Steam - love or hate?

Status
Not open for further replies.

oogabla

Chieftain
So...being a die hard Civ fan (including Alpha Centauri, Civ: Revolutions, etc etc) -- does anyone hate this move to Steam? I've read all the pro's & con's. As a person working in Software Development I understand the need for copyright & IP protection but god I hate Steam. Yes, I hate it so much I finally created an account to open this thread. Hate or love Steam? Discuss.

FFS another thread.

We've already discussed this topic to death before release :(. I've used Steam for when I purchased the Orange Box, and I use it for playing Team Fortress 2 most days, which is part of the Orange Box. I've not had any problems with steam, in fact I quite like it, and I attribute people's dislikes to the usual complaints that arise against something new. It just takes getting used to I guess.

Heck, I'm a Uni student sitting behind a firewall that blocks steam, but I invested in a VPN to make it possible to play my games here too. I don't blame steam for the inconvenience, and I don't blame my Uni either actually. It's a great concept, and I've already found it really useful since getting myself a desktop that I can have my games on both my computers, synced from the Steam cloud. Downloading games is also great, not having to worry about CDs. Although I am on a fast connection here, which makes it a breeze.

I've had Steam installed for years and love it. Their sales are pretty good. I don't consider it bloatware and have never really understood the hate.

All Steam has done is show that many brilliant Civ players are incredibly uninformed and paranoid about gaming.

I've enjoyed Steam from the very start with minimal issues. Game specific bugs unrelated to Steam have always been a larger issue since before and after Steam.