A Total War Mod, any interest?

Gagonite

Irishman
Heya guys, I’m fairly new to this part of the forums.. so I’d thought I’d introduce myself with a mod I’m currently working on for BTS. It’s a mod based on the Medieval 2: Total War game.

I’m currently designing the mod for use on the Earth18Civ map and on Marathon/Epic at any difficulty. It spans from 4000 BC to roughly 2200 AD and emphasizes on three major things. First off is of course war. Second is diplomacy and the third is money. Troops and buildings are built at roughly on par with Normal speed setting, while research, growth, and the like are still at Marathon. This allows for large amounts of troops to be fielded and to make the most of each era’s troops. Since larger armies equals more upkeep, money will also play a much larger role than in the normal game. In addition to that, I’m making nearly everything , including improvements and most troops, cost a certain amount of gold to build. A typical Axeman may only cost 5 gold to make while an ICBM may cost 1000 gold. Trade and resource control is even more important as well due to all of the increased costs. There are also some buildings to help out increasing money gain.

I’m also working on adding many new units and buildings to help diversify and add spice to the game, such as Sappers, Merchants (think of them as mini-great merchants that can do trade runs), and other stuff. Also being added are new resources, although I’ve only gotten a few of the extra ones from the game like Cotton and Tobacco in it at the moment.

So what do you guys think? Do you think it may be an interesting idea or not so? Any questions, comments, or suggestions are welcome. If you guys want a current list of the new units, buildings and resources that are in the mod, just let me know.

Sounds cool. Once you have a working version I'll try it.

Same here. Sounds interesting.