Digital Download: Direct2Drive, Steam, etc.

jp5

Chieftain
I have never used a digital download service before, but my understanding is that the downloaded package uses an encrypted EXE file. If that is the case, what would be the impact to using future mods? Do mods typically impact the primary EXE file?

The Direct2Drive Civ5 offer looks compelling enough to give it a try. I would note that the $10 weekend coupon appears to work even though the price is just below $50 level.

Steam will just install it for you, and no having a downloaded game won't make it any less moddable, all the files on your computer are the same with or without downloading them.

Steam won't be installing any mods for you.

The mod component is separate from Steam. You can use the in-game mod browser, or you can download from a fansite and install it yourself (the installation type depends on the mod author, of course).

What's the exact difference with buying this off of STEAM (the Deluxe Edition) or D2D? Which ones are you guys getting and why?

there is no real difference since this is a steamworks title. you have to get on steam and DL it regardless of buying D2D version. therefore, if you want the best deal, get the D2D version with the $10 discount.

The D2D package also includes some future DLC. 2 civs and a map pack or something like that...

Sorry if this is posted elsewhere, but what is the $10 coupon code ?

It's time to take the "plunge" and pony up the money, so I'd like to take advantage of this code.

Also, if you buy from D2D, do you download from their site or from Steam ?

And with D2D, you can download the game again at any time in the future (e.g. I get a new computer in 2 years, I can download the game again from D2D and install on new computer ?)

thanks in advance

Sorry if this is posted elsewhere, but what is the $10 coupon code ?

It's time to take the "plunge" and pony up the money, so I'd like to take advantage of this code.