Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION REVOLUTION SERIES > CivRev - General Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Aug 16, 2010, 10:34 AM   #441
elthrasher
Revcaster
 
elthrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 712
Quote:
Originally Posted by lifelessgamer View Post
I have a question, how can I be sure what type of Great Person I am going to get? If I want to get a Great General(not the kind you get from battles) how can I be sure I'll get him and not a Great Scientist? I know that you need a certain amount of culture points to get a great person and that what you receive is somehow based on a tech.
You can't. It's random. Some players believe they can influence what GP they get by researching an associated tech just before getting the GP. The list is here: http://www.civfanatics.com/civrev/great_people. But I've never seen a 100% reliable method of producing the GP of choice. The most reliable ones I've seen are play as France and research only Masonry before your first GP. It is often a builder. Play as England and research Iron Working just before your first GP. It is often a leader. Pick any civ that doesn't start with a tech and research only Bronze working in the early game. Your GP will almost always be an explorer.

But none of that is 100% reliable. It's possible to get a GP despite having no associated tech.
elthrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2010, 11:39 AM   #442
Terrapin
Prince
 
Terrapin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 505
Just from casual observation, if you build a barracks in your capital before getting your first GP, then you often get a leader. I cannot prove that. I can say that even if there is an affect, it is increased likelihood, not 100%.
Terrapin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2010, 03:36 PM   #443
Kid2255
Chieftain
 
Kid2255's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: My basement.
Posts: 19
This is pushing it, but does anyone here ever discuss the DS version of Rev? I'd like tips and tricks for that, too.
Kid2255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2010, 03:43 PM   #444
elthrasher
Revcaster
 
elthrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kid2255 View Post
This is pushing it, but does anyone here ever discuss the DS version of Rev? I'd like tips and tricks for that, too.
For the most part, the game is the same (though it looks a little different). I know you can't sell units on the DS, which some people get annoyed by, and I don't think the DS ever got patched, so stuff like mega-city strategy still works (join a bunch of settlers to make a huge city). Most of the tips and tricks will work pretty much the same regardless of platform.
elthrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2010, 03:50 PM   #445
Kid2255
Chieftain
 
Kid2255's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: My basement.
Posts: 19
Alright, thanks. Also, is there anyone who still plays the Wi-Fi version (not expecting you to know because by the sounds of it you don't have the DS one)?
Kid2255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2010, 11:00 AM   #446
elthrasher
Revcaster
 
elthrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kid2255 View Post
Alright, thanks. Also, is there anyone who still plays the Wi-Fi version (not expecting you to know because by the sounds of it you don't have the DS one)?
I don't have a DS, no. There were some folks over at 2K Forums looking for games a couple of weeks back though:

http://forums.2kgames.com/forums/showthread.php?t=78112
http://forums.2kgames.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77882
elthrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2010, 11:01 AM   #447
ditb
Keeper of the Work Wives
 
ditb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Mishawaka, IN
Posts: 105
Quick DS question for you: Is there any way to see what unit is defending a city?

Thanks in advance!
ditb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2010, 09:30 PM   #448
da_Vinci
Gypsy Prince
 
da_Vinci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 4,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by ditb View Post
Quick DS question for you: Is there any way to see what unit is defending a city?

Thanks in advance!
Hmm, have not played this in a while, but I think spies will do this, and maybe one of the promotions will do it as well? Civ Rev info center should have the definite answers, I would think.

dV
da_Vinci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2010, 04:10 AM   #449
Heretiv
Warlord
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 274
I dont think you can see what defender is in the city until you attack.
Oracle will tell you if it isnt going to go well/.
Heretiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2010, 08:50 AM   #450
da_Vinci
Gypsy Prince
 
da_Vinci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 4,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by da_Vinci View Post
Hmm, have not played this in a while, but I think spies will do this, and maybe one of the promotions will do it as well? Civ Rev info center should have the definite answers, I would think.

dV
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heretiv View Post
I dont think you can see what defender is in the city until you attack.
Oracle will tell you if it isnt going to go well/.
Scout promotion does this ... "Scout Unit can see its opponent in a city battle, and has increased sight range" from Units, Military, and Combat section of http://www.civfanatics.com/civrev/info

I now recall what I have done ... stack a scout promoted unit in the group, propose an attack with the scout to see the enemy, but don't attack with the scout. Use other units (with infiltration, for example) to actually make the attack.

You would think that the spy would be good for that too ... but I don't see a reference to it.

dV
da_Vinci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2010, 02:40 PM   #451
ditb
Keeper of the Work Wives
 
ditb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Mishawaka, IN
Posts: 105
Thanks for the replies, all! I have had success using Scout, so I'll keep that up.

One more and then I'll leave you to your own devices: Is there a spreadsheet or list that shows all of the attack/defense/movement values for the various units? I used to live and die by that in Civ4 and I need my fix. Thanks again, of course!

Dave
ditb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2010, 08:31 PM   #452
elthrasher
Revcaster
 
elthrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 712
Quote:
Originally Posted by ditb View Post

One more and then I'll leave you to your own devices: Is there a spreadsheet or list that shows all of the attack/defense/movement values for the various units? I used to live and die by that in Civ4 and I need my fix. Thanks again, of course!
On this very site, navigate along the top to CivRev and pick Units off the list.

Or: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=324117
elthrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2010, 02:01 PM   #453
ditb
Keeper of the Work Wives
 
ditb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Mishawaka, IN
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by elthrasher View Post
On this very site, navigate along the top to CivRev and pick Units off the list.

Or: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=324117
Perfect! Thanks very much.

Dave
ditb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2010, 03:43 PM   #454
King Commando
Chieftain
 
King Commando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: charleston
Posts: 98
in the past weeks news of CivRev2 have been rising. as Great General of the CivRev2 Revolutionary Army its my duty to ask can we expect a CivRev2
King Commando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2010, 03:45 PM   #455
King Commando
Chieftain
 
King Commando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: charleston
Posts: 98
Proud Console users go to this adress for the CivRev2 Revolutionary Army main page http://forums.2kgames.com/forums/showthread.php?t=29587
King Commando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2011, 12:03 PM   #456
decadog
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
I was attacked in 3100 BC by an american horseman army. My question is; is this possible without modding? I've run multiple scenarios over in my mind and can't come up with a realistic one. Army was 4 squares from Washington when it attacked me.
decadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2011, 08:48 PM   #457
newsgothic
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
I'm on PS3. How does one see the leader boards for the GOTW? I also notice that I can't save the game in GOTW. Is that normal?
newsgothic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2011, 09:48 PM   #458
Snerk
Smeghead
 
Snerk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Norway. You'll never leave!!
Posts: 2,003
Quote:
Originally Posted by decadog View Post
I was attacked in 3100 BC by an american horseman army. My question is; is this possible without modding? I've run multiple scenarios over in my mind and can't come up with a realistic one. Army was 4 squares from Washington when it attacked me.
He could've had some luck and received one or two horsemen from nearby goodyhuts. Also the AI can sometimes spawn units in fog of war, perhaps that had something to do with it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by newsgothic View Post
I'm on PS3. How does one see the leader boards for the GOTW? I also notice that I can't save the game in GOTW. Is that normal?
Not sure about the leader boards but you can't save the game in GOTW.
__________________
And in the signature these words appear: My name is Snerk, troll of trolls. Look on my posts, ye moderators, and despair.
Snerk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2011, 06:24 AM   #459
elthrasher
Revcaster
 
elthrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 712
Quote:
Originally Posted by decadog View Post
I was attacked in 3100 BC by an american horseman army. My question is; is this possible without modding? I've run multiple scenarios over in my mind and can't come up with a realistic one. Army was 4 squares from Washington when it attacked me.
I assume you're talking about a multiplayer game? If the AI is getting a horse army that fast, then...well...I don't know. I'd be amazed.

Experienced players can do it and America is one of the civs that they use. It doesn't take a whole lot of skill. There are just a few tricks. One of them is that you settled Washington and put your workers on trees (pick Stonehenge or something for production because you don't want a warrior). Now walk your great person around. If you see a friendly village, set your research to horseback riding and walk your great person in. Often the friendly village will give you horseback, saving you 5 turns to research it. Now set your production to a horseman. Even if you don't get any gold, you can have your first horseman out by 3500 BC. Pick up gold and it's faster and of course this is a snowball effect where the more gold you grab, the more horsemen you can get. I don't play America much because they are boring and overpowered, but I have had a vet horseman army by 3600 BC before.

The other strong America openings are if you get a great explorer, you can use him immediately to send out a warrior in 4000 BC and obviously this puts you way ahead of the game, especially since you can send another warrior in the other direction in 3900 BC. If you start with a great builder, there's a trick where you set production to a galley, use the great builder. Now it will say you can rush the galley for 0 gold. Instead of doing that (unless you want a galley), switch production to warriors and now use the rush for 0 gold. Voila! Three warriors in 4000 BC.

The point is, what you've experienced is very possible without cheating. Aztecs can do it as well. Any civ can really with a good amount of luck, but America is the best at the super fast horse army. Also, there are no mods for CivRev.

Quote:
Originally Posted by newsgothic View Post
I'm on PS3. How does one see the leader boards for the GOTW? I also notice that I can't save the game in GOTW. Is that normal?
Like snerk said, you can't save. I'm on xbox but the way to view the GotW leaderboards for me is off the options menu, leaderboards, Game of the Week. I assume it's something similar for you.
elthrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2011, 07:42 AM   #460
Hidole555
Chieftain
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Question CivRev music?

Hi. This is my first post here. I was wondering if it is possible to get my hands on the game's soundtrack. The main menu music may be my favorite video game music of all time, yet I can not find it at all on the internet. Does it have its own name or something? I really want that song so I can just play it while I'm exercising or doing paperwork. That song alone could motivate me to do the stuff for hours.

Please help.
Hidole555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION REVOLUTION SERIES > CivRev - General Discussions > Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions Civrules Civ4 - General Discussions 21670 Aug 27, 2014 04:34 PM
Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions Turner Civ3 - General Discussions 9128 Apr 23, 2009 07:39 AM
Quick Answers / Newbie Questions LucyDuke Site Feedback 5 Feb 27, 2007 08:59 AM
Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions toller pretzl Civ4 - General Discussions 2 Aug 26, 2006 08:55 AM
Quick Answers (formerly Newbie Questions) Padma Civ3 - General Discussions 1500 Nov 04, 2003 09:03 PM


Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR