Swapping Great Works

Dux1

Warlord
Are there any restrictions on this? Can the AI determine that it does not want to make the trade, for example? If not, how is this meant to function in multiplayer? I just started playing BNW last night, but I haven't had a chance to test this yet, and I was curious.

You can basically "slot" a Great Work to trade that you no longer want. This will sit as "trade-able" until another player decides to claim it, sending you something he doesn't need.

Likewise, if you see another player's Great Work that you want, you can simply swap one of yours for it, no approvals needed.

Can you trade Great Works for other things (like gold or embassies?)

You can basically "slot" a Great Work to trade that you no longer want. This will sit as "trade-able" until another player decides to claim it, sending you something he doesn't need.

Likewise, if you see another player's Great Work that you want, you can simply swap one of yours for it, no approvals needed.

So, there is no way to swap a great work with someone specifically, without giving someone else a chance to grab it (for example, because you don't want a particular player to get a certain great work)?

I must admit, I'm extremely disappointed with that... and I don't really understand the reasoning. When you sell a luxury resource, you don't just put it up for grabs for whoever wants it. Why is it different for great works? Not to mention, if you have no control over what you get for a Great Work, you may end up getting something you need even less than the original one...

Also, I'm curious about what Aussie Lurker asked. And if the answer is "no", I am curious as to the reasoning.