Best map type?

bonafide11

Worker
What's everyone's favorite map type? I just started playing Civ V again a couple weeks ago after a long hiatus from it, and I'm enjoying it a lot more now this time around than I did when it first came out thanks to patches that fixed bugs and balanced the game. But I still can't find a map that I really enjoy.

I'd technically prefer a continents or terra type map, but my problem with those is the AI is incompetent when it comes to travelling across the ocean and across the ocean type wars. They are okay with warring if it's just over the sea, but when the ocean is involved they don't even bother. Pangaea is fun, but it essentially eliminates the need for any navy at all, which bores me too. Archipelago and the such requires too much navy that it becomes tedious and boring. I'd like something where I need to build a navy, and the AI is competent at using the navy, but there is also larger land masses as well.

Is there any way to get a map that provides land masses but still requires a navy, and the AI is still competent at using its navy because the ocean isn't too large?

Also, just tell me your favorite map types and your favorite set ups so I can try some different things.

Pangea. AI is too dumb to handle any other map.

I use plenty of naval unit on Pangea, especially for domination victories where I've started on one coast - it's generally faster to attack over the ocean than walk across the landmass.

I'm trying the various maps in the Explorers pack.

Every one I've tried so far is better than the standard maps.

I guess the Ring one would be my favorite so far; featuring easy to get contacts but also having nice choke points against the neighboring AIs.