Deity a step too far? (BNW)

Crudgington

Chieftain
I started playing Civ back in May, hadn't played at all before that. Worked my way through the levels and decided to try Immortal as Babs, and won a thoroughly unconvincing science victory, so tried again, and won ... errr.... a thoroughly unconvincing science victory. I mean I wasn't even a third of the size of some these guys.(Playing Pangea)
In between I went on to Deity and tried maybe 25 starts, and I never even got past turn 80 because the computer was always so dominant geographically and often militarily.
So I guess my question is how do I know when I have something worth pursuing as a start as I think I have become demoralised on Deity, and my victories on immortal prove you don't even need to be No 1 for literacy at the end, as long as you use GS and RA wisely.
Are there any key markers that I need to be hitting in order to win a science victory on deity? Once I have done it, it will be back to the start with a different civ and a different victory but for now I just want to beat the 'big one'.

I'm pretty sure the biggest advantage the AI gets on deity is their starting units. So even if you're a long way behind, if you set yourself a decent platform you can catch up. It definitely doesn't get any smarter.

Just stick it out. You will find you still win the same way as you do on Immortal.

Unlike chess software where the AI actually gets better at higher difficulty, Civ V stays just as dumb and gives the AI handicaps. On Deity, the AI is able to tech and build faster by a small margin over Immortal, the huge gap comes from the AI getting the extra city and free workers so it can start with higher population and improve stuff right away.

I find Deity un-fun most of the time because it rubs my face in poor programing...