Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - Macintosh

Notices

Civ5 - Macintosh Discuss Mac Civ5 related issues.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old May 01, 2012, 09:54 AM   #1
oliver
Chieftain
 
oliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Amman, Jordan
Posts: 39
Gods and Kings Mac

I've been looking around and cannot find any dates when gods and kings will be released and know its approximately 30 to 50 after it's released on windows but when exactly.
oliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2012, 11:43 AM   #2
CGPanama
Warlord
 
CGPanama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 103
Aspyr has not released a date yet, but say they are working to keep the delay as short as possible.
CGPanama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2012, 01:58 PM   #3
Sidlicious
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 50
Sssshh, quiet quiet. I'm trying to pretend I have not heard of this expansion until it comes out on Mac, so that I don't have to listen to all my PC friends going on about how great it is while I wait with barely contained excitement.

Then once they start patching it we'll have to do the whole 'can't play cross platform cause patches are out of synch' thing again.
Sidlicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2012, 03:21 PM   #4
forty2j
King
 
forty2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 713
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sidlicious View Post
Sssshh, quiet quiet. I'm trying to pretend I have not heard of this expansion until it comes out on Mac, so that I don't have to listen to all my PC friends going on about how great it is while I wait with barely contained excitement.

Then once they start patching it we'll have to do the whole 'can't play cross platform cause patches are out of synch' thing again.
At least, we should be able to play vanilla cross-platform while waiting for G&K patches.
forty2j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2012, 07:39 PM   #5
AspyrRyan
Warlord
 
AspyrRyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 297
All I can say for certain at this point is that it won't be out before June 19th.
__________________
I'm not tech support, but I know people who are at http://support.aspyr.com/
AspyrRyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 02, 2012, 09:03 AM   #6
dojoboy
Tsalagi
 
dojoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Tansi, USA
Posts: 4,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by AspyrRyan View Post
All I can say for certain at this point is that it won't be out before June 19th.
__________________
"And now, cried Max, let the wild rumpus start!" --- Maurice Sendak (Where the Wild Things Are)
"According to your faith, be it unto you." --- Jesus (Matthew 9:29)

GOTM66 (PTW): Green Shield
GOTM39 (Civ4): Purple Shield CivRev (DS) FC -> 0302-1438-9435
dojoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 02, 2012, 10:09 AM   #7
CGPanama
Warlord
 
CGPanama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by AspyrRyan View Post
All I can say for certain at this point is that it won't be out before June 19th.
Ryan, This leaves open the possibility that it will be available on the 19th.

CGPanama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 06, 2012, 02:33 PM   #8
docbud
King
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 804
I can't hardly wait until it comes out. I'll be keeping my eyes open at the App Store.
docbud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2012, 12:04 PM   #9
wagboy
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 24
My hope is that it will run smoother on Macs. I wonder if Aspyr or Firaxis will be able to accomplish that? Or am I just hoping against hope here?
wagboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2012, 03:00 PM   #10
AlanH
Mac addict, php monkey

 
AlanH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: England
Posts: 27,267
That's a triumph of hope over experience if ever I saw one!
__________________
-- Alan -- - Fold for TeamCFC Avatar image: Milan Trykar. Courtesy of Snow Leopard Trust
C-IV SGOTM Links: [thread= 529162]BtS SGOTM 20 Maintenance Thread[/thread] | Progress & Results | BUFFY Mod for BtS 3.19
Mac OS X C-IV Utilities Drag'n'Drop Mod Installer | GOTM Mac HOF Mod | Macapaka .fpk File Extractor and Creator | GOTM Mac Assets Checker
Civ3 Utilities: 20K Culture Excel Calc w. Anarchy OS X: FileValet compressor/archiver for Civ3 Complete | Civ3 1.29b2 Updater | TextEdit for Civ3 Mods
AlanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 09:29 AM   #11
forty2j
King
 
forty2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 713
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by wagboy View Post
My hope is that it will run smoother on Macs. I wonder if Aspyr or Firaxis will be able to accomplish that? Or am I just hoping against hope here?
Unless some hardware acceleration for OpenGL magically appears, this is just a dream.
forty2j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 12:19 PM   #12
wagboy
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanH View Post
That's a triumph of hope over experience if ever I saw one!
I dare to dream . "Sigh," o well. I've been playing Civ, since Civ I (is that 1994?!), and Civ V is the only game that I cannot play on large map types. Maybe I should just bite the bullet and play on bootcamp.
wagboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 02:47 PM   #13
IgnatiusTBarfat
Puppet Master
 
IgnatiusTBarfat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Just out of reach
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by wagboy View Post
I dare to dream . "Sigh," o well. I've been playing Civ, since Civ I (is that 1994?!), and Civ V is the only game that I cannot play on large map types. Maybe I should just bite the bullet and play on bootcamp.
If your are using a MBP for your bootcamp'ed CivV, it will just overheat and go into thermal shutdown.
IgnatiusTBarfat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2012, 07:04 AM   #14
Heinage
Khan
 
Heinage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 442
I googled Aspyr Gods and Kings (because my girlfriend has Civ V on her MacBook Pro and I enjoy playing with her...as well as playing Civ with her, so wanted to see when the expansion will be released for Macs) - and found an article that says they "are working hard to have a Mac version released soon after PC."

Here's the link
Heinage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2012, 11:48 AM   #15
wagboy
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by IgnatiusTBarfat View Post
If your are using a MBP for your bootcamp'ed CivV, it will just overheat and go into thermal shutdown.
Are your words the words of a prophet or a charlatan trying to ruin my joy? I've played . . . Civ IV on bootcamp before, and I did not experience "thermal shutdown" —whatever that means precisely. To be honest, I am not extremely computer savvy when it comes to gaming on MACs. I do have a MBP (2011).
wagboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2012, 03:07 PM   #16
AlanH
Mac addict, php monkey

 
AlanH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: England
Posts: 27,267
The reference here is to Civ5 not Civ4. They are different games.

I have no experience of trying to run Civ5 in Bootcamp, so I would start by assuming that IgnatiusTBarfat has, and speaks from experience. On the other hand .... this is the Internet
__________________
-- Alan -- - Fold for TeamCFC Avatar image: Milan Trykar. Courtesy of Snow Leopard Trust
C-IV SGOTM Links: [thread= 529162]BtS SGOTM 20 Maintenance Thread[/thread] | Progress & Results | BUFFY Mod for BtS 3.19
Mac OS X C-IV Utilities Drag'n'Drop Mod Installer | GOTM Mac HOF Mod | Macapaka .fpk File Extractor and Creator | GOTM Mac Assets Checker
Civ3 Utilities: 20K Culture Excel Calc w. Anarchy OS X: FileValet compressor/archiver for Civ3 Complete | Civ3 1.29b2 Updater | TextEdit for Civ3 Mods
AlanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2012, 03:35 PM   #17
autumnmist
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanH View Post
The reference here is to Civ5 not Civ4. They are different games.

I have no experience of trying to run Civ5 in Bootcamp, so I would start by assuming that IgnatiusTBarfat has, and speaks from experience. On the other hand .... this is the Internet
Well, I for one disagree with IgnatiusTBarfat. I can barely run Civ V on a standard map in OS X on my core i5 MBP (mid 2010, 8 GB RAM, Nvidia 330M).

I can run large (haven't tried beyond that) maps perfectly in Boot Camp (Windows XP and now Windows 7).
autumnmist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2012, 05:04 AM   #18
technome
Chieftain
 
technome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 52
I believe Ignatius is referring to the popular urban legend that the cooling systems of Macs are uncontrolled in Windows and rely solely on intel's inbuilt safety mechanisms. This only used to be the case where the bootcamp drivers weren't installed correctly but has somehow achieved the status of dogma on the internet.
technome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 09:25 AM   #19
forty2j
King
 
forty2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 713
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by autumnmist View Post
Well, I for one disagree with IgnatiusTBarfat. I can barely run Civ V on a standard map in OS X on my core i5 MBP (mid 2010, 8 GB RAM, Nvidia 330M).

I can run large (haven't tried beyond that) maps perfectly in Boot Camp (Windows XP and now Windows 7).
The 330m runs, in my experience, poorly in Windows and not at all in OS X. That's just a feature of the 330m. The 2011's, from what I understand, do much better than the 2010's.
forty2j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 10:35 PM   #20
Mavfin
Artillery Rocks
 
Mavfin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Missouri
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by autumnmist View Post
Well, I for one disagree with IgnatiusTBarfat. I can barely run Civ V on a standard map in OS X on my core i5 MBP (mid 2010, 8 GB RAM, Nvidia 330M).

I can run large (haven't tried beyond that) maps perfectly in Boot Camp (Windows XP and now Windows 7).
The problem isn't your i5, it's the 330M and nVidia's Mac drivers.

Anyone with an nVidia GPU in their Mac should use Bootcamp to game. Simple as that. No game publisher, not even Blizzard, can work around the mess nVidia and Apple left behind on those GPUs.

I have an ATI 4870 in my 3 year old (April 2009) Mac, and I run Civ 5 max graphics. even huge maps just fine, as well as D3 and SC2 at max graphics. I run Rift in Bootcamp fine, too.

so, the problem is not in Civ5, it's a problem Apple and nVidia caused, and when push came to shove, nVidia refused to fix it, even when Apple asked them to. So now, Apple doesn't use them.
__________________
--Mav
Mavfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - Macintosh > Gods and Kings Mac

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright © Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR