B05 - For Honor, For Japan

Beorn-eL-Feared

Idiot riding pedals
Joined
Jan 30, 2005
Messages
5,781
Location
R³ x T's nbhd of North singularity
B05 - For Honor, For Japan

DemiGod Dual-Grid 8CC - just win

When Shogun Tokugawa heard about the grand contest of civilizations held around the world, he couldn't help but feel compelled to erect as a dominant figure for his people, and strived to become a dominant figure for the whole world.

How he would establish his dominion, none could be sure, but he certainly did not wish for a second that any single one of his servants defile the name of Japan - along with the honor it represents.

To this effect, he carefully chose a right and left hand among his highest counsels, and deemed the others unworthy of his path.



Among the population, he also swore he would only spare the worthiest of citizens to build his empire. Unworthy citizens would have to walk the path of the unworthy governors. This selection is the first vow made by The Honorable House of Toku.

To claim back their worth and their honor, these governors would have to lead a city to the making of their first samuraï. Only then would their cities be worthy of spreading the culture of Japan.
 
B05 settings, rules and FAQ:

Patch: 1.22 C3C
Level: DG
Variant: in the FAQ
Water: 70% Continents
Size: Std
Age: 4 bil
Temperature: temperate
Climate: Normal
Barbarians: Roaming
Victory Condition: All in + Mass Regicide
Cultural Conversion: On

Rules: standard, no exploit whatsoever, I expect everyone to be familiar with that. There must be a governer in every one of our cities, except the capital, at every end of turn. The 8CC will thus be loose, we may only press enter with less or equal to 8 cities, and captured cities can be kept only if a governor is along, be him worthy or not.

FAQ:
Q- Wasn't your last one B06 ?
A- Yeah, I missed one.

Q- Dual-Grid ???
A- Units may only travel horizontally and vertically around the map. 5 units will ever cross this rule, and only once: the 4 unworthy governors and the first (unworthy) settler. From then, it's all H-V moves.

Q- Wouldn't that be really stupid?
A- Yup.

Q- And 8CC with it? Why 8 anyways?
A- So that it is less time consuming, basically, and 8 should not pose a major problem of feasability as opposec to OCC or 5CC. There's always the diplomatic backdoor win we can get, if all else fails.

Q- What's with culture?
A- No culture buildings in our 4 unworthy cities before they pulled a sammy out. Not like they won't be pulling sammies out ASAP anyways.

Q- Can I join?
A- I want this to be fun and relaxing for everyone, and this will play above DG, so yeah, you figure it and post accordingly.

Roster:
- Yours idiotically
- ThERat
- M60A3TTS
- Classical_Hero
- Open
 
sounds pretty fun, I'd join if you have me
 
But of course Sir Rat ! I kept you a warm seat.



I went a bit overhead in scouting with my first 20 and got caught on the other side of the Dutch borders with an unworthy governor.



He will have to keep scouting until a dishonored galley can pick him up, I'm afraid, unless we vote on accepting territory bumps - at the obvious condition that if the unit falls on the wrong diagonal of the grid, it is brought back aligned on the very next move. At any rate, for now, it scouts.

I was lucky with huts and contacts, but mass regicide helps a bunch. Note that we aren't allowed to pop the huts sitting on the far south continent, they are on the path of the Honorable ones.

 

Attachments

X-post: welcome M60. Toku has promised the secluded their honor back when they produce Samuraïs, and I sure know leading them will prove him your worth :salute:
 
lurker's comment: I wish I wasnt in SGOTM, but thats a commitment I made. sorry B, no Frogs in this game. :sad:
 
We french Canadians are dubbed frogs by our anglophone neighbors, so we'll have our healthy share of batrachains around, no worries :D
 
It still looks like our exploring governor can get back to friendly lines before a Dutch border expansion. I'd hate to lose him to roaming barbs and then limit us to 7CC.

Edit: I thought they moved 3 like an MGL, but I see it's only 2. No matter, we'll likely just get let off with a warning to vamoose.
 
Passage_home.JPG
 
Good call on the barbs, blame the newb :lol:

I got an automatic boot the first time around and got away with it, but didn't know why, so I assumed the king units can't get a friendly warning.

With the food available and the time we'll need before a Dis- worker can mine the BG's in the capital, I think we're way better off just pulling 3 settlers out before thinking about a granary. The same might be true for the 3 Dis settlers we can get, just because we're on a limited count and we're on a race for good settlements with Portos.
 
are we waiting for more people to join before continuing? I would say so...I hope I won't violate the rules due to some :smoke: on my part :lol:
 
In general, my games have a :rolleyes: amount of variants and we all always end up breaking one at some point. They're here for the :wow:, not the :nono:, so no biggie either way.

It's yours whenever you deem the save worthy ;)

Btw I know the 2nd city is really close for XCC, but I put it there for 3 reasons:
- Fast access to a food bonus and several Hon-workable tiles
- We need to pull cities like bunnies ASAP
- We can always re-locate it when we have our 3 Dis-cities
 
ok, will play later today
 
lurker's comment: Ahh...so idiotic. I'd dig running with you, TheRat and M60 but I have to sit on the sidelines for this one B. Full on feast for the Whomper.
<grabs a seat next to the Frog>
 
Ooh, that's interesting. So if you ever declare war. You'd have to use 2 SoD's next to each other for the best results.

And BTW, what about artillery fire, do they count with the vertical/horizontal thing. The payload does move into the other unit's square. For defensive bombards, the attacking unit moves into your square so it's okay, right?

Otherwise, this is such an imaginative variant that I want to try it too! Not joining this SG though. :(
 
save

built another settler and settled Tokyo on a nice spot (can grab horses, cow)
but the Portugese spoiled the party by founding another city next to it

got a worker for the unworthy grid
built rax for the worthy tiles, so we can go for an arher rush to take out the Portugese

then a barb warrior turned up on the wrong grid
situation is anything but nice, very squeezy

beorn052350.jpg
 
Just a couple minor points. It is considered an exploit in some games to buy workers prior to 1000BC. If that's ok here, fine. Did they move diagonally from the capital to work those tiles? If so, that would be a most dishonorable move, and would by custom be forced to commit sepukku.
 
no diagonal moves for the slaves, I moved them painfully via the south...don't worry
 
Back
Top Bottom