Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION III > Civ3 - Creation & Customization > Civ3 - User-created Maps

Notices

Civ3 - User-created Maps Share the maps you made.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Dec 20, 2003, 10:47 PM   #1
Carolus
Chieftain
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 11
Europe to India Map (340x200)

Europe to India Map, v. 1.0 - done on Conquests

This map, which takes a typical map arrangement for Roman Europe and extends it out to the western coast of India in the east and Ethiopia in the south, has been designed with ancient scenarios in mind, though it's usable for other periods as well (it would work equally well for Alexander the Great or for the early expansion of Islam). The map has been rotated a bit counterclockwise to allow inclusion of all of the Arabian peninsula without needing to depict the entire Sahara desert. The far northern reaches of Scandinavia and Russia have been omitted both in light of their irrelevance in ancient times and in the very large amount of mostly uninhabitable territory they would have provided. Otherwise, the map more or less encompasses the lands known to the ancient Greeks.

Artemisarrow has recently released a map very similar to this on the main customization forum, but it covers a slightly different area and is significantly smaller- we seem to have been working off the same basic idea, though.

http://www.civfanatics.net/uploads6/Eurindia.map1.zip

Last edited by Carolus; Jan 30, 2004 at 03:39 PM.
Carolus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2003, 11:04 PM   #2
Carolus
Chieftain
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 11
screenshot

and here is an image of it
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	europe-asiamap.jpg
Views:	8005
Size:	31.3 KB
ID:	45648  
Carolus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2003, 04:54 AM   #3
McBeer
Chieftain
 
McBeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein
Posts: 23
interesting map

looks a bit strange in the part of the uk, but looks fine

i'll play it soon
McBeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2003, 03:40 PM   #4
kittenOFchaos
Deity
 
kittenOFchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Gidea Park, Essex, England
Posts: 6,703
There appears to be a problem with the download, which is a real shame as the mini-map makes me think that this could be an excellent map.
__________________
I play under the name DeviousDevil, but I've retired from Civ.

I was a member of GOD, twice CCC champions and formerly the best Civ4 Clan in the World and also played with KC, MUD and *A*.
I am a former KAC Tournament Champion


The honeymoon period for Civ V is over I'm back to playing Alpha Centauri
kittenOFchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2003, 06:04 PM   #5
Carolus
Chieftain
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 11
another

Yeah, there seems to be a glitch with the whole uploading feature...in any case, here is another image of part of the map to give a better sense of overall scale
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	italy2.jpg
Views:	6018
Size:	74.4 KB
ID:	45688  
Carolus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2003, 06:48 AM   #6
mitsho
Deity
 
mitsho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Europe, more or less
Posts: 6,275
the minimap seems really nice. But aren't there way to few forests in italy? I thought Italy was in ancient times (when the game starts) covered with forests?

When will it be able to be downloaded?

mfG mitsho
mitsho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2003, 10:48 PM   #7
Carolus
Chieftain
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 11
it should be possible to download it now...please let me know if there are any problems...

regarding the issue of how many forests to place, it's difficult, if not impossible, to know just how much greater the extent of forests in italy was 2000 years ago as opposed to today- italy has been one of the most densely settled and cultivated areas of the world for a long time, so i would suspect there has not been a tremendous change. additionally, much of the country is of the so-called "mediterranean" terrain type, which is dry and not ideal for major temperate forests (an exception is the marches and abruzzo on the eastern side, which remains the most heavily forested area of the country).

trying to represent ancient terrain features is a challenging task, and in my map i tried to keep the changes as basic as possible: i.e. many more forests in northern europe and somewhat more elsewhere, elephants in north africa, and a slightly more hospitable arabian peninsula. otherwise things are depicted more or less as they are today.
Carolus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2003, 02:12 AM   #8
LouLong
In love with Rei Ayanami
 
LouLong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Fontainebleau FRANCE
Posts: 7,385
Nice work !

I will definitely use it. And it is nice it includes a seaway around Arabia. Of course since I am a perfectionnist a** I will modify a few things but overall you have made a great job.

Hope to see some more from you.
LouLong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2003, 03:57 AM   #9
mitsho
Deity
 
mitsho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Europe, more or less
Posts: 6,275
oh yeah sorry, I looked wrong. I thought You didn't loaded it up already, my mistake. YOu can argue about the 'forest-thing' a lot I think.

mfG mitsho
mitsho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2003, 01:50 AM   #10
Eastern Knight
Dragons!
 
Eastern Knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,043
Awesome!
Eastern Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2003, 10:43 AM   #11
lukaspl
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 44
Can anyone do it for Civilization 3? I don't mean Conquest or others, just Civilization3.
I would be very gratefull
lukaspl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2003, 07:14 AM   #12
Ekmek
on steam: ekmek_e
 
Ekmek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 5,879
Great map any chance you can make it as a cross cut of asia so it stretches from Spain to China? ust thought it would be cool as a what if scenario with Alexander having to fight the Chinese in the warring states period.
Ekmek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2004, 10:15 PM   #13
Carolus
Chieftain
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 11
i think the map is already so large that the editor wouldn't permit it to be extended much further to the east...a map that showed china as well would have to be smaller in scale than this one
Carolus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 09, 2004, 04:21 PM   #14
Mark Young
Emperor
 
Mark Young's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Making friends with Llama's
Posts: 1,797
I like the map
Is there any way that I can get all the C3C civs onto this map as there is a very limited amount of playable civs on it?
__________________
Mark Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 09, 2004, 04:50 PM   #15
Mark Young
Emperor
 
Mark Young's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Making friends with Llama's
Posts: 1,797
Ok I just worked out how to do it.

OPen up this map in the C3C editor.
File/import data.
Select Rules when the "Import BIC data" dialogue box comes up.
Select Conquests from the Conquests folder.
And Bobs your uncle, all the civs are there waiting to be placed.
__________________
Mark Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2004, 01:38 AM   #16
AK47
Retired Wonder Architect
 
AK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Tervuren, Belgium
Posts: 517
Cool ! I have an idea to make a new Conquest and this map is actually better for it than what I had in mind!

AK.
AK47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2004, 05:33 PM   #17
immortals84
The Mark
 
immortals84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Raider Nation
Posts: 389
I love this map alot. In my first game using this map i am having alot of fun. Here is something that i posted in a different thread of the topic:

I was playing a Diety level game, using Carolus's europe to india map. Me Roman, A.I. enemy at the time Greece. I was invading there territory with a countless number of Cataphractaris(Knights)
and Legionare. They had in defense about 40 phalanx units, i thought i was crazy for going in there but, for some reason they instead of guarding there cities, walked around pillaging everything and left there cities with about 4 phalanx each. So instead of keep there cities and have to rebuild there supply routes they practically gave me there cities and cut my supply routes and never came back to invade me. So i conqueres all of modern day Albania, west Bulgaria, and all of modern day Greece except for the southmost body of land where Sparta was held, and like the Greeks had about 30 phalanx walking around. They were the 3rd strongest civ at the time and had been at war with the Byzantines because i forced them into it by signing an alliance with byzantine thus sripalling both empires and keeping the Greeks busy. They had taken alot of Byzantine territory, but it seemed that they were more concerned with that land than there own.

Once again bueatiful map!
immortals84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2004, 01:39 AM   #18
Pangur Bán
Γυναιμανης
 
Pangur Bán's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Albania
Posts: 8,376
Interesting map. Certainly has some possibilities.

One problem. Spain and Morocco are connecting. Don't know of that was intentional or not.
Pangur Bán is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2004, 03:47 PM   #19
Carolus
Chieftain
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by calgacus
Interesting map. Certainly has some possibilities.

One problem. Spain and Morocco are connecting. Don't know of that was intentional or not.

Thanks for spotting that, Calgacus- I've just posted a corrected version that no longer has a land bridge there.
Carolus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2004, 11:14 PM   #20
immortals84
The Mark
 
immortals84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Raider Nation
Posts: 389
You think for an ancient game it would be somewhat realistic to make rivers such as the Nile, tigris and euphraties coast squares?
I have been using this map for the ancient mediterrainian mod and have found that huge rivers spice up the game a little. When I was at war with the Dacians, I sent my Egyptian Galleys through the Danube River and unloaded hell unto there civilization, instead of unloading onto Mac Greek territory and walking all the way over there.
immortals84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION III > Civ3 - Creation & Customization > Civ3 - User-created Maps > Europe to India Map (340x200)

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright © Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR