Which Civilization is the best for land expansion?

macyc

Chieftain
Hi guys, I had a question about Civ 5,
What civilization is best for land expansion? I normally play as Rome, or the Ottomans, and they seem to expand much slower than other civilizations, I make up for it by making tons of cities, but I was wondering if some civilizations expand faster than others?
Thanks!
I'm sure everyone can tell I'm very new to the game, so if this is a dumb question I really apologize

Border expansion speed, which is what I assume you're asking about here, is based on city's cultural output. In every new city, you should focus on food and cultural buildings first. Some civilizations have bonuses for the expansion-few have unique buildings that add more culture, Russians have unique building that reduces cost of expansion by 25%, Americans have 50% discount, and Shoshone gain extra tiles when founding a new city.

By the way...this isn't CivIV, paving the continent with many cities isn't always the best path to victory. You can win easily with 3-4 cities...in fact that's probably easiest strategy.

In civ 5, civilizations are no long unique in building cities quickly like they used to in civilization 4. Social policies now benefit civilizations in different ways that you could choose a social policy that will get you to expand quick.

By the way...this isn't CivIV, paving the continent with many cities isn't always the best path to victory. You can win easily with 3-4 cities...in fact that's probably easiest strategy.

It was not necessarily the best path in Civ4 either... maintenance costs were tied to total population and number of cities - each new city was a burden on your empire until you developed it enough... although unlike Civ 5, there were fewer "hard caps" (i.e. Global Happiness) to spamming cities.