Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - Creation & Customization > Civ5 - Map Scripts

Notices

Civ5 - Map Scripts Forum for Civ5 map scripts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Oct 02, 2010, 02:16 PM   #1
LDiCesare
Deity
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: France
Posts: 2,139
Tectonics

Hi
This is a very crude first version of my tectonics script from Civ IV. I rewrote everything from scratch, so it's still very crude as all functionalities are not in.

The idea of the script is to get mountain ranges, and maps which are more Earth-like and random in terms of number of continents.

Screenshots:

And one in-game which shows why mountain ranges rock (chokepoints, who said chokepoints):


Spoilered in game screenshot:
Spoiler:


Version 1.0 only has the land/hill/mountain coded. Resources, rivers and climates are as per standard map.
Version 2.0 has been uploaded as a mod in the mod browser. Made it a non advanced map too. Actually it's been v3 and 4 before the mod browser versions worked correctly.
Version 5.0 has been uploaded as a mod in the mod browser and is attached here too as a zip. Continents less likely to span from north to south pole, less small lakes, more continents and islands.
Version 6.0 has been uploaded as a mod in the mod browser and is attached here too as a zip. Prevents players from starting isolated on their continent except for the 90% water setting.
Todo include :
-Bug fixing. There are some very very rare cases where terrain lacks mountain or is all flat. I couldn't reproduce that, but if I understand how to capture the random seed that should become easy.
-exporting some map parameters. I will allow a % of sea/land/hill(mountain being the rest) this time. It will be more accurate than in Civ IV version (should be easy)
-providing a better climate model (should be long)

I think the rivers look nice enough the way they are without needing the code to be rewritten. Congrats Sirian.
-adding more options like Terra, Pangaea and tuning of plate numbers
Attached Files
File Type: zip Tectonics.zip (2.7 KB, 277 views)
File Type: zip Tectonicsv5.zip (3.3 KB, 128 views)
File Type: zip Tectonicsv6.zip (5.0 KB, 1689 views)

Last edited by LDiCesare; Oct 17, 2010 at 08:44 AM.
LDiCesare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 02, 2010, 03:24 PM   #2
Xa4
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29
I'm VERY interested in this, as the sample generated maps look really cool, but I sure have NO IDEA how to install this thing.

Would you care to provide instructions for simpletons like me?

And congrats on making a mod in a very sparsely populated mod category!
Xa4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 02, 2010, 03:30 PM   #3
Trickster7135
Prince
 
Trickster7135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 954, Florida
Posts: 321
You might want to post some images with resources turned off, so looking for mountains and terrain will be easier.
__________________
The Civ5 Guide - almost everything you want to know about Civ5!

See all my work on games, mods, and guides at: Reat Channel
Trickster7135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 02, 2010, 05:12 PM   #4
LDiCesare
Deity
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: France
Posts: 2,139
Put the file in the Maps folder, either where Steam put the game (like C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\sid meier's civilization v\Assets\Maps) or in your My Games directory if you don't want other users of your computer to be able to use it (something like that: C:\Users\Laurent\Mes documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5\Maps)
You will have to use the advanced settings interface to see the choice among the possible maps because I haven't yet found how to make it a default map.
LDiCesare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2010, 01:33 AM   #5
PieceOfMind
Drill IV Defender
 
PieceOfMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,298
Tectonics was officially my favourite mapscript for civ4 bts.

I look forward to enjoying your mapscripts in civ5, LDiCesare.
__________________
Tip: Forcing Steam's Offline Mode
Civ4 Mods: Advanced Combat Odds, PIG Mod(discontinued), HEX Mod(discontinued)
Suggestion: Try karadoc's K-Mod: Far Beyond the Sword
Read if bored: Zoom-To-Cursor, Good advice from Kaell for DX11 users, Nvidia beats AMD in Civ V
PieceOfMind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2010, 06:47 PM   #6
rspeer
Spearman
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 101
I am told that installing maps into the Steam folder itself is dangerous, because the game doesn't expect you to mess with it and it might break future updates. Using My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5\Maps (or a mod) is the way to go.

It's pretty easy to make a map script into a mod, by the way, and then you can put it in the mod browser and get a lot more downloads. Basically, you just make a new mod in ModBuddy, put your Lua file in it, and add the file to the "Content" list as type "MapScript". Or feel free to look at what I did and just copy it.
__________________
Terra Incognita - explore the unknown with the first custom map script for Civ5!
rspeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2010, 08:01 PM   #7
omglazers
Warlord
 
omglazers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 126
Thank god. The current map scripts are disappointing. I'll be giving this one a go now!
__________________
I found Rome a city of brick, and I left it a city of marble.
omglazers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2010, 03:31 AM   #8
LDiCesare
Deity
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: France
Posts: 2,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by rspeer View Post
It's pretty easy to make a map script into a mod, by the way, and then you can put it in the mod browser and get a lot more downloads. Basically, you just make a new mod in ModBuddy, put your Lua file in it, and add the file to the "Content" list as type "MapScript". Or feel free to look at what I did and just copy it.
I'm just unable to understand what to do to make it generate the mod file. "Build" just doesn't do anything. So I haven't seen anything generated. Will look at that next week-end if I have the time.
I don't know if the modbuddy opens mod files or its own solutions/projects stuff.
LDiCesare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2010, 04:07 AM   #9
JDexter
Prince
 
JDexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 557
Great to see you working on CiV map scripts, I enjoyed your Civ4 stuff!
Choke points are even more fun now with 1UPT and real ranged combat.
__________________
Waiting for a CiV fantasy mod since announcement day.
For an expansion see Spatzimausi's mod
JDexter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2010, 10:28 AM   #10
Nercury
Warlord
 
Nercury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDiCesare View Post
I'm just unable to understand what to do to make it generate the mod file. "Build" just doesn't do anything. So I haven't seen anything generated. Will look at that next week-end if I have the time.
I don't know if the modbuddy opens mod files or its own solutions/projects stuff.
You have to add your lua script in project properties -> Content, with type "MapScript". It is in the modders guide, page 18.

Great things:
- can use other .lua files in the same mod, this helps to split up the code a bit
- much more control over everything, map script parameters such as "water level" or "climate" are optional now.
- all default code is visible, so we can see how everything works!

Bad things:
- Default feature and resource balancer has terrain types, features and resources hard-coded. So if someone makes a mod, he has to change balancer code (AssignStartingPlots.lua).

Observations so far:
- PlotTypes (PLOT_LAND, etc) are just for convenience, they get converted to TerrainTypes in GenerateCoasts() function.
__________________
Civ4: Planet Generator map script
Civ5: Olympic World, Circle of War map scripts
Nercury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2010, 12:17 PM   #11
LDiCesare
Deity
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: France
Posts: 2,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nercury View Post
You have to add your lua script in project properties -> Content, with type "MapScript". It is in the modders guide, page 18.
This I found out. But I am still unable to generate the resulting file for uploading.
I also have a huge issue with the whole project/./solution thing.
If I want to expand on someone else's mod, do I have to download the sources and project separately?
LDiCesare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2010, 12:32 PM   #12
Pazyryk
Deity
 
Pazyryk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3,584


Just wanted to share my excitement. This and the PerfectWorld map scripts really added a lot to my civ4 experience.
Pazyryk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2010, 02:08 PM   #13
Nercury
Warlord
 
Nercury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDiCesare View Post
This I found out. But I am still unable to generate the resulting file for uploading.
I also have a huge issue with the whole project/./solution thing.
If I want to expand on someone else's mod, do I have to download the sources and project separately?
There is "Firaxis ModBuddy" under MyDocuments, and I guess built mods are under "packages". Mod itself is just 7zip archive with civ5mod extension.
__________________
Civ4: Planet Generator map script
Civ5: Olympic World, Circle of War map scripts
Nercury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2010, 05:04 PM   #14
Horem
Emperor
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,246
Installed this map script, but, it does not show up as an available option (normal or advanced)
Horem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2010, 05:56 PM   #15
LDiCesare
Deity
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: France
Posts: 2,139
***.
I put the version with require "math" in the first line.
Edit that and put include( "math" ) instead.

I uploaded a new version.

Last edited by LDiCesare; Oct 04, 2010 at 06:03 PM.
LDiCesare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2010, 06:03 PM   #16
rspeer
Spearman
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 101
When you install a mod, it gets unpacked into a folder under your My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5\MODS\ folder. The result is something you can open in ModBuddy.

Ignore "solutions". They're Microsoft-speak for "a group of projects", and as far as I can tell this grouping has no meaning to Civ5 modding. So the "solution" should have one project in it, which is your mod.
__________________
Terra Incognita - explore the unknown with the first custom map script for Civ5!
rspeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 04, 2010, 06:13 PM   #17
Niniux
Chieftain
 
Niniux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 63
Is it just me, or do the Oases (that is the plural, right?) seem a bit out of control?
__________________
Thalassicus' Combined Balance Mods - Breathe some life back into your game.
Niniux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2010, 01:28 AM   #18
LDiCesare
Deity
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: France
Posts: 2,139
I haven't changed the climate part yet, so I can't say what it's doing yet. I haven't seen many oases. However, there might be some funny looking flood plains. I've seen one case where a river wouldn't show on the 3D map but did show on the strategy map.
I suspect it may be due to the river having been added late in the map generation to accomodate/beautify a player's starting location.
LDiCesare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2010, 07:18 AM   #19
Baleur
Prince
 
Baleur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Qingdao, China
Posts: 422
Gender: Male
Ok i LOVED this mapscript in civ4, but for the love of god, post your screenshots as direct links.
It's so annoying to have to click the thumbnail, wait for the page to load, click the zoom button and the image 50 times before it decides to zoom in, THEN get to see the full picture.
Baleur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2010, 07:44 PM   #20
mtabacco
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 30
I downloaded your script on steam,every time I try it I die on the first turn any ideas?
mtabacco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - Creation & Customization > Civ5 - Map Scripts > Tectonics

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR