Differences between Spanish, and American Spanish

I have been studying Spanish for three years now, and it isn't clear which dilect I'm learning. My teacher seem to be clueless on what "vareity" of spanish there teaching. What are the differences between spanish spoken in spain, and spanish spoken in the Americas? Is it accurate to say it has a similar relationship as English in America, and English in England.

According to Huntington, the great neo-fasc... neo-cons thinker, Spaniards belong to the western civilization and latin Americans don't.

That same Huntington compares the illegal immigrations on the Southern border to the Barbarian invasions that have lead to the Fall of Rome. I won't tell you what he recommends to get rid of it. :rolleyes:

I'd guess it's from Spain, Brazil, or Ecuador. If I remember correctly, they seem to have less harsh accents and slang use, and use more formal Spanish. I could never understand Spanish as spoken in Mexico or Puerto Rico, but it's been a while. But I'm sure someone here has a way that you can find out if they ask you a few regionally specific questions, and you may be learning a variant just spoken in a very specific region, depending on who's teaching. My teacher was from a small island, and even though she tried to teach "formal" Spanish, it was naturally always slanted towards her native accent and cadence.

The accents are quite different. In spain, lisps are common on c's and z's. so in New World Spanish you would express "movie theater" (Cine) as:

See-nay but in Spain it would be Thee-Nay. Same with Gozar.

NW- Go-sar. Spain Go-thar. Actually it's worth explaining how the difference came about but I won't do it now. Basically, they also speak slower and a few letters are pronounced differently. Although it is accurate to compare Spain's Spanish and Latin America's Spanish to British English and American English, the difference is slightly bigger as the slang can be quite different at times.

Hope I helped :D