The reduction in turn time for some added MHZ

cFccFc

Warlord
So as I am considering purchasing a new MacBook Retina 13 inches, the option stands between the 2.6-GHz i5 or the 3.0 ghz i7. Both dual core. I am a fan of Football Manager and Civilization, and I am not to fuzzy about graphics. So the question is, late game, as the upgrade is a bit expensive, how much reduced waiting time realistically are we looking into?

5 per cent?
15 per cent?
20 per cent?

Hope anyone can help!

I honestly can't give you any specific numbers on exactly how it would affect your game, but I highly doubt it would change much.
Having changed computers recently myself from a old-model (AM1) dual-core AMD 2.7gHz with 2MB RAM, to a quad-core Intel i3 550 @ 3.2gHz and 4MB RAM and noticed almost zero difference in late-game turns.

Not saying that it's not possible to ramp up the turn time, but doing so just by getting a more powerful rig I would assume is an ineffective way to do so.
You'd be better off saving your pennies and looking for other ways to optimize specifically the game or games you're wanting to make faster.

I have the same question: if a new computer won't make that big of a difference, what are the other ways you mentioned that could help reduce Civ5 turn time?
Thanks!

To answer the OP's question, we first must assume that the only difference between the i5 and i7 is the clock (i.e. GHz). In reality, the i7 has extra processing features that the i5 doesn't, but this shouldn't be too relevant to Civ, and this assumption give way to the following simplification:

The mentioned dual-core i5 effectively yields 5.2 GHz, and the i7 6.0 GHz. Therefore, the i7 is 15 percent faster than the i5 (5.2 + (5.2 * .15) = 6.0).

If in the lategame you're waiting 30 seconds between turns on the i5, you'd instead wait about 26.5 seconds on the i7. Is that worth it? ...