Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION II > Civ2 - Scenario Creation

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Apr 24, 2012, 02:51 PM   #1
Grandpa Troll
Ronin
 
Grandpa Troll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Jacksonville North Carolina USA
Posts: 189
Are there any large land mass maps out there for larger than normal world sizes?

I love a large land mass game, any suggestions of made maps by anyone I could download?

Thanks in advance!

Gramps
__________________
Member of all three major civilization sites. because of our community, I feel I have three homes. I allways use CFC for most of the information i seek and have found the Staff and membership very accomodating, plus i know many here and they are very nice people, even to an old broken down Gramps!
Grandpa Troll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 03:19 AM   #2
Catfish
Brutal Biscuivore
 
Catfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wollongong, Australia
Posts: 1,333
Try Peter Blackman's CivMapGen utility. You should be able to generate something to your taste by playing around with the Sea Level and Feature Size values under Land Mass and Land Form, respectively.

You could also check the downloads database and old downloads sections here at CFC, as well as Mercator's Map section.
Catfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 02:53 PM   #3
Grandpa Troll
Ronin
 
Grandpa Troll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Jacksonville North Carolina USA
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catfish View Post
Try Peter Blackman's CivMapGen utility. You should be able to generate something to your taste by playing around with the Sea Level and Feature Size values under Land Mass and Land Form, respectively.

You could also check the downloads database and old downloads sections here at CFC, as well as Mercator's Map section.
Thank you so much Catfish!
__________________
Member of all three major civilization sites. because of our community, I feel I have three homes. I allways use CFC for most of the information i seek and have found the Staff and membership very accomodating, plus i know many here and they are very nice people, even to an old broken down Gramps!
Grandpa Troll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 04:27 PM   #4
Grandpa Troll
Ronin
 
Grandpa Troll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Jacksonville North Carolina USA
Posts: 189
Catfish

Is it possible to say start a game, save it so all computer players are in play, then go in and alter the saved map?

By alter I mean cover portions of ocean with land, add rivers and huts.

Can I do this?

Thank you for any assistance!

Gramps!
__________________
Member of all three major civilization sites. because of our community, I feel I have three homes. I allways use CFC for most of the information i seek and have found the Staff and membership very accomodating, plus i know many here and they are very nice people, even to an old broken down Gramps!
Grandpa Troll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 08:41 PM   #5
Catfish
Brutal Biscuivore
 
Catfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wollongong, Australia
Posts: 1,333
Such things are possible, but they're not all equally practical. You've listed three things here. Terrain can be altered, somewhat tediously, within the game by hitting Shift+F8. It is not possible to add rivers using this method. For that, use Keu's CivRiver utility (it's command line stuff). For large-scale terrain editing it may be more practical to export the map (Ctrl+Shift+3), edit it using the Civ2 Map Editor (where you can easily add chunks of terrain and rivers) and then import the new terrain data back into your saved game using Dusty Reichwein's MapCopy utility (more command line stuff).

The goody huts can be restored easily enough if you're not particular about which ones: Cheat menu → Scenario Parameters → Restore all goody boxes. As you probably know, goody hut distribution conforms to preset patterns, so you can't place your huts wherever you choose; you can only hide or reveal them. Their presence on the map is determined by tile ownership, in other words, has the tile been visited by a tribe previously? One way to alter this for individual huts would be through hex editing (only recommended for advanced designers), another might be to restore all goody huts (as described earlier), and then place barbarian units (Shift+F1, pick Foreign → Barbarians) on the tiles containing the huts you wish to remove. Delete (Ctrl+Shift+D) the barbarian units when you're done.
Catfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2012, 12:07 PM   #6
vktj
Warlord
 
vktj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 176
[Wrong game, sorry]
__________________
Check out my map script, my collection of all known CIV4 map scripts, as well as my update to Legends of Ancient Arabia (which includes three map scripts). I also have my own Civ4 web page

Last edited by vktj; Jun 14, 2012 at 12:12 PM. Reason: wrong game,sorry
vktj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION II > Civ2 - Scenario Creation > [TOT] Are there any large land mass maps out there for larger than normal world sizes?

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR