was PowerPC only, and will never run in Lion or Mountain Lion, as they do not support PPC code.

No one should be able to tell you whether 10.8 has any issues since it's a developer-only beta, released under NDA. A major reason for releasing betas to developers is for them to check compatibility with existing applications. Even if Civ3 did have problems with Mountain Lion, it's likely that any incompatibilities would be ironed out before it's release. So there's no guarantee they would still exist in the production version.
Thank you very much! I'm really glad to hear civ 3 isn't outdated in newer macs!
So would you recommend I wait until OS 10.8 comes out to get C3C or would it not matter?
Xman5eleven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 05:59 AM   #4
AlanH
Mac addict, php monkey

 
AlanH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: England
Posts: 27,207
Images: 1
I'm not in a position to recommend - it depends on your attitude to risk.

It's most likely it will run in 10.8 - it has survived the OS X upgrades from 10.4 to 10.7. But I'm not going to guarantee that for software that's at least 7 years old.
__________________
-- Alan -- - Fold for TeamCFC Avatar image: Milan Trykar. Courtesy of Snow Leopard Trust
C-IV SGOTM Links: [thread= 529162]BtS SGOTM 20 Maintenance Thread[/thread] | Progress & Results | BUFFY Mod for BtS 3.19
Mac OS X C-IV Utilities Drag'n'Drop Mod Installer | GOTM Mac HOF Mod | Macapaka .fpk File Extractor and Creator | GOTM Mac Assets Checker
Civ3 Utilities: 20K Culture Excel Calc w. Anarchy OS X: FileValet compressor/archiver for Civ3 Complete | Civ3 1.29b2 Updater | TextEdit for Civ3 Mods
AlanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 02:30 PM   #5
Blue Monkey
Oldman Crackpot
 
Blue Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Feathermoon
Posts: 10,303
Images: 3
I have two versions of C3C - primary on my Mac Mini (10.6.8) and secondary Windows version running under XP via Parallels. I would imagine worse comes to worst you could at least run the Windows version in a similar setup. At least temporarily - while compatibility is ironed out.
__________________
A labyrinthine man never seeks the truth, but only his Ariadne - Nietzsche

The Many Worlds of Steampunk : Dark Continent
Blue Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 03:37 PM   #6
AlanH
Mac addict, php monkey

 
AlanH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: England
Posts: 27,207
Images: 1
To run the Windows version you would have to buy the Windows version and Windows itself - plus Parallels if you didn't want to use Bootcamp. The cost of that lot makes the <$20 for C3C/Mac look like small change.
__________________
-- Alan -- - Fold for TeamCFC Avatar image: Milan Trykar. Courtesy of Snow Leopard Trust
C-IV SGOTM Links: [thread= 529162]BtS SGOTM 20 Maintenance Thread[/thread] | Progress & Results | BUFFY Mod for BtS 3.19
Mac OS X C-IV Utilities Drag'n'Drop Mod Installer | GOTM Mac HOF Mod | Macapaka .fpk File Extractor and Creator | GOTM Mac Assets Checker
Civ3 Utilities: 20K Culture Excel Calc w. Anarchy OS X: FileValet compressor/archiver for Civ3 Complete | Civ3 1.29b2 Updater | TextEdit for Civ3 Mods
AlanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 07:05 PM   #7
Blue Monkey
Oldman Crackpot
 
Blue Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Feathermoon
Posts: 10,303
Images: 3
Agreed. I was thinking of the situation where all that was already on hand.
__________________
A labyrinthine man never seeks the truth, but only his Ariadne - Nietzsche

The Many Worlds of Steampunk : Dark Continent
Blue Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2012, 07:16 PM   #8
timerover51
Deity
 
timerover51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chicago area in Illinois
Posts: 2,837
I have tried running the Windows version under Parellels and Windows XP on a Macbook running 10.5.8 and gotten some wierd screen results. Do I need to run in under a certain display setting or in less than full screen mode?

Will the original Mac Version work under 10.5.8, or do I need something else?
__________________
Son home for a weekend visit from California!!!!!

timerover51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 02, 2012, 02:47 AM   #9
AlanH
Mac addict, php monkey

 
AlanH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: England
Posts: 27,207
Images: 1
Re. Parallels - Depends what problems you are seeing. What version of Parallels are you running?

If you mean the old MacSoft version, then I don't think it runs on recent OS X and Intel CPUs. You need Aspyr's Civ3 Complete for 10.5.8
__________________
-- Alan -- - Fold for TeamCFC Avatar image: Milan Trykar. Courtesy of Snow Leopard Trust
C-IV SGOTM Links: [thread= 529162]BtS SGOTM 20 Maintenance Thread[/thread] | Progress & Results | BUFFY Mod for BtS 3.19
Mac OS X C-IV Utilities Drag'n'Drop Mod Installer | GOTM Mac HOF Mod | Macapaka .fpk File Extractor and Creator | GOTM Mac Assets Checker
Civ3 Utilities: 20K Culture Excel Calc w. Anarchy OS X: FileValet compressor/archiver for Civ3 Complete | Civ3 1.29b2 Updater | TextEdit for Civ3 Mods
AlanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 07:18 AM   #10
LFRANK
Chieftain
 
LFRANK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2
Mac Updater Hangs on SL

Am just getting back into playing Civ3 Complete (Mac version) again after a couple years of hiatus (so long I forgot my CivFan password and registered again, sigh). Unfortunately I am seem to be stuck using v1.22A as the 1.29f updater (a Stuffit Installermaker 7.1.2 archive) hangs when I launch it on Mac OS X 10.6.8 Snow Leopard. Since it's copyright 2002 maybe I'm expecting a bit too much. LOL Looked all over the web for a zip version of the files but found nada.

Anyone have the files I need, or a solution to the updater hanging?

thx // frank
LFRANK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 07:32 AM   #11
AlanH
Mac addict, php monkey

 
AlanH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: England
Posts: 27,207
Images: 1
Hi, welcome (back)

You don't need to update Civ3 Complete Rev A. Version 1.22A is the latest release from Aspyr.

The v1.29 updater was only relevant for the old MacSoft version, which is not what you have, and would not run on your Mac now anyway.
__________________
-- Alan -- - Fold for TeamCFC Avatar image: Milan Trykar. Courtesy of Snow Leopard Trust
C-IV SGOTM Links: [thread= 529162]BtS SGOTM 20 Maintenance Thread[/thread] | Progress & Results | BUFFY Mod for BtS 3.19
Mac OS X C-IV Utilities Drag'n'Drop Mod Installer | GOTM Mac HOF Mod | Macapaka .fpk File Extractor and Creator | GOTM Mac Assets Checker
Civ3 Utilities: 20K Culture Excel Calc w. Anarchy OS X: FileValet compressor/archiver for Civ3 Complete | Civ3 1.29b2 Updater | TextEdit for Civ3 Mods
AlanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 11:09 AM   #12
LFRANK
Chieftain
 
LFRANK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2
Ah, that explains it all...

...now I'm not as confused as before.

Thx Alan.
LFRANK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2012, 10:26 PM   #13
Atti1a
Chieftain
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Hi quick question: Recently had to upgrade from a G4 PPC to an Intel iMac (OS X 10.7.4). Neither C3C nor the Rev 1.22A installer will run, because "PPC applications are no longer supported." Yet I see some people seem to be running C3C on 10.7 systems. Am I missing something? Any help is appreciated. I loved C3C, and I just haven't been able to get into Civ5 the way Civ 3 worked for me. Thanks!
Atti1a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 02:54 AM   #14
AlanH
Mac addict, php monkey

 
AlanH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: England
Posts: 27,207
Images: 1
It may be that there is a catch 22 here. In order to run Civ3 Complete in Lion, it has to be the Rev A version, as the original release was PPC only, and required Rosetta to run. Rosetta is no longer available in Lion. However, the Rev A updater is a PPC-only program, so it will not run on Lion.

I am able to run Civ3 Complete on my Lion laptop, because I copied it across from my older OS, where I had already it updated to Rev A.

I think the only option you have is to raise this with Aspyr. They should provide you with a copy of the current version of the disk, or a download link, to enable you to install the Rev A software.
__________________
-- Alan -- - Fold for TeamCFC Avatar image: Milan Trykar. Courtesy of Snow Leopard Trust
C-IV SGOTM Links: [thread= 529162]BtS SGOTM 20 Maintenance Thread[/thread] | Progress & Results | BUFFY Mod for BtS 3.19
Mac OS X C-IV Utilities Drag'n'Drop Mod Installer | GOTM Mac HOF Mod | Macapaka .fpk File Extractor and Creator | GOTM Mac Assets Checker
Civ3 Utilities: 20K Culture Excel Calc w. Anarchy OS X: FileValet compressor/archiver for Civ3 Complete | Civ3 1.29b2 Updater | TextEdit for Civ3 Mods
AlanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 05:39 PM   #15
Atti1a
Chieftain
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks

I was afraid of that. I'll see if Aspyr can help...
Atti1a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 06:10 PM   #16
AlanH
Mac addict, php monkey

 
AlanH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: England
Posts: 27,207
Images: 1
I guess plan B would be to find a friend with a Mac running a pre-Lion OS. Install and upgrade your software on that Mac, then copy it to a memory stick and transfer it to your Lion system. You just need to transfer the Civ3 Complete folder that's installed in /Applications/
__________________
-- Alan -- - Fold for TeamCFC Avatar image: Milan Trykar. Courtesy of Snow Leopard Trust
C-IV SGOTM Links: [thread= 529162]BtS SGOTM 20 Maintenance Thread[/thread] | Progress & Results | BUFFY Mod for BtS 3.19
Mac OS X C-IV Utilities Drag'n'Drop Mod Installer | GOTM Mac HOF Mod | Macapaka .fpk File Extractor and Creator | GOTM Mac Assets Checker
Civ3 Utilities: 20K Culture Excel Calc w. Anarchy OS X: FileValet compressor/archiver for Civ3 Complete | Civ3 1.29b2 Updater | TextEdit for Civ3 Mods
AlanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 03, 2012, 08:06 PM   #17
Atti1a
Chieftain
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Plan B works

Aspyr wasn't of any help. They're recommendation was to buy the game again and sell the CD on ebay. Plan B worked, however, and I now have C3C running on Lion, albeit with a few graphic glitches (the "unit death" and "unit cheering" animations don't run, and unit movement seems a little slower than it was on the old iBook G4). Haven't figured out how to overcome that, but at least it's playing.
Atti1a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2013, 08:50 PM   #18
Xman5eleven
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Hi all,
Has anyone tried Civ 3 Complete with 10.8? How does it run? Does it run well with the Intel HD Graphics 4000 512MB? After a little bit of searching around here, I found that you have to download and install the Rev A Patch, and then also install the Aspyr fix to get it going on intel. Is this correct? Thanks a lot.

I was wondering particularly because it says under the game system requirements that "Intel integrated video chipsets are not supported." I hope this isn't a problem.

Last edited by AlanH; Feb 02, 2013 at 01:25 AM.
Xman5eleven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 01:32 AM   #19
AlanH
Mac addict, php monkey

 
AlanH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: England
Posts: 27,207
Images: 1
Hi.

Yes, you need the Rev A patch to make it Intel-compatible, as the original release was PowerPC only, and required the Rosetta layer in order to run on Intel - this is old software! Rosetta is not supported by OS X 10.8. And I think the fix is needed to make the installer run. GateKeeper will need to be told that it's OK to run it, as it won't have a developer signature. Other than that, you should be OK.

There should be no problem with modern integrated chipsets. When Aspyr first released Complete, the Intel chipsets were rubbish for gaming, but the HD4000 is fine.
__________________
-- Alan -- - Fold for TeamCFC Avatar image: Milan Trykar. Courtesy of Snow Leopard Trust
C-IV SGOTM Links: [thread= 529162]BtS SGOTM 20 Maintenance Thread[/thread] | Progress & Results | BUFFY Mod for BtS 3.19
Mac OS X C-IV Utilities Drag'n'Drop Mod Installer | GOTM Mac HOF Mod | Macapaka .fpk File Extractor and Creator | GOTM Mac Assets Checker
Civ3 Utilities: 20K Culture Excel Calc w. Anarchy OS X: FileValet compressor/archiver for Civ3 Complete | Civ3 1.29b2 Updater | TextEdit for Civ3 Mods
AlanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 01:38 PM   #20
Xman5eleven
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks for the quick reply.

I just bought it and finally got it to run after I switched to window-mode. I got the download version so there was no need to get the rev A update. Game runs really well. Thanks a bunch!
Xman5eleven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION III > Civ3 - Macintosh > Civ3 Complete on the newer Mac OS

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR