Earlier Conquest/Domination Victories

spindaslayer

Chieftain
I've been playing this game for a couple months now (I know, late to the party), and have worked my way up to Monarch. I can win pretty consistently on Prince, and about half the time on Monarch. Regardless of the civ that I'm playing as, my starting position, neighbors, etc, I find that I usually win a conquest/domination victory in the late 1700s to mid 1800s after a massive rifle draft in the previous century. By the time I finish, I usually have infantry as well.

I've definitely seen the power of elephant and catapult rushes, sometimes taking over two or three civs when I time it right, but it never seems like that's enough to finish the job since the other civs have usually researched advanced military techs like feudalism and engineering by the time I finish up a couple wars. I usually just consolidate my gains after these early wars and beeline rifling (with liberalism -> nationalism) in order to start the final phase of conquest. This is a pretty reliable strategy, especially since the AI for whatever reason doesn't seem to prioritize rifling as a tech and doesn't abuse drafting as much as I do. However, it takes a while to get to rifling, and I figure that there must be a faster way to take everyone down quickly, especially when you have an empire that is vastly larger than everyone else's. I'm asking the veterans here for any advice on winning conquest/domination before the time of rifles (barring ridiculous things like Quecha rushing).

For reference, I usually play at Epic Speed on a Huge Terra Map. I appreciate any advice you guys have!

First, welcome!

Second, huge Terra map will delay your finishing date quite a bit because of size and the need to settle big overseas chunks of land.