Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - General Discussions

Notices

Civ5 - General Discussions Forum for general Civ5 discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Apr 26, 2012, 05:58 PM   #1
OsmarChito
Warlord
 
OsmarChito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 144
World map

They should add world map trading like they used in past civ games don't you all think?
OsmarChito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 06:58 PM   #2
TheKingOfBigOz
Deity
 
TheKingOfBigOz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Shaka's hut ;)
Posts: 4,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by OsmarChito View Post
They should add world map trading like they used in past civ games don't you all think?
I kinda agree, especially that I tend to avoid exploration for a while once I meet all of the civs, and unless I'm going for a diplo victroy, I don't care about the other City States.
__________________
Still a proud supporter of Shaka's Loincloth.

If you create another file and make it update the base game its modding. but if you just change the base game file that's cheating. - knightmare13

I think we should dwelp more on the subject.
TheKingOfBigOz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 07:00 PM   #3
Louis XXIV
Le Roi Soleil
 
Louis XXIV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 13,273
Gender: Male
I don't think that's a good idea. It dramatically reduces the impact of exploration, which is one of the more fun things to do. Considering the amount of difficulty with faulty maps even during WWII, there's no compelling need to add them for historical reasons either.
__________________
Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy
-Ben Franklin
Louis XXIV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 09:19 PM   #4
theadder
Prince
 
theadder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Addoria
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Louis XXIV View Post
I don't think that's a good idea. It dramatically reduces the impact of exploration, which is one of the more fun things to do. Considering the amount of difficulty with faulty maps even during WWII, there's no compelling need to add them for historical reasons either.
Perhaps the compromise is to allow it later in the game; they already have Satellites and so we know that they are not completely opposed to unearnt exploration. It is possible that they might have trading somewhat later than other games have had.
theadder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 11:17 PM   #5
comatosedragon
King
 
comatosedragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Harrisonburg Virginia
Posts: 812
Or maybe it could be so you could only trade maps of your own territory, meaning lands within your borders. If an AI civ is sharing a border with a city-state or another civ you have yet to meet, the 'value' of the map will go up. You will also essentially be trading happiness (or receiving) if there are natural wonders within the borders. This seems like a better deal to me than open borders, and it would also greatly increase the cost and importance of trading open borders, and possibly cut down on exploits as well.
comatosedragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 12:18 AM   #6
nokmirt
Emperor
 
nokmirt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 4,582
I am not sure about that, I don't mind waiting for the map to show completely in the late game. However, they should add some huge world TSL maps, with a few different variations.
__________________
“No one but a poltroon will boast that he never was afraid.”
―Jean Lannes
nokmirt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 01:21 AM   #7
SHaW1986
Prince
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Iowa City, Iowa
Posts: 334
One way or another they SHOULD reintroduce map trading.
SHaW1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 02:50 AM   #8
animalguy
Ermahgerd
 
animalguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 277
I think they should add it as an espionage activity, making it possile for your spies to 'borrow' maps from other civs that you are spying on. The map recived should also be like the ones obtained in ruins, meaniung there would be patcches of the map unkown while others could be explored.
animalguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 03:05 AM   #9
Montov
King
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 693
It could work to only trade the minimap
Montov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 04:06 AM   #10
blackcatatonic
Emperor
 
blackcatatonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by Louis XXIV View Post
I don't think that's a good idea. It dramatically reduces the impact of exploration, which is one of the more fun things to do. Considering the amount of difficulty with faulty maps even during WWII, there's no compelling need to add them for historical reasons either.
This. I like that there's no way to uncover the map without exploring it yourself. Plus map trading would affect things like finding National Wonders (so you could potentially buy someone's map and end up with +++ happiness instantly, plus unlock a CS quest or two).
blackcatatonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 04:57 AM   #11
Krzowwh
King
 
Krzowwh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: California
Posts: 783
This sort of stance on revealing parts of the map by nationally funded exploration favors imperialism and seems Eurocentric, as many nations have succeeded without it, having learned about other lands by maps constructed by cartographers based on accounts of local "explorers", i.e. merchants and diplomats.
Krzowwh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 09:31 PM   #12
theadder
Prince
 
theadder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Addoria
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by animalguy View Post
I think they should add it as an espionage activity, making it possile for your spies to 'borrow' maps from other civs that you are spying on. The map recived should also be like the ones obtained in ruins, meaniung there would be patcches of the map unkown while others could be explored.
If Firaxis doesn't add full map trading, I'd welcome that. Adding it to espionage would be interesting.
theadder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 11:58 PM   #13
Glassmage
The Desert Flame
 
Glassmage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1,619
Only allow minimap trade. Map trading and tech trading make the game boring.
Glassmage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 12:11 AM   #14
TheKingOfBigOz
Deity
 
TheKingOfBigOz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Shaka's hut ;)
Posts: 4,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glassmage View Post
Only allow minimap trade. Map trading and tech trading make the game boring.
That's way too complex in my opinion, if you gonna permit minimap trading then just make map trading anyways. If that would be in it would be absolutely pointless, minimaps are nearly useless in game anyway, they tell you nothing but city locations, territory and mountains (oh and water and rivers).

THAT'S IT.

Besides, I'm sure it's hardcoded that the in-game terrain map works together with the mini-map.
__________________
Still a proud supporter of Shaka's Loincloth.

If you create another file and make it update the base game its modding. but if you just change the base game file that's cheating. - knightmare13

I think we should dwelp more on the subject.
TheKingOfBigOz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 04:51 PM   #15
OsmarChito
Warlord
 
OsmarChito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by animalguy View Post
I think they should add it as an espionage activity, making it possile for your spies to 'borrow' maps from other civs that you are spying on. The map recived should also be like the ones obtained in ruins, meaniung there would be patcches of the map unkown while others could be explored.
thats a very good idea....they should add that
OsmarChito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 05:01 PM   #16
Buccaneer
Deity
 
Buccaneer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,515
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glassmage View Post
Only allow minimap trade. Map trading and tech trading make the game boring.
I wouldn't like minimap trading. I agree with the second sentence.
Buccaneer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 05:58 PM   #17
Pouakai
Tangaroa

 
Pouakai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Republic of New Zealand
Posts: 6,175
What if instead of map trading have exploratory agreements? Like research agreements instead of tech trading, have it so each side pays x gold and over the next 30 turns random tiles that the other player has found that are adjacent to known tiles are revealed?
Pouakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 07:12 PM   #18
TheKingOfBigOz
Deity
 
TheKingOfBigOz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Shaka's hut ;)
Posts: 4,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pouakai View Post
What if instead of map trading have exploratory agreements? Like research agreements instead of tech trading, have it so each side pays x gold and over the next 30 turns random tiles that the other player has found that are adjacent to known tiles are revealed?
Hm, on paper it sounds good, but in reality you save way more money and are better off just scouting it yourself.

I guess you could "steal" enemy's map via Espionage, I don't think there's anything wrong with that. I mean, we can already steal techs, so why not steal maps?
__________________
Still a proud supporter of Shaka's Loincloth.

If you create another file and make it update the base game its modding. but if you just change the base game file that's cheating. - knightmare13

I think we should dwelp more on the subject.
TheKingOfBigOz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 07:29 PM   #19
Buccaneer
Deity
 
Buccaneer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,515
In all of my Civ5 games, I have rarely re-loaded. The only exception was when I get a map in a ruin. I won't even look at its "content" when it comes up because I value exploration and surprises so highly in the early game. There aren't 'that' many hexes on a standard map so I see no reason to know about any in advance or without exposing the hex myself.
Buccaneer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 03:02 PM   #20
CoolLizy
Prince
 
CoolLizy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 534
I like the idea a couple people mentioned earlier of just being able to trade a map of what's in your borders.
CoolLizy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - General Discussions > World map

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright © Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR