Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - Technical Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Sep 26, 2010, 01:37 AM   #1
V. Soma
Deity
 
V. Soma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,047
Steam server is too busy on 26th 8 am GMT

Yesterday I played civ5 OK (patched to "17")
Today I can't start...

OK, I try re-install...
...but server is busy...

eh, I believe I am not alone with problems...?

But how come Steam is not prepared to hande users?
It handles major games, I suppose, with LOTS of costumers...

I am sad and angry, too
__________________
creator of:
Clashing of Empires
(A standard sized version of Rhye's Civ for Civ 3)


My civ5 ideas:
- Conditioned Technological Development | Unit maintenance & supply | Land Unit Combat idea for 2 UPT
V. Soma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 05:35 AM   #2
Mercade
the Counsellor
 
Mercade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by V. Soma View Post
Yesterday I played civ5 OK (patched to "17")
Today I can't start...

OK, I try re-install...
...but server is busy...

eh, I believe I am not alone with problems...?

But how come Steam is not prepared to hande users?
It handles major games, I suppose, with LOTS of costumers...

I am sad and angry, too
If you're playing SP, go to off-line mode and only go on-line when a new patch has been confirmed?
Mercade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 09:43 AM   #3
V. Soma
Deity
 
V. Soma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercade View Post
If you're playing SP, go to off-line mode and only go on-line when a new patch has been confirmed?
first I need a working install, which I still can't re-produce...
__________________
creator of:
Clashing of Empires
(A standard sized version of Rhye's Civ for Civ 3)


My civ5 ideas:
- Conditioned Technological Development | Unit maintenance & supply | Land Unit Combat idea for 2 UPT
V. Soma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 12:22 PM   #4
Lord Ainsbirth
Chieftain
 
Lord Ainsbirth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Farallon del Cuervo
Posts: 58
Hi, I have the same problem... after I installed the game, it doesn't start: I think it's because the Steam servers, as I have passed all the requiriments...
__________________
Si avanzo, sigueme.Si me detengo,empujame.Si retrocedo, matame!
Lord Ainsbirth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 01:41 PM   #5
BrainEater5000
Registered User
 
BrainEater5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 62
There was a small update that was downloaded yesterday for Civ V for me. I don't know what it was. The server is probably overloaded on Steam.

To fix this, go to steam's settings and then click on the "downloads + cloud" tab. Then select a different server from the download region drop-down box. It may be best to pick a server in a different time zone than your previous server to avoid peak loads. I hope this helps.
BrainEater5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - Technical Support > Steam server is too busy on 26th 8 am GMT

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR