Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization > Civ4 - Mod Components

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Sep 01, 2009, 10:29 AM   #121
hrochland
Prince
 
hrochland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Czech Kingdom
Posts: 1,783
Wow. Circus Hagenbeck is excellent. I downloaded
Thanks.
I hope I can manage paste code by right style. My python unexperience cause many errors when I pasted some from codes
hrochland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 01, 2009, 11:18 AM   #122
The_J
Say No 2 Net Validations
 
The_J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Germany / Netherlands
Posts: 28,974
Thanks .

When you have problems with merging, you should try, if WinMerge does it better.

Or download the latest python version, open the files with it, and try it then. It doesn't mess up the intendation there.
__________________
Civ4-BtS-Mod "Mars, Now!"


Steam eats the souls of little gamers!!!
The_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2009, 08:32 AM   #123
TheLadiesOgre
Aspiring Codesmith
 
TheLadiesOgre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 504
Heroic Strength working after Upgrade

Alright, so last night, I added the Heroic Strength Promotion to the DLL. Good News is-- it is working after a unit upgrades, Bad News is-- I tested it several times last night and not once did the AI use it against me. Ok, it being in the DLL and not Python might be bad news to some as well, but it is working. I am going to do a minor tweak to the AI value for the promotion and recompile, I'll add a link here when it is up. Thank you J for an awesome concept.
__________________
PerfectWorld2.03_WithMarshes
TLOTags: New Promotions all editable from the XML

**Life is Good, updates forthcoming... please be patient though**
TheLadiesOgre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2009, 10:00 AM   #124
Cybah
Emperor
 
Cybah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,467
Great.

Well, can't we add additional AI code in python? See "Marauder Reloaded" code. Other possibility: Low chance for auto-promote a (leader? (= unit with leader promotion)) unit with this promotion.
Cybah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2009, 11:09 AM   #125
hrochland
Prince
 
hrochland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Czech Kingdom
Posts: 1,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_J View Post
Thanks .

Or download the latest python version, open the files with it, and try it then. It doesn't mess up the intendation there.
Yes I tested it and checking write me errors before find my code
nevertheless thinks (some from) are functional.
For exaple I wanted use your promotions but always one is functional. Two or more cause error
hrochland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2009, 11:17 AM   #126
TheLadiesOgre
Aspiring Codesmith
 
TheLadiesOgre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 504
Link and Pics

Here is the DL

Below are some screenshots
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	After_Upgrade.JPG
Views:	61
Size:	269.5 KB
ID:	226692   Click image for larger version

Name:	Before_Upgrade.JPG
Views:	61
Size:	280.1 KB
ID:	226693   Click image for larger version

Name:	Heroic_Strength_I_Civilopedia.JPG
Views:	65
Size:	165.6 KB
ID:	226694  
__________________
PerfectWorld2.03_WithMarshes
TLOTags: New Promotions all editable from the XML

**Life is Good, updates forthcoming... please be patient though**
TheLadiesOgre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2009, 03:49 PM   #127
Cybah
Emperor
 
Cybah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,467
very nice. thanks.
Cybah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2009, 04:01 PM   #128
The_J
Say No 2 Net Validations
 
The_J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Germany / Netherlands
Posts: 28,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLadiesOgre View Post
Alright, so last night, I added the Heroic Strength Promotion to the DLL. Good News is-- it is working after a unit upgrades, Bad News is-- I tested it several times last night and not once did the AI use it against me.
mmhh...AI is always difficult.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLadiesOgre View Post
Ok, it being in the DLL and not Python might be bad news to some as well, but it is working. I am going to do a minor tweak to the AI value for the promotion and recompile, I'll add a link here when it is up. Thank you J for an awesome concept.
Not my concept, it was even not my idea .

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybah View Post
Great.

Well, can't we add additional AI code in python? See "Marauder Reloaded" code. Other possibility: Low chance for auto-promote a (leader? (= unit with leader promotion)) unit with this promotion.
In my python version is additional AI code, but that's just rolling dices.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hrochland View Post
Yes I tested it and checking write me errors before find my code
nevertheless thinks (some from) are functional.
For exaple I wanted use your promotions but always one is functional. Two or more cause error
What errors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLadiesOgre View Post
Here is the DL

Below are some screenshots
well done.
__________________
Civ4-BtS-Mod "Mars, Now!"


Steam eats the souls of little gamers!!!
The_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2009, 04:16 PM   #129
Cybah
Emperor
 
Cybah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,467
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLadiesOgre View Post
Here is the DL

Below are some screenshots
there is a relict in your xml:

Code:
    <!--Promotions DLL Start-->
    <element type="iExtraStrength" minOccurs="0"/>
    <!--Promotions DLL End-->
		<element type="iCityAttack"/>
		<element type="iCityDefense"/>
		<element type="iHillsAttack"/>
		<element type="iHillsDefense"/>
		<element type="iKamikazePercent"/>
		<element type="iRevoltProtection"/>
		<element type="iCollateralDamageProtection"/>
		<element type="iPillageChange"/>
		<element type="iUpgradeDiscount"/>
		<element type="iExperiencePercent"/>
    <!--Promotions DLL v0.1 Start-->
    <element type="iExtraStrength" minOccurs="0"/>
    <!--Promotions DLL v0.1 End-->
one of them should be removed.
Cybah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2009, 04:17 PM   #130
TheLadiesOgre
Aspiring Codesmith
 
TheLadiesOgre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 504
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_J View Post
mmhh...AI is always difficult.
Yeah, it is a PITA but I'm hoping the minor tweak I did works (I didn't test it before I uploaded it). Basically, what I originally did was directly clone the iCombatPercent weights for iExtraStrength then for the "tweak" all I did was add 1 to each of the multipliers for iExtraStrength (going on the logic that it will return a higher number and therefore place a higher value on the promotion if it is available).

EDIT: Thank you Cybah, I'm going to start my own thread for this so that I don't hijack The_J's thread any further.
__________________
PerfectWorld2.03_WithMarshes
TLOTags: New Promotions all editable from the XML

**Life is Good, updates forthcoming... please be patient though**
TheLadiesOgre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 03, 2009, 09:37 AM   #131
strategyonly
Caveman2Cosmos Modder
 
strategyonly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 17,664
Had an error pop-up in the "###WarriorsOfGod Fanatic Part2 End ###
###WarriorsOfGod Monk Part2 Start ### in CvEventManager see: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpo...1&postcount=39 and then a reply to it. Let me know vos ish los?
__________________
Caveman 2 Cosmos updated 24 Feb 14, 12:00a.m.
Caveman2Cosmos Forum: Project and Mod Development Forum HERE
strategyonly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 03, 2009, 06:37 PM   #132
mechaerik
Most Outstanding
 
mechaerik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 6,967
Looks like a whitespace problem to me.
__________________
Extravagance is the enemy.
mechaerik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 04, 2009, 11:35 AM   #133
hrochland
Prince
 
hrochland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Czech Kingdom
Posts: 1,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by hrochland

Yes I tested it and checking write me errors before find my code
nevertheless thinks (some from) are functional.
For exaple I wanted use your promotions but always one is functional. Two or more cause error

What errors?
[/QUOTE]

When I tried paste more then one promotion was functional one only. Its I think error im my paste way...
Can you, please, paste here python part of code with Sneak Promotion , Heroic Strenght Promotion and celebrity Promotion combined?

BTW, water modcomp is excellent. Im making on animated well model now. If will be model functional, I pasted him...

thanks
HROCHland
hrochland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 04, 2009, 06:15 PM   #134
The_J
Say No 2 Net Validations
 
The_J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Germany / Netherlands
Posts: 28,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by mechaerik View Post
Looks like a whitespace problem to me.
i also guess so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hrochland View Post
When I tried paste more then one promotion was functional one only. Its I think error im my paste way...
How do you do it?
When you use Notepad/Wordpad, always select the beginning of the line (not of the text!) when you try to copy + paste it.

Or try Word, it also shows you the spaces.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hrochland View Post
Can you, please, paste here python part of code with Sneak Promotion , Heroic Strenght Promotion and celebrity Promotion combined?
I'll try. I hope, i don't forget it.

I don't suggest using the Heroic Strenght promotion, because it doesn't work after upgrading a unit (TheLadiesOgre has made a dll version, but you can't compile your own dll, and you also have your own, am i right?).
I'll maybe take it out of the database.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hrochland View Post
BTW, water modcomp is excellent. Im making on animated well model now. If will be model functional, I pasted him...

thanks
HROCHland
Nice, i'll update the model.

But you should re-download it, there was an error in it. I named the improvement WELL, like the oil well . -sr has reported the error.

->
Reuploaded the "water" modcomp, to fix that (renamed to WATERWELL, and changed all references).

I've also reuploaded the respawn promotion. I've cleaned up the code a bit, it will also place ships in coastal cities (if available), and i've added a bit AI, so that the promotion will we applied to AI-controlled units.
__________________
Civ4-BtS-Mod "Mars, Now!"


Steam eats the souls of little gamers!!!
The_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 04, 2009, 11:25 PM   #135
Arian
No more ghostbusting!!
 
Arian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,088
I added the Respawn promotion to my mod and confirm that it is working fine. Just a minor thing, something graphical:



It would be nice to have that ugly pink marker replaced by i.e. a rising phoenix. Any idea how to fix this??

EDIT: Forget it. Just change the path in the CvEventManager
__________________
Play A New Dawn, mod for BTS
Various Wondermovies
Get rid of your blurry buttons

Last edited by Arian; Sep 04, 2009 at 11:38 PM.
Arian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 04, 2009, 11:57 PM   #136
Arian
No more ghostbusting!!
 
Arian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,088
Here's a small contribution:

Rising Phoenix button for the Respawn Promotion



Man, am I talking to myself or what
Attached Files
File Type: rar Phoenix.rar (2.3 KB, 30 views)
__________________
Play A New Dawn, mod for BTS
Various Wondermovies
Get rid of your blurry buttons
Arian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 05, 2009, 02:06 AM   #137
strategyonly
Caveman2Cosmos Modder
 
strategyonly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 17,664
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arian View Post
Here's a small contribution:

Rising Phoenix button for the Respawn Promotion



Man, am I talking to myself or what
Well how about a or WHAT then, And thx.
__________________
Caveman 2 Cosmos updated 24 Feb 14, 12:00a.m.
Caveman2Cosmos Forum: Project and Mod Development Forum HERE
strategyonly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 05, 2009, 09:42 AM   #138
hrochland
Prince
 
hrochland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Czech Kingdom
Posts: 1,783
Hi, The_J
here is animated model for water modcomp
http://forums.civfanatics.com/downlo...=file&id=13188

hrochland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 05, 2009, 03:17 PM   #139
cfkane
Emperor
 
cfkane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,195
Hey J, I've been trying to edit the Hagenbeck function so the buidling will start appearing and jumping at the start of the game. I tried changing the 1890 to 0 as you said, but it didn't work. If we're going by game year, wouldn't I have to change it to -4000?
__________________
Fictionalization IV: A myth, lore and pop culture mod
Modding experience? We want YOU!

Now I have a LeaderHead gallery. Ho, ho, ho
cfkane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 05, 2009, 04:50 PM   #140
The_J
Say No 2 Net Validations
 
The_J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Germany / Netherlands
Posts: 28,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arian View Post
Here's a small contribution:

Rising Phoenix button for the Respawn Promotion
Quote:
Originally Posted by hrochland View Post
Hi, The_J
here is animated model for water modcomp
Nice, i'll update both tomorrow .

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfkane View Post
Hey J, I've been trying to edit the Hagenbeck function so the buidling will start appearing and jumping at the start of the game. I tried changing the 1890 to 0 as you said, but it didn't work. If we're going by game year, wouldn't I have to change it to -4000?
I've said, the second value has to be set to 0 .
For the first, -4000 is right .




@hrochland: File is attached .
Attached Files
File Type: zip hrochland-cveventmanager.zip (10.5 KB, 29 views)
__________________
Civ4-BtS-Mod "Mars, Now!"


Steam eats the souls of little gamers!!!
The_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization > Civ4 - Mod Components > [BTS] Simple Python Things

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[PYTHON] Simple popup with Input Box + store variable smartus Civ4 - SDK/Python 1 May 25, 2007 07:38 PM
[PYTHON] Simple Game Clock Mod homegrown Civ4 - Mod Components 85 Aug 17, 2006 07:14 AM
Simple One: Can anyone guide my to an absolute beginners guide to Python? mrkingkong Civ4 - Creation & Customization 3 Dec 09, 2005 11:09 AM
Simple Python Edit Request ArbitraryGuy Civ4 - Creation & Customization 10 Dec 02, 2005 08:24 AM
The Simple Things Moss Off-Topic 5 Mar 18, 2005 01:08 AM


Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR