Lategame Slowdown

MilesBeyond

Prince
Hey everyone, seems this forum is pretty dead these days, but no worries.

I just started playing FFH (I know, I know), and so far I'm loving it. Really well-done mod, and so far every new unit and civ I encounter has been an exciting experience.

The one thing really holding me back from enjoying it, though, is that late-game I run into annoyingly long times between turns. Now, part of this is the fact that my games are probably going way longer than intended because I want to play around a bit and try and understand the game more (aka completing the tech tree...), but looking around it seems to be a fairly common problem and I was wondering if anything's been done to address it?

As far as I can tell, the main issue seems to be that the AI likes to build a massive amount of units. The problem with this, as far as I can tell, is that those units tend to be pretty weak, meaning the computer ends up devoting a lot of processing time moving around a whole bunch of units that the AI doesn't really profit all that much from having.

Has anyone come up with a workaround for this? A modmod that makes the AI build and prune its army more intelligently? Or even one that just increases unit maintenance to a punishing level once a certain amount have been built? Because my computer is decently fast (8 GB of RAM, plus I'm running the game off an SSD, though I don't know if that would make a difference in this case) and it shouldn't be having these sorts of problems on standard map sizes.

I'd like to try Large or even Huge, because the game seems like it would be fantastic on a grander scale, but given how this is my experience on Standard, I'm a little apprehensive to do so...