Civ III Diplomacy Editor

pesoloco

Civ-aholic
Many of you know me as a unit creator. Few people know that I am also a programmer.

I wrote this utility for fun. It helps mod creators to edit the diplomacy.txt file.

One problem with using notepad or wordpad to edit this file directly is that if you start sorting by civ, mood, and power, with diff. random choices you can get a very long list of text messages. This list can become very difficult to navigate without continually counting the messages.

This utility organizes the messages and creates a graphical breakdown of each diplomatic message.

This is how it works:
when you first start the program you are asked for the civ path. enter the path where civ is located and click ok

After that, the main window pops up.
You select a message, such as AIFIRSTCONTACT from the list on the left. Then you change the properties on the right.
For example, you can choose to sort by civ, sort by mood, and have 2 random choices for each. The list below that changes. The different graphics represent civs, power levels, moods, etc.
Click on a line and type a new message.

When you click on exit, you are asked if you want to save. click yes to save. When you save, the program automatically creates a backup of the current diplomacy.txt file called backup-diplomacy.txt

See screenshots of the utility program.

DEC 18: NEW VERSION 3.66 NOW AVAILABLE

INSTALL INSTRUCTIONS:
1. download the zip file (dipedit366setup.zip)here
2. create a folder called C:\TEMP\DIPEDIT
3. unzip the file to that folder
4. run setup.exe
5. follow the instructions
6. after the setup program is complete, delete C:\TEMP\DIPEDIT

FEATURES
Graphic Interface for editting diplomacy messages
Add new messages for new civs
Import messages from other diplomacy files
Edit user diplomacy messages
Edit diplomacy labels (such as "peace treaty" or "mutual protection pact")

Also, this utility is compatible with all versions of Civ III.

Please rate this thread